Categories > Books > Harry Potter > MY BUNNY HUTCH

YOU'RE ON YOUR OWN!

by Alorkin 19 Reviews

Harry has finally had enough. Rated for swearing.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Angst,Drama - Characters: Dumbledore,Harry,Professor McGonagall,Snape - Published: 2009/02/13 - Updated: 2009/02/13 - 4614 words

Reviews

  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) Visible_minority 2009-02-13 12:40:41 PM

    The rant started to get a little irrational towards the end there. Other than that, and the fact that his death should have been faked somehow, it was really good.

    Author's response

    Yeah, he got a Lottie overdone there, but Harry has decided he has had it with them all. I figure he's due to blow off some steam.

    I thought of the faking his death, But quite honestly, Harry isn't that cunning. He leads with his heart, which plays right into Dumblemort's hands.


    Glad you enjoyed the story. Alorkin

    Yeah, he got a Lottie overdone there, but Harry has decided he has had it with them all. I figure he's due to blow off some steam.

    I thought of the faking his death, But quite honestly, Harry isn't that cunning. He leads with his heart, which plays right into Dumblemort's hands.


    Glad you enjoyed the story. Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) Cateagle 2009-02-13 06:04:54 PM

    Damn, that was a strong and poignant bit. I'd wish his death at the end had been faked with the aid of another wand, or a staff, so that he could escape somewhere to live on his own, but I can see why he'd not be willing to endure living any longer when all of those he cared about were waiting for him on the other side. Of course, this does now set up a "What now, Dumbnuts? You've eliminated both young men who could've fufilled the prophecy so how do you stop Tom now?" That could be an interest sequel to play with.

    Author's response

    Thank you. I also wish the death could have, but he's got nothing left. Dumbledore intended all along to sacrifice Harry, and so, He simply did it a bit sooner than the old bastard expected.

    If I do write a second page to this, I'm going to use your title: 'What now, Dumbnuts?' It's too good to pass up!

    As for the prophesy, while Harry is the only one who can actually vanquish Voldemort, if the wizarding world can get together and deny him the resources he needs to wage his war, if they execute his Deez instead of simply allowing them to buy their freedom for a bagful of gold, then, maybe, he can be kept in check. If only one in a hundred thousand, is a magic user, then there are more than seventy thousand witches and wizards in Britain. Voldy has what? 300+/-? Some odds there! even if those under 16 are discounted, that means he's still outnumbered by about 140:1. Grins

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) DarQuing 2009-02-14 12:08:01 PM

    That was awesome! Way to grow a pair, Mr. Potter. :D

    Author's response

    'Bout time, isn't it? I wondered what would happen if Harry behaves as a normal teenager rather than how JKR did it.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) MonCappy 2009-02-14 07:35:15 PM

    I don't like this at all. Dumbledore should have been the one to die; not Harry.

    Author's response

    OK, I can see that. I did this more as an exercise on how Harry would deal if Dumbledore went too far.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) Cateagle 2009-02-16 07:48:05 PM

    With Harry gone, the purebloods running the Ministry are going to face a dilemma. Do they support their peers who are Deez and keep their bribes coming in or do they take a stand, execute the captured and convicted Deez, and train up the "common people" to fight? The first risks a sociopath coming to rule while the second risks converting the "sheeple" to aware and involved citizens which could be as detrimental to purebllod rule in the long run as Riddle's more immediate win would be. An arguement could be made that, either way, the current pureblood elite are hosed.

    Author's response

    Hey again, Cat! Excellent questions, all!

    IMHO, People are basically lazy. The problem as I see it, is that the wizarding Britain is hopelessly corrupt. Most would prefer to take their gold and look the other way instead of doing something about the problems. The purebloods will simply play along with Voldemort, thinking they are exempt from his pogrom, since most agree at least partially with his rhetoric. They won't risk themselves for anything, for a few more years, preferring to keep their perks. By the time they come 'round, it'll be too late.
    Those who don't agree with Voldemort will be 'eliminated'. After all, Dumbledore showed no compunctions at all at destroying three of the oldest pureblood families, for his idea of 'the greater good', why should Voldemort be any different.

    Instead of forming a real army, coordinating with the law enforcement agencies, and instigating real penalties for those marked, or asking the world at large for help, Dumbledore's solution was to select a sacrificial lamb, and hope that that Lambchops would play along. I believe this is why he refused to train Harry for his impending date with the scaly dude. He had sixty years to deal with Riddle and instead of taking decisive and permanent action, he diddled it away, pretending to be the epitome of the light.

    What they need now, is enough people to band together and say: "enough is too much!" Remember, guerrilla warfare is the most effective method of reducing an army to ruin. Maybe there would be a Robin Hood, or a Zorro for them, but I doubt it.

