Categories > Books > Harry Potter

Thoughts of Pudding

by Brian64 10 Reviews

Chaos theory; a nargle flaps its wings in China, and Luna responds differently to Harry during their conversation before the leaving feast.. AU starting near the end of OoTP. Harry/Luna/Hermione. N...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Romance - Characters: Harry,Hermione,Luna - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Chapters: 22 - Published: 2008/07/18 - Updated: 2008/11/22 - 101736 words

Reviews

  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) nyef 2008-07-18 12:26:28 PM

    After reading seven chapters, it looks like an interesting story so far. Good mix of some usual cliches with an interesting premise. I'm looking forward to reading what happens.

    On a technical note, you'll find that the overall rating for a story tends not to move after the second chapter is posted, due to there not normally being an actual link available to rate the overall story (don't know why, either). This is why you see so many stories with an overall score of 0 and every single chapter with a score of 5.

    For those interested, the rating link for this story is
    http://www.ficwad.com/story/103141/rate

    Author's response

    I really appreciated the info on the story rating, as that was puzzling the heck out of me.

    Thanks for posting the info on how to move the overall story.

    I hope I can keep everyone's interest as the chapters roll out.
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) Imbrium 2008-07-18 12:43:10 PM

    I'm quite enjoying this story so far. It's nice to see Harry's character using his anger in a constructive manner.

    Author's response

    I don't think Harry has had much of a chance to work through the five stages of grief yet.

    Thanks to he way he was raised, Harry had pinned his hopes for a 'happily ever after' (if such could exist for him) with Sirius as a pseudo parent. That's been ripped from him now, so I can't imagine he'd be able to cope all that well, especially on top of his fifth year.

    In a way it's a real shame that his budding relationship with Luna is starting now, as it is tainted by the fact that Harry is at least partly 'broken' (emotionally) by all that he's been through, and therefore vulnerable.

    Fortunately, I don't see either Luna or Harry (or Hermione for that matter) giving a damn about all that being such pure souls. :D
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) QundraDraconium 2008-07-22 06:24:06 PM

    Nice. It's a great change of pace from all the dark and angst filled stories I've found lately. I like yours 100 times more.
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) lyonnyte 2008-07-22 08:23:58 PM

    Always love a good Luna story! I do agree with QundraDraconium that it's much better than alot of dark and angst story. We get plenty of that in cannon.
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) bkfriend 2008-09-28 03:34:45 PM

    I think that this is a wonderful story. I like the way that the characters interact and feel that these are good canon renditions of them. I hope to see this story carry forward at the same rate and would like to say thank you for writing something eminently readable.

    Author's response

    Hi bkfriend,

    Thanks for reviewing, and the positive feedback. I like hearing from people that think the chracters are acting in line with canon, as it helps balance out the reviews from people that think they aren't. :)

    Then again, I also like debating with those that don't, so I can try and work out which of us has been more influenced by fanfic representations.

    Brian
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) stealacandy 2008-10-05 12:59:53 PM

    How can something involving the human soul can be affected by something as mundane as property law?

    Not to mention, the house at the secret to the location of the headquarters at Num. 12 Grimauld Place was kept by Dumbledore, nothing changed about that so far.


    -mo

    Author's response

    I've seen the Fidelius charm change hands in many ways in various fanfics.

    In canon, I know the secret passed to everyone else that knew of the secret on the death of Dumbledore. If the secret was locked up so tightly in D's soul, how did it pass simply because he died? Answer, because JKR wanted it to happen that way. Realistically, it would have made more sense for things to stay exactly as they were, but with nobody else being able to learn the secret (unless there was a note written by the SK lying around somewhere)

    Canon therefore shows us that it is possible for the secret keeper to change hands in at least one circumstance.

    Ok, so as far as canon goes, Harry didn't become the secret keeper upon taking possession of #12.

    In canon though, Harry never attended the actual will reading, and didn't sign anything in his blood, so perhaps things didn't pass as fully into his ownership as they could have?

    It's possible Dumbledore just ensured that Kreacher was transferred over, and he did something to keep hold of the secret.

    Sure, the transfer isn't as tidy as I'd have liked it to be, but it is still plausible, and I didn't really want the whole distraction of summoning Dumbledore via Fawkes, demanding the dismantling of the existing Fideleus and then having it recast with Harry as Secret Keeper (which was one of my other options, along with demanding a note that he could pass around.)

    Cheers,

    Brian
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) SpringRaine 2008-10-27 11:08:38 AM

    This is a really good story. However, it's starting to sound like Harry would have been with Hermione if the both of them had been honest with their feelings and now that he and Luna have been together he'll stay with her no matter what happens out of loyalty. There's been very little to show that Harry has real romantic feelings for Luna aside from the normal teenage hormones.

    Luna is one of my favorite characters and I'd love to see Harry's feelings for her explored more.

    Author's response

    Hi SpringRaine,

    You've basically hit upon Luna's concern, and the reason why she wants Harry and Hermione to explore their possible relationship.

    She is wise enough to know that it's all too easy for a girl to lay a claim on an unattached 15yo boy, simply by paying him the kind of attention that she has been. But she wants to be sure her feelings are returned honestly, and she hasn't just won Harry because she's the only one to actually pursue him.

    The fact is there has been far more history between Harry & Hermione, and you're right, they should have been together earlier if they'd had a clue.

    But don't worry too much about Luna. There have been a number of clues that Harry does have some depth to his feelings towards her.

    Cheers,

    Brian
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) lucifael75 2008-11-07 07:55:08 PM

    This is an absolutely brilliant story.

    Light with a hint of sweet and an underlying smidgen of humor.

    Wonderful, please keep up the good work.
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) im_a_fanpire14 2008-11-08 03:08:39 PM

    This is an awesome story, Luna is my favourite character, Hermione being my second favorite, so I love this story! It is very sweet and has humor too!
  • Thoughts of Pudding

    (#) rowshi 2009-03-01 11:49:21 PM

    Thank you for this wonderful story. I'm looking forward to where you take this premise and I can't wait to find out of Luna's Father actually finds the elusive and enigmatic Sorkack.

    Keep up the good work and revel in the knowledge that you are creating something quite entertaining.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 667421
  • Stories: 39962

Recent Stories