Categories > Celebrities > My Chemical Romance > Parents Suck. Again.

Parents Suck. Again.

by lostmyfearoffalling 12 Reviews

Wow. Can you believe she did it again?

Category: My Chemical Romance - Rating: PG-13 - Genres:  - Characters:  - Published: 2009/07/14 - Updated: 2009/07/18 - 362 words

Reviews

  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) OverlordDiB 2009-07-14 08:33:23 PM

    You may not care much...but i have a little story of my own.
    Ever since i was little i would have these terrible break downs. of all sorts. from being crazy depressed...to well throwing a fit...I thought i grew out of it but this year I was going through a pretty tough time and i just broke down. i was talking to myself, pacing around my room, throwing things. I was a mess. My Dad burst into my room just as "I'm not okay" started to play. So i was sitting on the floor not totally listening to my dad and just as he stapos for a second, "I'm not o-fucking-kay" burst out of my speakers.(i was blasting the music so it didn't help the cause) My dad blamed the music i was listening to. He said it was oging to make me want to take my life. He didn't even know what i was listening to or anything about MCR. I was so hurt. What he said made my fit even worse because MCR has saved my life so many times.
    I see what oyu mean about parents not getting it.

    Author's response

    Acutally, part of the reason I put this up was to hear stories from other people.

    I've got a similar issue with my mom, because she thinks that the darkness of the music (not that she's ever taken the time to listen to me talk about it, or listen to the music) changed me negatively, because I'm not her Barbie now. I'm my own person more than I ever have been, and truly that is because of MCR. But she doesn't see it that way.

    I totally understand about how angry it makes you when your parents blame the music. It's like a smack in the face when they blame the people that saved you.

    Hopefully we can continue to hang on through MCR, and fuck anyone who tries to stop us.
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) shehadtheworld12 2009-07-14 08:35:31 PM

    You are not alone, my parents don't understand either and it hurts because they are band who mean so much to me, and of course it hurts like a bitch when someone insults them. My stepdad likes to call them fags or gay, even though he's joking, he's still a dick about it, [further proving your point, about immaturity] and I truly don't appreciate it, becuase music is all I have left in this world. But I just want to say that I totally understand how you feel, because I'm not even allowed to see MCR.

    Author's response

    I get so defensive, because I'm just a naturally defensive person, but for MCR I get really upset, especially because I have better sense then to put down something someone cares about as much as I care about MCR. I'm not allowed to see them either, but I'm probably gonna sneak out of secretly have my dad take me to see a concert whenever they come next.
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) xwhippyx 2009-07-14 08:54:26 PM

    can i just say that not all parents are like this!
    Im 42 and fucking love MCR it was my teenage daughter that got me into them in the first place. and yes all these comments about their music making you want to harm yourself is a crock of shit.

    Hun you do the canvas and do Gerard justice, if you post a pic of it anywhere let me know so i can have a look

    Author's response

    You're awesome! You're like what I wish my mom was. I will post a pic of it, on deviantart when I am done. Right now I did his shirt, his hand, half the microphone and part of his jacket. i'll let you know when I'm done. Thanks! xoxox
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) kelly-khaos 2009-07-14 09:03:05 PM

    I agree with everything you said. Seeing as my dad's the exact same way. Whenever I say anything about them he has some stupid remark.
    He just doesn't understand how much Gerard, Mikey, Bob, Ray, and Frank mean to me and so many other people. I think it's just so wrong to say mean things about a band that has helped so many people.

    Author's response

    I really don't think that people can accurately grasp how much MCR has done and how they save lives until they've experianced it themselves. But honestly, as adults, parents should be above that, especially when it's a band that has obviously helped their child. Oh well. I agree with you completely.
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) IeroMyHeroMCR 2009-07-14 09:08:07 PM

    See my parents are opposite of this. They let me listen to them they don't care. They let me base my room off of the Mexico masks that are hanging up in my room. But on the other hand my mom will call me a whore in front of my friends because i had a little make up smeared that i was trying to take off but was rushed out the door (haha you were there). Or i hear screaming and yelling all night. I understand your problems though your mom is a total fucking beotch that i'm going to punch one day... when i have a car and can drive away reallllly fast haha!!!!

