Categories > Books > Harry Potter

Untitled

by LabRat 13 Reviews

New twist on an old story...I think.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Angst - Characters: Harry - Warnings: [!!!] [V] [?] - Published: 2012/05/25 - Updated: 2012/05/25 - 10646 words

Reviews

  • Untitled

    (#) jadesabrexiv 2012-05-25 10:30:07 AM

    Interesting start to a promising story. I have a few questions for you however:

    1-Is there going to be any interaction between Harry and Luna?

    2-Are you going to have Hermione have any further role in this series? A pen pal or something similar would fit. (Hr is my favorite character.)

    3-What is the level of interaction between Harry and the other members of the Weasley family? You have already laid the foundation for Mo/Ron/'s role as an arse, but what about the twins and Bike Ginny?

    4-How do you plan to get rid of Lockheart? The method in Canon won't work here. Maybe a Bludger accident?

    5-Is there going to be problems with Lupin and Harry during year 3?

    Sorry I am being long-winded, but I am in the middle of a long commute and this is an entertaining way to kill time. I look forward to the next chapter and am on the way to look at what else you have on this site.

    Thanks JSX

    Author's response

    1. very minimum

    2. another review has actually made me consider that penpal idea

    3. The interaction will mostly be that they're just like any other student in the house, except the Weasley twins are at least friendly.

    4. Lockhart will get his, you'll see.

    5. Not really sure how I'll play that one.
  • Untitled

    (#) Circaea 2012-05-25 11:21:37 PM

    One minor note -- sorry it's not a real review. In canon, Dippet was still alive at the point you have Harry start talking to his portrait.

    Since you will no doubt have readers even more obsessive than me, you might want to explain that one way or the other. E.g., say why there was a portrait of a living person and assert that it was possible, or change it to a different headmaster. Or just have Harry exchange letters with Dippet directly.

    Author's response

    Wrong. Dippet died in late 1992, which could be considered Oct-Dec. Since the Chamber was opened on Halloween, if Dippet had died in say early November, then it would have been entirely plausible if Harry had done so after that fact. But since I know there are serious uber fanatics about things like this, just to be a compete dick, Armando Dippet died on October 31, 1992, at the exact same time as Mrs. Norris became petrified.
    Besides, no one ever said the person had to be dead for the portrait to activate. They could activate as soon as their likenesses tenure as Hogwarts Head ends. It could entirely be a coincidence that all of the other Headmasters and Headmistresses tenure ended by death, and Dippet is the only one who'd actually gotten the chance to actually retire.
  • Untitled

    (#) Cateagle 2012-05-26 07:24:28 PM

    Interesting concept with a few changes causing considerable variation from canon as they ripple down through time. 'Twill be most interesting to see further repurcussions and how they affect Remus, Sirius, and others ('twill be most interesting to see how this version of Harry interacts with Tom). I do hope, because I like her character, that Hermione remains at least a small part of Harry's life.

    Author's response

    Well, I can say that Sirius lovers might hate me for how the third year turns out.

    I wasn't planning on Hermione being a part at all, but I guess they can be penpals or something.
  • Untitled

    (#) aredphxbird2 2012-05-28 03:28:38 PM

    I like your take on Harry's life in this story so far.I know Harry ended up with the diary,but I am assuming the previous student is alright mentally after getting rid of it.Awaiting next update.

    Author's response

    Yeah, I figure Ginny got better.
  • Untitled

    (#) jabarber69 2012-05-28 03:35:15 PM

    WoW, great story....except you ought to come up with a title for it! I started reading and couldnt stop, but sadly I came to the end of the prologue....love this version of the hp story definitely want to see more....

    maybe you ought to see if they could come up with a spell to make myrtle solid or alive for short periods of time at least in say a couple of years so then they could you know snog and maybe shag in the chamber in later years while harry becomes the headmaster they would have years and years of time together....

    Author's response

    I can't think of a good title for it.

    As for Myrtle, I have plans for her.
  • Untitled

    (#) Zenathea 2012-05-30 01:39:29 PM

    I like it so far. It's an interesting take on how Harry might have turned out had he been even more distrustful of adults and hadn't befriended Ron or Hermione. Surprising, I do like Myrtle in this. I usually don't much care for her, as she tends to come across as annoying, but I like the character that you gave her. Anyways, keep up the good work. I'll be looking for an update.

    Author's response

    I always thought that Myrtle was another underappreciated character. And believe me when I say, things will only get more interesting, especially once they realize that Harry is far from easily forgiving.
  • Untitled

    (#) Rob 2012-05-31 05:21:40 PM

    Very good so far. Minor point, it's Rhodes scholar, not roads.

    Author's response

    Thanks for telling me that. Although, since I'm too lazy to g and change it, I'm just going to go with the excuse that Harry only heard the phrase in passing. Since he could deduce what it meant- having heard it reference about his cousin- he could use it, but he didn't know how to actually spell it or anything.
  • Untitled

    (#) sweetgirl 2012-06-03 08:15:08 PM

    Like the story! Hoep you continue it.
  • Untitled

    (#) MysteryOfOrigin 2012-06-15 05:48:04 AM

    The story has a great start to it. I can't wait to see where this story leads to.
  • Untitled

    (#) cold9 2012-07-25 11:22:00 AM

    I'm looking forward to an update. I've always been a fan of most of your work.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 633675
  • Stories: 40446

Recent Stories