Categories > Books > Harry Potter > YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

Epilogue

by DrT 22 Reviews

This world after the story. . . .

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG - Genres: Drama - Characters: Ginny,Harry,Hermione,Luna,Ron - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2010/06/22 - Updated: 2010/06/22 - 1586 words - Complete

Reviews

  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) DrT 2010-06-22 06:03:35 AM

    I promise to do more with characterization in any future story! Hope you enjoyed aspects of this one.

    "T"
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) erik 2010-06-22 08:10:01 AM

    A much more enjoyable view of the different characters futures than in canon. Well done & thanks.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Cateagle 2010-06-22 09:50:05 AM

    This was an enjoyable story, despite feeling sketchy in places. Given the names and appearances of Luna's children, one can guess who the biological father is, my only question was if it was just the two of them or a three-for-all. All in all, combining the dark grey Harry and very light Harry seems to have produced a light-grey Harry who managed a productive life and arranged matters so that his friends were able to go on to productive lives while improving the government of wizarding Britain (well, at least it no longer looks as bad as, or worse than, a third-world kleptocracy). I had to chuckle at what happened to Ginny; if she was more domineering than her mother, she, IMHO, earned such a reward, much as Albus and Severus earned theirs.

    I can't say that I feel sorry for Ron, but then nothing really bad happened to him, just nothing really good.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) TimeMage 2010-06-22 11:06:56 AM

    Very nice story! Thanks for the ride! I'm eagerly awaiting your next one!
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Rob 2010-06-22 02:08:54 PM

    As usual a great read, well done!

    Rob
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Wolfric 2010-06-22 03:27:35 PM

    I enjoyed your fine story as I have many of your previous efforts. I hope you will be inspired to keep writing. Thanks. W.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Hurin 2010-06-22 06:36:12 PM

    I've read most of your stories. You are a fine storyteller. I like the edginess. I prefer straigh-up H/Hr, but suppose the inclusion of Luna is part of the edginess. Thanks, and I'm looking forward to more of your fics.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) twistyguru 2010-06-22 08:38:17 PM

    Nicely done. I rather enjoyed some of the 'rush to the finish' feel--all too often in stories like this I feel that Harry sits and twiddles far too long, just to wait until his 7th year to off Voldie. I'm glad you didn't do that, but had Harry go right to work, using his foreknowledge of events and circumstances.
    And, I didn't find it terribly cliche-ridden, either. :)
    Yet another excellent effort from you, and I look forward to reading more of your works in the very near future.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) jabarber69 2010-06-23 12:26:24 AM

    that was a nice ending to a great story!
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) siaru 2010-06-23 04:54:39 AM

    Epilogue (rereading all chapters)

    Okay, I for one am still in the dark as to who put Harry's name into the Goblet of Fire. Was this Crouch Jr's work before his unmasking? Or Karkaroff? From his described reactions, I take it that it was not Dumbledore.

    You might want to edit chapter 6 so Snape is told that Dumbledore has a deadline of the Winter Solstice. That way he's demonstrated to have failed.

    Overall, Harry got a lot less ruthless as he went along; maybe Luna unearthed a Five-Winged Ruth to keep him company. Draco obviously never got his Rumple-Eared Feck in time.

    I can see how Ginny would develop along the lines described (even to effectively marrying her fan club). With Harry pairing up with Hermione and thus taking much of the spotlight off of Ron, Ginny isn't so shadowed and thus comes into her own earlier. Pity it's after the Chamber year, so she's already Tomboy!Ginny; maybe that led to the need for the digitalis overdose.

    That was a fun tale, if a bit rushed, but you did mention you're pressed for time, so it's understandable that we drop so seldom from narration into conversation. Thank you for making the effort to share it with us.

    What's next? A Redo!Luna? Trelawney emerges from her sherry- and Confundus-induced haze to realize that she has just Seen the scope of canon future, and works to make amends for her part in Harry's nonstop abuse? Or a PolyJuice version of the Tournament year?

    Author's response

    Quote: Trelawney emerges from her sherry- and Confundus-induced haze to realize that she has just Seen the scope of canon future, and works to make amends for her part in Harry's nonstop abuse?

    I don't think I could write that, but I think I'd like to read it! And snape entered Harry once he realized Harry had entered Draco

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 633192
  • Stories: 40443

Recent Stories