    Author's response

    Hahah. I remember that. That was acutally funny (sorry babe it's the truth!) I will help you punch my mom! Love you darlin! xoxox
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) vampyGee 2009-07-14 09:19:32 PM

    trust me your not the only one in this situation my mom hates mcr! my sister thniks gerard is ugly and she is so wrong, cool, your drawing gerard, good luck withthat. but yeah, your not alone, and ignore your mom she just will never get how awesome gerard way really is, i luv gee too

    Author's response

    Yeah I hate when people say Gerard is ugly! Thanks! He's coming out well I think, but he has no face yet haha. I am ignoring her; I didn't even say anything when she made that horrible comment last night. She won't get it, and I don't want her too. It's something that's way over her shallow little head. Thanks! xoxox
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) E-JayLovesGerard 2009-07-14 09:22:53 PM

    My mums pretty cool. When i have the CD's on, she'll sing alon with Teenagers and Famous Last words, seeing as out of all 3 CD's, those are the only songs she knows.
    She leaves me be with what i like. though she has complained about the stacks of drawings i've done of Gerard. Not cause they're of him, coz they tend to move... a lot :D not my fault!
    Mt dad on the other hand. he calls them emos.... but its all in "good" fun. He's just not happy i've slowed my '80s stream down.

    anyways, just did this for no apparent reason.

    xox E

    Author's response

    Hahaha. You're mom does sound cool! I wish my mom would let me be. Haha. I know what you mean. I have drawings in every single room of my house!

    My dad is amazing actually! He bought me my first t-shirt, LOTMS, and took me to get the Black Parade is Dead! He always speaks very highly of them, and he knows all their names and birthdays and personalities and stuff! It's great.

    You don't have to have a reason! :D
    xoxox
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) nadialexandra 2009-07-14 10:16:37 PM

    Well, fuck. My dad's like that. But he's a deadbeat, jailbait piece of shit that I only care for for his child support checks so we don't get evicted at the end of the month, anyways. So I don't mind him.

    My stepdad has no problem with them; he just gets annoyed that I talk about them nonstop, and that I "waste money" on merch, posters and conerts, and that he feels I'm "spending time caring about five men who don't know you exist; two of which who are older than your mother." And he absolutely hates their music. Actually, he thinks they're "emo garbage that'll wind up causing thousands of you stupid kids to kill themselves over nothing." He's cool, but Ihate him for that. He can just tolerate it 'cause I don't give him a hard time for getting my mom pregnant with the spawn of Satan (a.k.a my little brother).

    My mom, though. She's cool. She takes me to concerts, buys me merch and all that. Actually, she's the one who got me into MCR. (Odd, isn't it? The mother gets the daughter into a modern band. haha.) And, yes, she's younger than Gerard and Ray. She actually has Gerard's birthday; but 1978, not '77. So she's a year younger. She thinks she's cool 'cause she listens to them, and goes to concerts with me. xD She just hates that I'm making holes in my wall by hanging up posters. hah.

    soyeah. my parents are really... weird. o_+

    but I suggest you tell your mother to pull the stick out and continue with the painting of Gerard.


    xoxo
    nadia

    Author's response

    I'm sorry about your real dad! T.T Whenever I hear people say stuff like that it makes me feel like a bitch for whining, because I could be so much worse off.

    Hahahaha. My mom basically says the same shit your stepdad does.

    Yeah, my dad is prety similar to your mom. Except he's older hahha. That's wicked your mom has Gee's birthday!

    I didn't say anything to my mom, but I'm painting Gee for sure!!!!

