Categories > Books > Harry Potter > To Fight the Coming Darkness

Light in the Shadow of the Wulf

by JBern 11 Reviews

Politics! Heir Compulsions! Oh My!

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Action/Adventure, Romance - Characters: Dumbledore, Harry, Other - Warnings: [!!] [?] [X] - Published: 2006/04/22 - Updated: 2006/04/23 - 11419 words - Complete

Reviews

  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2006-04-22 09:51:16 PM

    Good stuff. The lack of action didn't bother me at all. You made this chapter every bit as interesting as the previous ones, and I couldn't ask for more.

    Author's response

    Thanks! Now if I can just cover slightly more time rather than using 7 chapters to cover 24 hours.

    I am starting chapter 15 tomorrow after I finish chapter 4 of my second story. It's only on ff.net at the moment, but I'll post it here next week. Give it a try and let me know what you think. Its called Bungle in the Jungle: A Harry Potter Adventure. Chapter 3 will be posted next week. End of shameless plug.

    Its going to be an interesting chapter 15. Penny appears at #12, Dumbles and Harry "have words" and if Susan gets her wish they may indeed have a little "aura tuning"

    Happy reading,
    Jim
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) Gibby 2006-04-22 09:52:54 PM

    Man I love this story. Great job writing the vote. Also can't wait for Dumbledore's "words" for Harry. By the way I hope Susan and Harry get a few "words" of there own hehehehe. Anyway great update can't wait for the next one

    -Gibby

    Author's response

    Thanks. I appreciate the kind words. I'll be starting chapter 15 tomorrow. It will be done in 2 weeks. -- Jim
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) ridmania 2006-04-23 12:35:09 AM

    loved it awesome!!! hope thewir is sp,e dumbledore bashing!!!! and some malfoy and snape bashing!!! oh and defintly ron and hermione!!!

    Author's response

    Dumbledore will be in the forefront of the next chapter. As for all the other requested bashing? Probably not, but you never know.

    Jim
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) yojorocks 2006-04-23 08:26:58 AM

    Very nicely done, especially the concept of heir compulsion; I like how you explain everything instead of leaving the reader to infer or guess why things happen. Please keep up the excellent storyline crafting!

    Author's response

    Glad you appreciate the story for what it is - a desperate attempt by a guy approaching midlife crisis, who reads stories and deludes himself that he can do better. - Jim
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) DavidMPotter 2006-04-28 10:02:19 PM

    This is an awesome fic. I like it I love it I want some more of it.... Please post this soom. I like this much better than Bungle in the Jungle.

    Author's response

    I update every 2 weeks on both stories. Thanks for the review.
    Jim
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) The_Resident 2006-04-29 01:28:20 AM

    Loved that Wizengamot session. I'm also looking forward to the confrontation between Manipulative!Dumbledore and Confident!Harry. It's should be great 'Theater' as the saying goes. Keep up the great work (I'm off to read another chapter.)

    Author's response

    I have to say thanks for reviewing every chapter. Alot of people, myself included will just review the last chapter. I appreciate it greatly.

    Jim
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) TxA_GunFighter 2006-09-29 10:40:06 PM

    Really good chapter.

    gunny
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) Dragen 2006-10-20 08:01:38 AM

    I can't believe that Minerva and Albus is still trying to control Harry, Albus I understand, Harry is his weapon in the war... but Minerva I thought better of. They had no right to try and control him before he was emancipation, and they have no right at all now that he is emancipation.

    Oh boy, Harry as put the Wizengamot and maybe the wizarding world into chaos, by letting goblins have his votes when he is at Hogwarts... I like it.
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) GryffindorDragon 2007-02-19 10:14:35 AM

    This is quite interesting but definitely AU. You give hints of a Dark Harry (with all your references to and posting on the Dark Harry site). But perhaps you don't realize that so far you've really managed to come up with a Dark Dumbledore and not a Dark Harry. Oh yes, Harry is using Unforgiveables. But I rather think that Wizrard Society (as you do in a bit different way) would develop something on the level of justifiable homicide. But then perhaps that is why the Wizards seem to have so much trouble with Dark Lords -- the Wizard "police" don't have an effective way to deal with them with their hands tied to using stunners.
    Your depiction of Dumbledore has gone down hill from you attempt to present two justifiable positions. Dumbledore is now reduced to little better than a petulant old man who is upset that he isn't getting his way.

    Author's response

    Well thank you for the comments. Sorry you don't think much of Dumbledore in this story. Hopefully, it will change later.~Jim
  • To Fight the Coming Darkness

    (#) twistyguru 2010-05-27 06:30:53 PM

    Better and better and better and better....
    So much good here I'm not even going to pick out specifics from this (and the previous chapters). Yep, I'm lazy that way...and also too interested in seeing what's coming up next to mess around quibbling over which detail I liked best!

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 634024
  • Stories: 40448

Recent Stories