Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry's Second Chance

Fudge Tosses His Cookies

by DrT 11 Reviews

The Last Battle has been fought, and Harry Potter has won. The price, however, has been high. Nearly every person Harry cared for is dead, maimed, or otherwise injured. The magical culture of Bri...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Drama - Characters: Arthur Weasley, Bellatrix, Dumbledore, Fudge, Harry, Hermione, Lucius, Lupin, Narcissa, Sirius, Voldemort - Warnings: [!!] - Published: 2006/06/10 - Updated: 2006/06/10 - 3065 words

Reviews

  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) Lira_Snape 2006-06-10 05:41:37 AM

    Interesting chapter. Looking forward to the next one.
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2006-06-10 06:02:17 AM

    I'm starting to have difficulty keeping the timeline straight. Have they even gone to Hogwarts yet?

    At any rate, good chapter, as always. I liked the details of Voldemort's new appearance, as well as the changes you made in Fudge.

    Author's response

    ??? Well, they haven't returned to Hogwarts from Yule break, if that's what you mean.

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) JBern 2006-06-10 06:33:06 AM

    Decent transitional chapter. Filled with chunks of interesting material, not alot of action, but still entertaining. Jim
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) BenRG 2006-06-10 06:45:11 AM

    Well, it seems that with Lucius away, the Light side will play. If they can get the Werewolves and giants to accept thse proposals, they will have managed to undercut two of the most likely sources of dark recruits.

    I still say 'yuck' about Bellatrix's sacrifice, you know. x-o

    I wonder what Sirius' game is. I doubt that he really espouses Wizarding supremicy or a complete seperation of worlds. This means that he needs Lucius' help for something. The question is... what?

    Looking forward to seeing more.

    BenRG's Rating: 7/10

    Author's response

    Huge over-simpliflication -- the main reason is if Sirius can get this less-radical idea established as the Pure-Blood agenda (and with Lucius' backing, it might work), you've undercut the more bigoted stance. You've adjusted the political field and the center has moved to a more liberal position. Moderates and liberals will still hate the position, but it's still an improvement. And the Pure-bloods move towards primarily defending their culture (which moderates may like) rather than primarily their Blood-lines. It gives the Pure-bloods a more defendable position, which is why Lucius will go along, even if he doesn't like it.

    This version of Lucius would rather win a moderated position than lose his real position.

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) newdye 2006-06-13 09:38:23 PM

    Do something to get rid of Umbridge.
    Get rid of Beatrix.
    Destroy Voldermort by having Harry drop him in a volcano.
    Or maybe you could have Harry put Voldie in a rocket and blast him to Pluto or the sun.
    Good story.
    Update.
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) newdye 2006-06-13 09:46:14 PM

    If you keep Fudge tossing his cookies then he won't have any more cookies to toss.
    Get rid of the toad woman.
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) newdye 2006-06-13 09:46:53 PM

    C is for cookie,
    that's good enough for me.
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) brad 2006-06-21 05:52:18 AM

    Just in response to your question as to my review to chapter 16, seeing as how I never put in a review for it's predecessor here, chapter 15 - yes, I noticed and appreciated both the H/Hr moments in this chapter; Hermione comforting Harry while he slept, and her vow of support. And liked them both - I love H/Hr. But I thought the 'stroking hair' here, etc, took place in a stressful situation, Harry having survived a crisis and suffered injury, and was appropriate in the extraordinary circumstances. That's why I was surprised when, the next chapter, they're in quite open and obvious boyfriend/girlfriend mode during 'normal' schooltime (even if they're still only pre-pubescent kids and there's nothing sexual about it). The chapter 16 scene was nice, I was just surprised they'd gone that far that fast; when they'd last talked about their relationship they'd agreed to put a hold on things until at least 3rd year. Of course that talk was more about the sexual side to a relationship, maybe.

    Frankly, I think it would have been nice somewhere to have some thoughts, an aside, by one or both of them as to where/how their relationship was going. Harry surprised that he and Hermione had bonded together so fast, his pleasure that he and Hermione were getting on so much better this time around maybe. One of your comments in the reviews earlier on - that, in this second-time-around version of Harry, Hermione has found everything she needs in a leader and friend - has always stuck with me; perhaps we could have read her ruminating about exactly that herself. I'm pretty sure you voiced that sentiment in a review response, not in the main story. It would be nice to see how she'd phrase it, not being privy to the first timeline.

    The opening of chapter 16 was just a bit of a surprise, to me, given the above. A welcome surprise, but still a surprise.

    Cheers, Brad.

    Author's response

    I'm sure you're right. I have to admit, even I'm not totally happy about the pacing in this story, it's pretty much hitting the highlights as they develop instead of all the developments themselves. If I could squeeze out another 6,000 words or so, I might just be able to ship out the chapters every few days. That might help as well

    "T"
  • Harry's Second Chance

    (#) TxA_GunFighter 2006-09-09 10:05:05 AM

    Good story.

    gunny

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0