    Thanks!

    xoxox
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) _Amy_Revenge_ 2009-07-14 11:29:19 PM

    I totally get you! My mom used to hate them so much, but after a while she started liking their music. Sure, she didn't like the cussing-face it, as much as parents USE it, they don't like OTHERS using it- but she got over that after I told her how much they helped-at first, anyway.

    I used to be so totally obsessed with Gerard and the rest of the guys, I decorated the entire front half of my dresser with lyrics and stuff that they came up with. Mom didn't like it, but meh. They never do.

    I really don't even know if I have a point to write this, but whatever. At least I got it out of my system and shyt. But think on this: parents, no matter how dumb or retarded they act sometimes, always know what's best for their kids. And usually what's best, we don't wanna hear. My mom told me for the longest time how listening to depressing "emo" music would make me depressed, and what do you know-listening to The Used and MCR totally made me realize how f^cked up the world is, and ultimately, I got depressed. Because everything the guys sing about, and everything they're against, is depressing. But it's the truth.

    And now, I think I have a moral to this story: Parents just want to protect their children. They want them to always depend on them, no matter how many times they say "Why don't you get a life" or "You make me tired" or whatever. Most of the time they're actually saying "I love you, and I don't want you to ever be sad."

    I don't know if any of this makes sense to you, or anybody else, but it makes a whole lot of sense to me. I stopped listening to MCR for my entire freshman year, and I was the happiest I'd ever been in my entire 16(almost) years of life. It was amazing.

    REVENGE

    Author's response

    See, my mom doesn't listen to, or try to respect or appreciate anything that isn't on the radio station she listens to that plays the same fifty songs over and over. Haha, I'm not allowed to decorate my room with their stuff. I used to have pictures of them on the back of my door and she made me take them down.

    I totally get what you are saying,but I take what I learn from the music and say, "Fuck it. The world sucks. I'll try and change that, or at least a little bit." I take the truth as a challange, rather than something to get upset over.

    Also, I get what you are saying about parents, however that is kind of tainted for me. Because when she's saying that stuff, it's not what's really best for me. It's what's best for her to use for the kid she wishes that I was. I agree that she doesn't want me to be sad, but sometimes I think thats more because she's afraid that I'll become a depressed freak. I don't know, I just don't think she has the best intrests for me. I think they're more for her...but whatever. I do understand where you're coming from though. I'm glad you said it.
  • Parents Suck. Again.

    (#) Harlequingurl95 2009-07-15 09:11:46 AM

    I know how you feel!
    My mom and dad keep telling me to turn it off or somethin and wen i dnt my bro blasts out his r'n'b shite (not all r'n'b iz shite jus the stuff he listenz 2 is) and coz i listen 2 em my sister thinks i cut... my frendz think i'm depressed coz of em wen it'z actually my ex bf tht haz made me tht way... anywayz i draw ALOT of picturez most of them of mcr, i get picked on sumtymz at skool coz of it but if i'm honest i dnt giv a flying fuck!
    if my parentz can listen 2 their muzik y cant i listen 2 myn?

    if u post a pic of the drawing off Gerard tell me where i can see it and dont listen 2 ur mom! She's jus jeluz tht u didnt paint her but instead u painted Gerard ^^

    HG95
    xXx

    Author's response

    My dad is amazing about it, so it makes up for my mom. He's more amazing than she is bad so..it works. That's rather dysfunctional.

    I hate all the cliches that come we being a fan, and all the things people assume about you if you say you like MCR. People always make fun of me for drawing them and writing down the lyrics and stuff, but what the hell! It's actually funny, because all my guy friends know who all the guys in MCR are. Especially Gee! You should be able to listen to whatever you want to! I don't get how people can make double standards like that. It pisses me off.

    Haha. I'll put the painting on deviantart and then when I'm done I'll put this up again and add a new chapter with the link! Thanks!

    xoxox

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 651629
  • Stories: 39931

Recent Stories