Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Shades of Gray

Chapter 13: The Letters

by Shadow_Rebirth 12 Reviews

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres:  - Characters:  - Published: 2008/10/31 - Updated: 2008/11/01 - 4929 words

Reviews

  • Shades of Gray

    (#) DrT 2008-11-01 02:22:37 AM

    Nice to see Ryan finally acting like an Alpha; maybe that only applies to his interactions with other weres?

    And yes, where did Theo come from? Hopefully, we'll learn!
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) c3markh 2008-11-01 04:07:09 AM

    Love the story. I really like the new school and how they handle the differances in other students. Thanks for writing.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Cateagle 2008-11-01 09:40:45 AM

    Oh, now that's a nice chapter. I admit that I'll be rather interested in seeing how Harry, Theodore Nott, and Neville got together (that has to be a killer backstory) and what further "adventures" they'll have (wonder how/when Ron & Hermione will find out that others are closer to Harry than they are). Meanwhile, it should be quite interesting to see how long it takes folks to realize that buckbeak is no longer inhabiting 12 Grimmauld Place and to try and find out what happened. I don't feel sorry at all for Albus, he had his shot, now Harry has to make his own way since he's not what Albus thinks he is. I suspect Harry's new friends are going to become rather more important as matters develop.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Innortal 2008-11-01 10:23:23 AM

    An excellent piece of work, tied in well, and with enough background to keep it moving smoothly without bogging it down. Keep it up.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) sweetgirl 2008-11-01 11:55:00 AM

    Great chapter. I am really interested in how Theo, Neville and Harry became friends. Are you going to show everyone's reaction to Harry leaving?
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2008-11-01 02:51:44 PM

    Pretty good update. It's good to see Harry questioning his decision to trust Theo over Hermione, even though the answer is fairly obvious. It IS a bit strange, though, that Harry wouldn't insist on Theo telling him why he doesn't like Voldemort.

    Looking forward to more.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Wolfric 2008-11-01 10:02:16 PM

    Good chapter. I'm glad Buckbeak is rescued. I look forward to everybodys reaction to Harry's departure. Thanks for writing. W.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Maxtaf 2008-11-02 03:07:15 PM

    Excellent work. Quite unique. What I find very interesting is the way Blake's new school friends seem to defer to him as the leader, even though they are quite powerful beings in their own right. I'm getting the feeling that while wizards and witches tend to build their power structure based more on wealth and political power, magical beings seem to be far more in tune with magical power and potential power. Which would explain why Ryan, amoung others, wasn't demonstrating his Alpha status - he subconsciously (or consciously) recognized a superior Alpha. Physical size isn't the determining factor, as Ryan demonstarted by assuming Alpha over larger werewolves.

    I'm getting a feeling of similarity here between Harry/Blake and Anita Blake. Both starting out small, both developing more power/powers as they progress, and both getting the respect/reverence from the community of magical beings (and technically being one themselves). I also see Ryan as more of a Anita Blake style were, than a JKR. Then there is the similarity in names, Blake. Is this all coincidence, or a tip of the hat to a writer you respect?
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) lycus 2008-11-03 09:21:20 AM

    That was an excellent, And I can't wait to read the back story on how Theo became friends with Harry and Neville. And as far as Harry trusting Theo more than Hermione, That is just not the case Harry trust Hermione with his life, But the thing is that she worries so much about him that when he needs help that she doesn't think that she can provide her next reaction is to go to an adult who she thinks can, and since she has grown up being able to trust adults that is what happens when Harry isn't there. And the only reason that he didn't ask her is that she lives in a non-magical house and it would be strange for her to just show up at headquarters and all of a sudden Buckbeak disappears, And in her worry for Harry she would tell Dumbledore witch he doesn't want. but if it was a situation where she could actively help her man she would do it in a heartbeat.
  • Shades of Gray

    (#) Kain_boa 2008-11-05 01:33:54 AM

    great chapter as usual, can't wait to find out how theo nott became a friend of both neville and harry.

    keep up the great work :)

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 643198
  • Stories: 40575

Recent Stories