Categories > Books > Lord of the Rings > The Manly Approach

The Manly Approach

by Rous 3 Reviews

A man was in charge. What if a woman had had a say in things? Could be considered a parody. Same warnings hold for the 'LOTR Condensed' story. A/N If you do not understand the drabble, before r...

Category: Lord of the Rings - Rating: G - Genres: Drama, Humor - Characters: Other - Published: 2006/03/23 - Updated: 2006/03/23 - 99 words - Complete

Reviews

  • The Manly Approach

    (#) ann_arien 2006-04-01 08:34:41 AM

    Lol, I loved the last line! So, so true... You've made me ponder about what I would have done if I were in Isildur's shoes... Short walk to the fire, all right, and then a quick run to get the heck out of there.

    OT: I know you want to leave this archive and I agree with you on the fact that the rating system bites big time, but there are readers who can appreciate drabbles and your work certainly does not deserve the ratings it's been getting. Stay a while longer, use your rating points for good purposes, metarate the stupid behinds of creeps who don't even read something before slapping on a crude rating... and see what happens. That's what I'm going to do and if things don't change in the future... I'll just wait and see.



    Author\'s Response: Yes, my twisted little mind could not leave it alone. I know a woman would have seen the future and not allowed him to keep the ring.As for leaving, I am giving it more time. I would not say that I am a person who moves too rashly. Besides, leaving now would look like I was running off with my tail between my legs. At least I can say I gave it a try.Thank you for the review. I am glad you liked it.
  • The Manly Approach

    (#) armourdude 2006-04-04 05:31:56 PM

    Almost to short for a review. But still insightful.

    But you know, I still have to think that a woman would'nt ditch a gold ring like that. She would have to first consider if it would go with her wardrobe.



    Author\'s Response: Ah, but considering all that was at stake, I have to think a woman would be more practical. She would not be as likely to keep it as payment for a death, nor would she be as likely to think she could control it. Of course, there are exceptions. Just some musings on a woman's perspective. LOL
  • The Manly Approach

    (#) Rhapsody 2006-05-26 10:33:18 AM

    Oh Rous I adore this drabble LOL and it is still cracking me up! It makes you wonder how the events around the Ring War would have gone if the women were in charge! Excellent writing Rous, as always!

    Author's response

    Hee-hee. It is kind of humorous. Women, if not for them, the world would probably be a cinder by now. I have a few other twisted ones, but I am not posting them here; they are not appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Welcome, as always.
  • The Manly Approach

    (#) Gandalfs_apprentice 2006-08-05 10:05:15 PM

    I liked this common-sense twist on Isildur's story. On the other hand, I really don't think women are smarter than men. As a generality, it's not true. We're all about equally foolish sometimes.

    Author's response

    I also do not think either are smarter than the other, just different with different perspectives and ways of handling things. You have to admit that that men tend to be more rush in and handle things physically and women are more down to earth and common senseish.
  • The Manly Approach

    (#) Emilie_D 2006-12-19 04:20:33 PM

    I suppose some men might be offended by this assumption, but I absolutely adore it. "Ring in hand, short walk to the fire, what is the problem?"

    Thanks!

    Author's response

    Thank you! Just my thoughts on what a woman MAY have done. Common sense, huh?
  • The Manly Approach

    (#) EatThePath 2007-10-17 11:06:25 AM

    I'm not sure about this one so much. A bit of retreading the same ground as LOTR condensed, I suppose, which isn't nessisairly a bad thing. But the implication, that all men would do what Isildur did and all women would not, rubs me the wrong way. I expect that's not the sense you intended to give, but it's what I'm getting. As a male, I find Isildur's actions pretty short sighted and dumb, and agree with your 'woman's viewpoint'. But I'm pretty weird, so maybe it's just me.

    I also just noticed metarating isn't working. Doh! I'd certainly have some to do on some of your stories if it was.

    Author's response

    Well, I am not sure which was written first. However, if I remembered to post it, fairly all of my drabbles were written either in YIM groups or for challenges at another site.

    As for the POV, I am aware that neither side of the coin is an absolute. Most of these are written on the fly, that is how the YIM sessions work: everyone in the group (usually 3 to 8 people) give a random word and everyone has to use all the words in the drabble. It can get quite interesting. So, not as much thought is put in as in the challenges. This just popped into my head after seeing the first movie.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 480879
  • Stories: 40142

Recent Stories