    In either case, I agree. Whether Voldy takes control of the wizarding world or not, the current crop of purebloods are doomed. If for no other reason than the constant inbreeding. Most, if not all, of those families are within three generations of incurable genetic defects.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) twilliams1797 2009-02-16 09:29:22 PM

    Dave, that's one horrible story, and better written than the 7 books it was taken from.. Well done.
    At least Harry is now with his parents and friends.
    What now Dumbfuck? do you and Tom go on the road as a vaudeville act?

    Author's response

    Thanks, Tim. I've always wondered what would happen if harry just said 'fuckit!' and left the sheeple to their own devices.

    And, as you said, Harry is with those who love him.

    I wonder. There are around 300 Deez all told, and based on a 1:100,000 ratio, about 70,000 witches and wizards in Britain. Take away the ones under sixteen and you still have about 40,000 left. that's better than 130:1 odds. They should have been able to spank Voldy's ass long before this.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) Cateagle 2009-02-20 10:54:28 PM

    Personally, I agree that wizarding Britain is so corrupt as to be totally hosed. Unless someone develops a backbone, and Dumbles does seem to have eliminated most, if not all, of the possilbe candidates, they're going down without a leader to challenge them to reclaim their country. I hate to say it, but their best chance might be Tommy-boy over-reching and annoying the non-magical government; they have the potential, possibly with the aid of some muggle-born who went back to that world, to defeat these terrorists of Tom's. Failing that, some other country would have to give enough of a damn to make the necessary heavy intervention and, unless firmly threatened by Tom, I rather suspect the MoM has done wa superb job of annoying its contemporaries in other countries. Of course, non-magical intervention also carries a huge risk of fully exposing the magical world and I could see Britain's magical neighbors possibly collaborating to try and stop that; though I question how successful they'd be. Every successful resistance (guerrlla warfare) group starts with folk holding strong convictions and willing to go the distance to back them (Robin Hood and Zorro fit this as do the members of the Resistance in occupied-France and other countries during WW II). I don't see this mind set in wizarding Britain, save in the folks Dumbles has allowed to be killed off, and I think the British magical society is now SOL.

    Author's response

    All it's going to take, is people to gather together and say "It's time to fight back. The wizards just haven't seen enough. The purebloods think they're untouchable, and they control most of the wizarding world. The rest of them just allow the ministry to think for them. There would have to be a direct threat to their standard of living before they bestir themselves. Voldemort has made a goal of eliminating all mudbloods'. What if he murders a family that is well respected in a town. That's usually when people usually decide that they could easily be next. Nothing bestirs the soul to action like the threat to their children. In addition, every witch or wizard carries a deadly weapon at all times. Even if Voldy has his troops confiscate the wands, there are a few who don't need them.

    If the muggles get involved, then the wizarding world is doomed. No sooner than they are revealed, (and if that happens the muggles WILL get involved (See Sunset/Sunrise over Britain' by BobMin)they will begin a research program to isolate and neutralize the magical quotient. Once that's done, all it takes is a bullet.

    I was actually thinking of the colonial response to the British abuses, during the American revolution, and our defeat at the hands of the NVA/VietCong/ARVN in Viet Nam. They used the same tactics against both the French and the US, telling effect.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) Cateagle 2009-02-20 11:21:05 PM

    One further thought, that water beetle flying off means that the next day's Daily Prophet is going to carry the full text of what Harry said; it should prove rather enlightening to see how wizarding Britain receives his final message of "YOYO!!".

    Author's response

    Yup, and yup. There's not really much can add to this, that hasn't been done before. I suppose an article in the Prophet would be OK, but really, that wouldn't be more than a thousand words at most...even if 'Dear' Rita does a little muckraking. Is it worth the time?

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) thekev 2009-03-24 06:29:09 PM

    I loved it

    Author's response

    Thank you.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) bobman 2009-03-25 09:16:35 AM

    Interesting. I don't particularly like Dumbledore overly much, but this was a bit overdone, although I suspect it was intended to be. The funny thing is, this isn't the evilest Dumbledore I've read.

    Author's response

    This is one of my first fics. I see canon Dumbledore as the most evil villain ever to be created. He's worse than a terrorist because he can convince people that he's sacrificing them for the greater good'. ("War: A time of good music and bad rhetoric" Nietzsche)

    This is not the evilest Dumbledore I've written. Here, he's merely standoffish. I actually used my dad's (non drunk) personality for this, combined with Dumbledore's canon character. He's interested in Harry's welfare but doesn't want to get personally involved.

    Alorkin

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 644365
  • Stories: 40615

Recent Stories