Categories > Books > Lord of the Rings

Planting Seeds

by Rous 3 Reviews

Drabble for a challenge: Patience Part of the Butterflyverse A/N If you do not understand the drabble, before rating or commenting, please read my profile. This may be of benefit.

Category: Lord of the Rings - Rating: G - Genres: Drama, Humor - Characters: Haldir, Other - Published: 2006/03/02 - Updated: 2006/03/02 - 101 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Planting Seeds

    (#) ann_arien 2006-03-21 03:43:14 AM

    I have to say that you totally had me with this one! Here I was, getting all hot and bothered over a steamy scene with Haldir, and I nearly dropped my mug of coffee all over my self, at the last line. ;) Great sutff!
  • Planting Seeds

    (#) Rous 2006-03-21 06:47:20 AM

    So glad you liked it. I like the twisty ones. Thank you for reading and commenting. You are the first in about 40 readers. I was beginning to wonder. LOL
  • Planting Seeds

    (#) Pata-Hikari 2006-04-17 03:33:29 PM

    What?

    THIS is what you're complaining about?

    It IS boring!

    What is is? Less then a paragraph! "Drabbles" while fine writing challanges, I bet, don't make very good reading.

    Author's response

    Well, perhaps it would have been better then that you did not read it. If you do not understand the form, or do not care for it, then you should not read it. I would not leave such a review on one of your stories. It is just bad form. I thank you for the interest in checking it out, but do not do me any such favours in the future; I am not interested in this kind of reviews couched as "honesty". I would hope you would like me to be a bit more gracious if I were to do you such a turn.
  • Planting Seeds

    (#) Ithilwen 2006-04-23 03:17:38 PM

    In all fairness, the "we're doing something naughty; no we're not" is a bit overused. And the characters aren't really grounded in the Lord of the Rings universe. This could be any two people in any garden.

    Oh, Pat, there are many fine drabbles out there. Read a few more of them before you decide to write them off.

    Author's response

    In all fairness, the tone of your reviews is a bit overused. It is a drabble. Most drabbles could be said to be about any fandom or even real life. Do you read anything for the sheer joy of reading and just say thanks? I have found this true of reading some of yours, but I just decided not to waste your time pointing it out. I do not find this kind of review useful and really do not think they are helpful. If you do not like my drabbles, perhaps you should not read them. I have yet to see anything positive in your reviews of my writing. Can you find nothing at all??? This is supposed to be "fun". It is not fun for me. Again, I question the maturity of some reviewers on this site.

    And Pat? There are many good drabbles out there. She is right. But, you have to be in the right mindset to enjoy them. If you go in deciding ahead of time to dislike them, as some people seem to do, then you will not get them. I hope you will check out some of the other authors' works. Do not judge all drabbles on my obviously poor writing skills.
  • Planting Seeds

    (#) Rhapsody 2006-05-26 10:36:45 AM

    Oh Rous, this story just... awwww. Haldir and his little one. Just so incredibly touching and deeply moving! Thanks for sharing.

    Author's response

    Thank you. Apparently it is not LOTR enough to be distinctive, though. I like it. I am surprised you did not find it at THE OTHER SITE. I have all the drabbles there. This site is still shaking itself up into trying to keep up with the serious ones.
  • Planting Seeds

    (#) Neptune 2006-11-30 08:24:20 AM

    I liked this--it was cute. Just one thing, though: shouldn't that last line of dialogue have a question mark?

    Author's response

    Umm...sneaks back after a bit of editing...yes, it should. Of all the comments here and elsewhere, you are the first to either notice that, or speak up about it. Thank you, very much. And, for reading and taking the time to comment. You have no idea how much it means to me.
  • Planting Seeds

    (#) EatThePath 2007-10-17 10:59:42 AM

    Entertaining. I was looking for the twist, as it's a G rating and you seem to use ratings responsibly, but it was still well written. With so little space to work with, of course similar devices will be used with some frequency, but that doesn't mean a skillful use of such a device is any less worthwhile, and this is fairly skillfull.

    I'm finding your drabbles pretty enjoyable, particularly when I don't have the time or focus to read a larger work. Some people may not like them, but I do.

    It may only be the browser I'm using(IE7, school computer, not my choice), but the line ""Very well done, Eléria," he said." has some wonky formating in the middle of the name. Not sure if you can do anything about that, but there it is.

    I find it somewhat frustrating that you say that you have a lot of work on other sites, but not here. I do understand that you may not want to put the time and effort into posting a large body of work, but I think that it would only benefit yourself and Ficwad as a whole, in the long run. If it's a large enough collection of drabbles, it may even provoke some categories just for them.

    Author's response

    Thank you for reading and commenting.

    The formatting could be IE; I only use Firefox, so I would not know. I have seen it before, though.

    As for posting, I have gotten very negative feedback to most of my postings. I suspect someone is deliberately doing this, as it happened to quite a few drabble writers last year. Also, not many here seem to understand the concept of a drabble. So, I am cautious in what I put up here.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 607597
  • Stories: 40294

Recent Stories