Categories > Original > Humor

A Few Tips On Writing An Okay Oneshot/Fic

by MCR-99 6 Reviews

Yes, I know I'm a newbie-ish writer and all, and I see stuff like this half the time, but I have a few more other tips and shit so here.

Category: Humor - Rating: G - Genres: Humor - Characters:  - Published: 2013/06/29 - Updated: 2013/06/29 - 912 words

Reviews

  • A Few Tips On Writing An Okay Oneshot/Fic

    (#) AmericanHorrorStory 2013-06-29 10:13:43 AM

    Fair enough. I spot one error, however.

    Author's response

    I know.
    Damn lagging and stuff..

    When I'm back on my laptop I'll fix it up, I promise.
  • A Few Tips On Writing An Okay Oneshot/Fic

    (#) AmericanHorrorStory 2013-06-29 10:44:13 AM

    Also, not every fic needs to have romance. Like, yeah, have some background romance, but jeeeeeessus, some fics can center around something called a plot. Some of the world's best novels don't include love stories. The Casebook Of Sherlock Holmes? No major love stories in that, just pure amazing writing. Fuck, A Christmas Carol. No love stories, just a plot and some bloke rabbiting on about everything.

    Keep that in mind, yeah?

    Author's response

    Got it!
    Like, I could have murder mystery, right?

    .. I'mma write another oneshot thingy ma-bob.
    I have the best idea, all from my 'Inspiration Book' as I'mma call it.
  • A Few Tips On Writing An Okay Oneshot/Fic

    (#) AmericanHorrorStory 2013-06-29 01:37:48 PM

    As long as there's no romance in it, murder-mystery is good. Just gotta make sure it's good, and shit.
  • A Few Tips On Writing An Okay Oneshot/Fic

    (#) momiji_neyuki 2013-06-29 02:15:12 PM

    I like your thought process on tip of what not to do. I do not read many OC fics becasue of the reasons you stated. There can be more canon there than one with all band members! I will admit that I MarySued myself into one of my chapters, but not that anyone else would have noticed becasue I did it through the main character.

    I am really glad you also wrote about plot twist change ups. Did I mention that i hate canon? ^0^
  • A Few Tips On Writing An Okay Oneshot/Fic

    (#) lolhai 2013-06-29 02:24:48 PM

    I like how you were able to point out problems with your own writing. However, I do wonder about how useful some of this is to people who don't write fanfiction. Yeah, plot twists and stuff are important, as are breaking away from what you traditionally write, and I would like to see a lot more OCs who are actually OCs. I've been involved in exactly one self insert, but the author called for it to be us and not a character. Making characters is fun. I have seven or eight different characters currently. It's kind of an addiction.
  • A Few Tips On Writing An Okay Oneshot/Fic

    (#) Sam41 2013-07-04 11:37:10 PM

    You also forgot
    Originality
    Don't read a fic, watch a movie, read a book etc. and then write a fic EXACTLY like it
    Example
    Movie has a girl who dies, boyfriend is sad wants to kill himself ends up in hospital and sees her ghost and sappy shit happens (I COULD SO BE A SCREENWRITER XD)
    Fic
    Exact same, except its boy who dies and girlfriend who gets hurt

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

  • Saves Nine
    by estaog (PG-13)

    After his defeat of Voldemort, Harry Potter is tasked to travel to the past and prevent the Dark Lor...

    In: Harry Potter

Site Stats

  • Authors: 489116
  • Stories: 40148

Recent Stories