Categories > Books > Harry Potter > YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

Epilogue

by DrT 22 Reviews

This world after the story. . . .

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG - Genres: Drama - Characters: Ginny,Harry,Hermione,Luna,Ron - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2010/06/22 - Updated: 2010/06/22 - 1586 words - Complete

Reviews

  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) AlaskanKing 2010-06-23 07:42:24 PM

    I really enjoyed this story. Love Powerful Grey Harry. I am a big fan of the time travel and alternate dimension stories and found this very enjoyable.
    Maybe for your next one, you have Harry end up in a dimension where Neville is the BWL, but incompetent. James and Lily are still alive (and not insane, because unlike the Longbottoms in canon. Sirius and Remus are there to help take down Bella and Co.) The higher powers realize that Neville doesn't have it in him to do the job alone and so send an adult Harry to merge with his 11 year old self.
    It would be interesting to see Harry with brothers and sisters.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Jimbocous 2010-07-07 09:55:53 PM

    Interesting story. Good clean writing from a technical perspective, and it has a nice flow. Maybe a little excessive narration, and perhaps that's what makes it difficult to develop the characters morefully. One of the interesting aspects of the story would have been how Harry grew from the tired embittered soul from the first time to a more balanced person. While the narration implies this, there really aren't any obvious breakpoints or conflicts that resulted in thie growth.
    Again, though, a very enjoyable story. Thanks!
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) brad 2010-07-13 07:10:15 PM

    Just read the epilogue now! Life's been busy. Although I sadly have too much time on my hands right now. :-(

    A nice wrap-up of the story, with some anti head-in-the-clouds realism added to the mix - like the independents and business factions failing to form a political coalition. Nice one.

    And your not making Hermione automatically super-duper smart, but allowing for Dumbledore and Riddle to be - gasp - smarter than her! Oh well, you still let her be the 'smartest girl of her age', I think. And her lacking corresponding magical power and so falling a little in the rankings was another dose of 'realism'.

    It's ... sad ... to think of a Luna who 'drifted away' from her friends. You do suggest that she was still very close to Harry and Hermione, of course - 'always knowing' where they were, and having two children by Harry - but it does seem like she ended up somewhat alone. :-(

    Ginny's fate - heh. :-)

    You've done quite a few 'Harry goes back in time and trounces the opposition' stories over the past couple of years; they've comprised pretty much all of your last sheaf of stories. Have you ever thought of flipping things around, having Hermione come back? With her goal being to coach/train Harry to grow into his power? To grapple with the realities of the bad guys and having to kill/fight? Mind you, a future!Hermione supporting and helping her best friend wouldn't be too much different from canon!Hermione, at that, I guess.

    It was good to see another story from you, thank you for the entertainment; for this one and, as always, for all of those others you've written over the years. Best wishes to you.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) LabRat 2010-08-31 05:01:07 PM

    I have two curiosities about this epilogue.

    Just who is the father of Luna's green eyed daughters? If it's who I think it is, is Hermione aware of it?

    Makes me wonder if the 'brainy birds are naughty' thing applied, Harry found out just how naughty two brainy birds like Luna and Hermione could be, and Luna's girls were an accidental result.

    Author's response

    Yes, and I am sure Hermione would have 'supervised' the process
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) noreenklose 2010-11-11 01:21:26 AM

    Excellent story! I really enjoyed it. I love how you portrayed Ron and Ginny in the Epilogue. My sentiments exactly. Thank you so much for writing it.

    KUTGW,

    Noreen
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) LdyGossamer 2011-02-18 02:33:06 PM

    I love it when I find a new (to me) and completed story that I can savor. This is one such story and I enjoyed reading it from beginning to end.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Zucht 2011-03-04 01:45:25 AM

    Excellent story! The ending was a bit clunky and the Luna twist came out of nowhere. I have to say I really enjoyed the pacing of the story. I would have had Fluer try to mess with harry with her allure, but I realy liked Hermione's character - much better than the over-reaction protrayed by most authors.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) karrnras 2011-06-26 09:28:07 PM

    I like your story. It's different than other time/AD stories I’ve read. I like the Gray!Harry and although I'm not a fan of him being more behind the scenes person it's still good and I like how you made his trip happen. It’s soooo very different and I really like that. Good job.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) papamidnite 2011-07-22 08:05:51 PM

    Solid story, keep up the good work


    pm
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Pointer 2012-11-09 09:42:09 PM

    I got the feeling Hermione helped this Harry keep a little lighter than he might otherwise have become.
    Enjoyed it.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 633848
  • Stories: 40447

Recent Stories