Categories > Books > Harry Potter > The Return of the Boy Who Lived

Chapter Eight

by red_jacobson 11 Reviews

Albus Gets a Letter, Neville and his friends have a talk

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres:  - Characters:  - Published: 2008/06/08 - Updated: 2008/06/09 - 2658 words - Complete

Reviews

  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Clell65619 2008-06-08 07:30:33 PM

    - This may well be the first HP fic that references Coronation Street...

    - Good story.

    Author's response

    Well; I didn't think Hermione would be up on the Comic Book Cliche; and I remembered hearing the name of the British Soap Opera. I could have made a Doctor Who reference; but then people would probably expect the Doctor to show up! And, since I've never seen an episode of the show, I want to avoid that GRIN

    Thanks for the review

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Rubel 2008-06-08 08:46:34 PM

    Not bad. I definitely wonder who the new teachers will be. Keep up the great work.

    Author's response

    No big secret; I'm bringing in Nicholas Flamel for Potions; and Remus Lupin and Mad Eye for defense.

    Glad you are enjoying the story

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Cateagle 2008-06-08 09:19:14 PM

    Nice, very nice; it should be interesting to see how Dumbles handles a much more clued-in and aware trio of Gryf firsties, esp. when all of them have sufficient mental protections that manipulating their minds will not be easy. He may have to drop back to a totally-new tactic, laying the full truth out and jointly working out plans. I rahter suspect that'd be a novel experience for him. If nothing else, he's going to have to be much more open with Harry this time around, since Harry will have both Neville and Hermione advising him.

    What should be interesting is if they manage to start "housecleaning" of DEs who bought their way out of prision. I rather imagine that'll send some ripples through society.

    Author's response

    Thanks; I'm glad you are still enjoying the story. And, as I've said multiple times, this isn't Manipulative Old Bastard Albus, so, while he is quite willing to offer advice and suggestions; he recognizes that he isn't all knowing or all wise; and can accept that somebody else can have knowledge that he doesn't.

    As for the house-cleaning; that is part of what Harry was getting at with forcing trials in front of the Wizengamot (or however it's spelled, I'm not awake yet GRIN)

    I'm planning to have a new chapter up on Wednesday.

    Red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2008-06-08 09:56:36 PM

    Interesting update, I like the idea having Dumbledore so closely involved at such an early stage.

    Looking forward to more.

    Author's response

    thanks; the next chapter is planned to be up Wednesday.

    Red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Wolfric 2008-06-08 11:00:22 PM

    I have just caught up with your fine story and have enjoyed it a great deal. Thanks for writing. W.

    Author's response

    You're welcome; but, where have you been? GRIN

    Thanks for the good words

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) DrT 2008-06-09 03:57:44 AM

    I see why you warned us that dumbles wouldn't be shown in as bad a light as he often is these days. Another good twist

    Author's response

    Thanks; I'm glad you are enjoying it.

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) morriganscrow 2008-06-09 12:08:18 PM

    I am really enjoying this interesting and original story.
    I have never read a time travel one where BWL Neville goes back to a parallel universe where Harry has the scar. It's a great idea, and you are handling it very well indeed.

    Author's response

    thanks; I'm glad you are enjoying it. I'm planning to have a new chapter posted on Wednesday.

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Wonderbee31 2008-06-09 03:15:08 PM

    Continuing to be very interesting, and with this letter to himself, here's hoping Dumbledore will finally come off his own high horse, and actually go about with traing and getting them ready for the upcoming crisis, rather than the way he fumbled his way around in canon(which still basically seems like he was using Harry as more of a "point-defense" weapon, rather than actually teaching him anything(even though I've read so many fics where others say Albus had no choice that to teach Harry the way he did?). Yeah, right. Will look forward to what happens in the office.

    Author's response

    Thanks for your review; and; Albus is definitely not on his high horse any longer. There will be training going on; in fact, Albus made a comment within the last two chapters about starting it before the end of the year, so Harry and the others will definitely have a much better chance this time around.

    Red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Anaknisatanas 2008-06-09 06:38:12 PM

    Very nice update. I really want to see how Pettigrew and the other nastier Death Eater's are handled.

    Author's response

    Well, I will tell you that Albus, Harry Neville and Hermione are not going to be rapping them on the knuckles with a ruler, that's for sure! GRIN

    Thanks for your review

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Alatoic01 2008-06-09 07:22:17 PM

    Ok, first time I read this story and I can say its really good. love that Neville was the boy who lived and know what will happen (at least part of it).

    Nice changes, really noble way to die for Snape. I like how Hermione is more assertive in her emotions with Harry and how he is clueless, I cant wait to see how they develop.

    Will be interesting to know who will be Neville love interest, even if is not Ginny anymore I am sure he will still harbor some feelings.

    Cant wait to read next chapter and know what will Albus plan to get the horocruxes, also that he knows that not all that happened before will happen, after all every change make a new future.

    Any way hope to read more soon.
    Cheers.
    MAC

    Author's response

    Thanks; I'm planning to have the next chapter up on Wednesday night.

    red

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 631487
  • Stories: 40423

Recent Stories