Categories > Books > Harry Potter

Newton's Third Law of Magic

by DrT 33 Reviews

If ‘for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction’ were partially applied to magic….

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione,Snape - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2012/08/03 - Updated: 2012/08/03 - 6307 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) erik 2012-08-03 06:58:13 AM

    A well written and intriguing what if following the Dementor attack.

    Author's response

    Wow, thanks for the quick review!
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) red_jacobson 2012-08-03 07:14:01 AM

    Nice; always a pleasure to see a new story from you Doc!

    Red

    Author's response

    thanks for the quick review!
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) banner 2012-08-03 07:30:17 AM

    That was a nice surprise to start my day. I love getting to see Snape and Dumbledore get their comeuppance - it just feels good.

    The slightly downbeat notes that are a permanent result of the attack on Harry make sense, and you've made it plain that Harry's life hasn't been ruined by them.

    Thanks!
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) Rob 2012-08-03 01:46:00 PM

    Nice little fic! Glad to see more from you.
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) daled73 2012-08-03 04:34:06 PM

    We all love to see a new story fro Dr. T. Of course, longer is better, but even little snacks like this keep out appetites whetted.
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) TimeMage 2012-08-03 04:59:07 PM

    Very nice story! I quite enjoyed it!

    Do you have another longer story in the works?

    You are one of my favorite authors and I look forward to your next story.
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) silvereagle 2012-08-03 05:45:47 PM

    Hey nice story. i have read all of your stories and i really like them. i hope that you can write some more soon. i especially like those stories that involve harry and the druids (old believers) and how they interact to change the world. keep up the good writing.
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) brad 2012-08-03 07:09:22 PM

    Hey, he's back! Yay!

    (I was thinking the other month that it would be nice if a story from you materialised somehow, some time.)

    I think Rowling's pronouncement from Dumbledore in DH - that it was "essential that Harry be let live, to test his strength" - is one of the most shameful attempts to pull the wool over the readers' eyes that I've ever encountered. It was her one-sentence attempt to answer those of her readers who were sitting back - on being told that Harry had been a horcrux all along, destined to be a sacrifical lamb, NOT the slayer of the evil dark lord - wondering "well, why in blazes have we been reading seven books about his adventures, if he was just supposed to die anyway?".

    I prefer your explanation. That Dumbledore was (rightly) afraid that he would be indicted for murder. I'd never realised that!

    I like your (Dumbledore's) observation that Harry's blood contribution rendered the lauded Dursley 'protection' worthless. But no-one in the books realised it! Heh. That's because the author never worked it out either. Sadly typical of the tunnel vision of the last few books, where none of the characters (like our Hermione) were allowed to have any creative ideas that either (a) Rowling never realised herself (not wanting to explore other possibilities) or (b) sundered the poor plot that Rowling wanted to write.

    I love the idea of the Dementors being especially attracted to Harry because of his saturated soul payload. :-) I'm not sure I've ever seen that wrinkle before in a fan fiction story. I doubt Rowling had a clue about that possiblity - or that she even knew what a Horcrux was back when she wrote PoA.

    As always I like the H/Hr friendship hints that you embed into your work, the 'corrections' that make their canon relationship even stronger. Like the idea that she did write to Harry in his fifth summer (but her missives were censored in their transmission). Nice.

    The actual mechanics of taking down Voldemort is a bit of a stretch ... I think I enjoyed all the sidereal bits more than your main event!

    As to the future ... a bit sad that Harry might no longer be able to enjoy magic. Maybe he can be healed rather than remain as a handicapped wizard?

    And forget about using Fawkes to send letters, Hermione ... you'll be able to visit your best friend in person, phoenix!teleporting to Harry whenever you like, yay!

    Nice to see something from you doctor! Thanks for writing it.

    Author's response

    RE: dementor bait -- I think the idea of Harry's Horcrux causing his dementor-attraction has been mentioned in passing before, both by myself and others. Now one point I haven't seen before was the idea that Dumbledore made up the idea that having a phoenix showed how 'light' you were, and it passed into the references as fact. (Of course, considering the huge amount of fan fics out there, many have probably written that, but I just haven't read those)

    I think the part about draining the DEs makes perfect sense, but agree that it directly affecting V was a bit of a stretch, but possible. that's why Bones thought it might work, but wasn't certain.

    And who knows, maybe Harry's condition will heal itself over time!

    I'm sure Hermione will keep a close check on him!
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) mrpietan 2012-08-03 08:19:44 PM

    Nicely done...
  • Newton's Third Law of Magic

    (#) Cateagle 2012-08-04 12:47:48 AM

    As usual, a most enjoyable story from you. I like the mixture of good and bad effects on Harry; real life is generally messy that way. I rather suspect that Hermione will be communicating with Harry by more than just letters, given her new access to fast transportation.

    I'll admit, I do rather hope that a cure for his condition can be found.

    That was a most unique use of Snape and he did it to himself; no one forced him to take that action. I have to wonder how that draining effect through the mark affected other Death Eaters? 'Twould be amusing if Tom ended up signing their death warrants, too.

    Author's response

    I imagined it as affecting DEs exactly like Snape, although for a shorter time and to a slightly lesser degree. Suspected DEs were in custody, and were under observation. Those that did show the Mark would be questioned under truth potions -- no 'imperious defense' allowed!

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

  • Hindsight
    by loralee1 (PG-13)

    AU, A post HBP Snape travel back in time to warn a pre SS/PS Snape about his future in the hopes tha...

    In: Harry Potter

Site Stats

  • Authors: 490156
  • Stories: 40149

Recent Stories