Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Shades of Gray

Chapter 1: The Book

by Shadow_Rebirth 13 Reviews

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Harry - Warnings: [?] - Published: 2008/06/11 - Updated: 2008/06/24 - 4859 words

Reviews

  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Cateagle 2008-06-11 08:13:04 PM

    Nice, very nice start to your story and it definitely catches the reader's interest from the start. I like the set-up you've given us and I'm going to be very interested in where you take Harry from here. I rather imagine Dumbles will have a fecal hemorrage if Harry transfers to this other school; that, by itself, could be quite entertaining as would the reactions of Harry friends and enemies to such a transfer. Failing such a transfer, I wonder if he could get either summer schooling or correspondence courses to help with his training?

    Author's response

    Yeah, I plan on focusing some time on Dumbledore's reaction. Unfortunately that won't happen for quite some time though...Thanks for the review.

    --S.R.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) hi_abhishek19 2008-06-11 09:49:42 PM

    An excellent start. I rather like that harry considers ron and hermonie as his close friends but not his best friends. Less attachement to stop him from learning about his new school and going there.
    Eagerly wating for the next update.

    Author's response

    Well, I'm glad that you've like it so far. One thing I've never like about the cannon is how small Harry's circle of friends is up until fifth or six year; for the most part, it's unrealistic. More about who he know will be touched into later on. Thanks for the review.

    -S.R.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) snowman 2008-06-11 10:17:44 PM

    Great start can not wait for more.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) ALConfederate 2008-06-12 06:04:40 AM

    From the summary it looks like you've been inspired by Miranda Fairgold's work.

    I have never been a big fan of stories that introduce a bunch of non-canon creatures and then proceed to make them the centerpieces of the work. I hope you don't go that way. :)

    Still, this looks interesting, and I'll keep watching...

    Author's response

    Yeah, I've read hers and a few others, so doubtless they'll have somewhat of an impact on this story. Unlike that story however, mine won't be focusing nearly as much time on Harry actually in school. Thanks for the review.

    --S.R.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Trini_Randy 2008-06-12 10:04:44 AM

    Like AL said it has a remarkable parallel to Second Chance at Life and Changes in a Time of war. That said nice start, looking forward to more, if you need someone to proof read for you, I currently have nothing to do during the day, and my bachelors classes in the evening, so if you need help give me a holla, my yahoo ID: exyouth87

    Author's response

    I'd appreciate the help; I'll email you. And thanks for the review.

    --S.R.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Bedrup 2008-06-12 02:26:12 PM

    Interesting. Will keep reading.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Wolfric 2008-06-12 11:51:30 PM

    I enjoyed the promising start to your story. Thaks for writing. W.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) fishbowl 2008-06-13 03:51:08 AM

    Very nice start! like some other said already - it just draws me to want to know how the story will involve! Can't wait for a new chapter
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Luna_Liano 2008-06-14 02:33:44 AM

    Wow, I love the start of this, I can't wait to read more!
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Razgriz03 2008-06-15 04:06:15 AM

    I can't wat for you to update!!!
    This is a freakishly attention catching fic once read!!!

    Hope you update soon!!!

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 653069
  • Stories: 39934

Recent Stories