Categories > Books > Harry Potter > YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

Snape, the First Task, and Snape

by DrT 14 Reviews

Harry confronts Snape before and after the First Task. Draco and the others face their dragons.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Draco,Harry,Snape - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2010/05/24 - Updated: 2010/05/24 - 3270 words - Complete

Reviews

  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) red_jacobson 2010-05-24 07:40:09 AM

    Interesting update, I always enjoy a story where Harry uses his brain!

    Red
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) siaru 2010-05-24 08:24:41 AM

    Gee, after the first task there was an opportunity for some "Malfoy Stinks" badges there... Or "Malfoy Laid An Egg".

    Pray continue. I'm enjoying this.

    Author's response

    RE: Malfoy laid an egg.
    You might want to see a more humorous story called 'champion's champion' on ff.net, where Ron takes over for Harry. When I first wrote this through the end of the second task (2 or 3 years ago)Harry and Ron were co-champions. Harry because of Snape, Ron because of a plot by Malfoy under orders of Voldie, where Malofy got an older student to put Harry's name in under the forth school, adding Ron's in case there had to be at least a choice of two. Harry found out and changed his name to Draco's, leaving Ron's as Ron was being a prat about Hermione.

    That plot didn't work well. This isn't my best story, but that plot made it much worse and it got stuck. After reading 'Champion's Champion' I realized that if I ever finish that original story line, it would seem not only poorly written but stale and copied. I eventually rewrote that plot out and substituted Malfoy for Ron

    I prefer being cruel to Malfoy than Ron anyway!
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) darthridian 2010-05-24 08:43:21 AM


    lol, i can actually see draco reacting that way to seeing the dragon since he also went first.

    but if he had gone last maybe he would have done better, or worse, like when he saw harry handle buckbeak, he might have made a bigger mess. :)

    keep up the great writing mate.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Innortal 2010-05-24 09:31:56 AM

    Good development, love Draco's poor reaction as well. Thank you.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) stargatesg1fan1 2010-05-24 10:20:35 AM

    A good update to a good story. I hope Snape dies in the end for betraying Harry's parents to Riddle. It would be a very interesting twist to find that Lily had somehow survived...perhaps under suspended animation to use as a possible bargaining tool by some party. I would suggest Dumbles but you've made him rather incapable of something so complex...at least doing so and keeping it from Harry.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Wolfric 2010-05-24 11:01:21 AM

    Good chapter. I'm not sure why Harry cut Snape any slack unless he has some use to Harry's plans. Of course maybe Harry didn't actually change anything. Thanks for writing. W.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Teresa 2010-05-24 11:52:09 AM

    An excellent chapter! It seems as though Draco and Snape might make it through the third task as long as they aren't stupid....... but afterwards all bets are off. I wonder if Draco will keep his hands away from the other eggs despite Dumbles' warning, but since he's the last Malfoy it wouldn't make that much difference! It was nice seeing how the Harry and the other students got their side out to the press. Did Snape tell Dumbles his theory about Voldy or keep it to himself? As always, thanks for a great chapter! :)
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) GinnyMyLove 2010-05-24 01:20:11 PM

    People berate me for having Harry be soft, especially when it comes to his girls. But I think that is just the canon Harry's personality. His life has been to hard for him to be strict/mean with those he cares for.

    People who truly piss him off however are in trouble. Like your DumbleMalfSnapes.

    This story is definitely different, I think its the pace which throws me off since I am used to reading much slower paced stories...but its till good over all and I'm happy to see you writing AND posting stuff again :)

  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) WBH21C 2010-05-24 03:49:02 PM

    Now that's the good stuff.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Cateagle 2010-05-24 09:14:34 PM

    Severus Snape is lviing on borrowed time, knows it, and is trying to make the best of it with what he can do for Draco. It's obvious that Draco's mouth is well ine excess of what the rest of him can back and he's going to suffer for it here. On the other hand, Harry's tlaking softly and performing well and I suspect that will have some effect on how Viktor and Fleur perceive him; the results should be "interesting". I did love the way the students were getting Harry's message out to the press without realizing it's his; I'm sure this press coverage will cause lots of pureblood hearburn as foreigners and a mixed-blood perform significantly better than the pureblood (look for Draco to get some "back channel" help to try and redress this). It looks to be quite a fun "romp" ahead and I'm certain that -this time- Harry will ask Hermione immediatedly, if not "anticipating" a bit before hand.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 489211
  • Stories: 40148

Recent Stories