Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry's Second Chance

Reactions

by DrT 11 Reviews

The Last Battle has been fought, and Harry Potter has won. The price, however, has been high. Nearly every person Harry cared for is dead, maimed, or otherwise injured. The magical culture of Bri...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Drama, Romance - Characters: Dumbledore, Harry, Hermione - Warnings: [!!] - Published: 2006/07/07 - Updated: 2006/07/07 - 3213 words

Reviews

  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) jbstarnes1 2006-07-07 04:24:33 PM

    "Harry had given some hints that his information was very much insider trading, in which goblins were firm believers."

    Your stories tend to be a little overly clinical, making it hard for any kind of emotional connection, but every so often you come up with a killer line, and that's one of them.

    Author's response

    Thanks, I liked that line, too,

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) Shaggy37 2006-07-07 04:44:24 PM

    SPECTACULARLY AWESOME CHAPTER, I love this chapter, it rules, I love the concessions they make so that they can have the physical contact they need seeing as they can't and wont have more intimate relations till later on in there lives, still an all around awesome chapter, do keep up the excellent work and update soon please:):):):)

    Author's response

    No, they will still start phsycially young, but not THIS young.

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) loralee1 2006-07-07 05:08:42 PM

    Love the goblin reply to the Ministries. lol -go goblins!- Excellent chpt.

    Author's response

    Yes, I would think the Goblins would either be very diplomatic, or very blunt, with little in between.

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) drake716 2006-07-07 06:32:47 PM

    I really enjoyed the last part. It's what I would have done should I have had a daughter with a bond mate. The way you wrote Hermione's parents is very consistent to the story, and Harry remains secretive as ever. Update soon, I was getting frustrated from a lack of update.

    Author's response

    Thanks, glad you found it believable.

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2006-07-07 08:20:20 PM

    Good chapter, though the beginning seemed a bit dense.

    I like how you used Nott, and I also enjoyed the Yaxley attack. The Grangers' reactions to everything seem pretty acceptable. I'm glad they aren't under the illusion that they can control Hermione, because that'd just be annoying.

    Um...how old is Tonks at this point? And how old is Remus? Two years out of Hogwarts and she'd probably be twenty, right? Seemed a bit less gross in canon when they did it four and a half years later, but it doesn't bother me at all.

    Can't wait to see what's next.

    Author's response

    Tonks would be 20 or 21, Remus 33, which is a bit of a wide gap at that point, but over the next 100 years or so, things will balance out.

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) snowman 2006-07-07 10:30:23 PM

    good chapter.

    Author's response

    Thanks
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) Lira_Snape 2006-07-08 02:01:23 AM

    Interesting chapter.
    I don't quite get the part with the money: Harry used his foreknowledge of the future to know which companies would do well and where to invest? Hmmm. Just because he went back ten years in time doesn't mean he actually knows that. I mean if I suddenly found myself back in time ten years, I'd be absolutely clueless as to where to invest!!! And the Harry we see in the books never has anything to do with money or investing - other than him gifting the twins with his Triwizard winnings for their shop. Did Harry check out the magical stock market for the past ten years just before going back in time or something?
    Well, it just isn't logical to me. (I even dissect JKR's books logically at times and end up very disappointed due to some holes in her logic you could drive a truck through! lol ;))

    Author's response

    Not the magical stock market (which is unlikely to exist) but the Muggle. As I said in the chapter, Harry often heard Vernon ranting abut how much much he would have made if he had been able to invest on the groudn floor, etc. etc. etc, and Harry based his investments on those rants.

    Something of a cliche, but not nearly as improbable as you suggest

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) selenepotter 2006-07-09 10:09:01 AM

    I have greatly enjoyed your 6th year fics. HBP has put a real damper on fics. Many people, you and I included have reacted to this by writing time travel fics.
    This is a good one!
    I look foreward eagerly to the next chapter!

    Author's response

    I did do one Year 7 fic, but I couldn't do any more (and when you consider how many year 6 fics I did, that's says a lot) -- I really will be suprised in Rowling can really make book 7 more than an extended D&D novel. The ONLY thing I really liked about HBP were the Horcruxes. If I write any more complete HP before book 7 comes out, they will also be 'reset' stories like this one. Perhaps one where Harry goes back to the Marauders' era instead of his own past, or perhaps (for this site) a nice Harem/one year reset tale.

    Or who knows, maybe Rowling is a marketing genius, since we can't easily extend canon now!

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) brad 2006-07-12 05:22:53 AM

    As always I enjoy the political slant/thread to your story. Amusing and clever to see how the magical communities are forced to make laws which 'spelled the end of any large dark movements in their territories ever again'. And in particular I think it's entirely feasible for many of the pure-bloods to abandon the half-blood Tom Riddle. Let the DEs - those that stayed - be revealed to be more interested in violence and power for themselves rather than possessing altruistic ideals for the betterment of the wizarding world.

    I was surprised that Harry didn't even let Hermione in on his plan.

    What is the significance of Nott being one of the higher-valued DEs? I really must have a bad memory ... did he do something in this story (against Hermione?) that I've already forgotten? (sorry!)

    And we have a looming threat against Harry, courtesy of Ted Nott. It's probably about time to introduce some tension, Harry seems to have had it all going his way for the last few chapters.

    Author's response

    Harry didn't want Hermione to object to giving the elves extra work, even though they loved it. As for Nott, he's been a minor pain-in-the-butt. Had one of Pansy's parents been Marked, they would have had a much higher reward.

    As for the Volde/Nott plot, you just know it's going to backfire in this story, right? Poor Harry, he's just a guy who wants to enjoy his vaction when Volde strikes. . . . (in case anyone has read a story called 'Make a Wish')

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) Locathah 2006-09-01 11:23:38 AM

    "be rendered as 'screw you and the broomstick you rode in on'"

    Shouldn't this be 'screw you WITH the broomstick you rode in on' ? :)

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 489699
  • Stories: 40148

Recent Stories