Categories > Celebrities > My Chemical Romance > How To Write A Story

How To Write A Story

by RoseFrankiie 29 Reviews

A brief guide on the basics of written work - New readers, old readers! Question at the end (in bold): check it out!

Category: My Chemical Romance - Rating: PG - Genres: Angst,Humor - Characters:  - Warnings: [!] - Published: 2012/06/06 - Updated: 2012/08/04 - 1920 words - Complete

Reviews

  • How To Write A Story

    (#) detonationmouse 2012-06-06 02:26:12 PM

    I really liked thus. ;) I do need some writing help. It was kinda funny, too.

    xx Allie :3

    Author's response

    Oh good, I was kind of worried I'd written the number one thing that would get me hated by most people on this site! XD
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) Shiwoggi 2012-06-06 02:55:30 PM

    ALL OF MY YES.

    This irritates me so much - someone putting "I'm crap at summaries, please just read?" means I just skip over it until I find something that sounds mildly interesting. Or a story that, you know, actually has a summary. That makes sense.

    (Does it annoy you when a summary is a horribly obvious question, and you know what the fuck is going to happen? For example, "Frank meets Gerard on his first day. What will happen between them?" and then has "FRERARD" in the summary. Yeah, great, thanks, I know what's going to happen now. I could imagine the whole plot line. SKIPPING THAT.)

    And the spelling and grammar! I'm by no means perfect (not by a long shot), but there is no excuse to you abbreviations like "u" or "r", unless a character is texting someone. Or forgetting capital letters, which everyone should of learnt the use of by the time they were seven. Or over using them.

    I don't care if a story has the best plot ever, if it isn't paragraphed or shit as well, it makes my head hurt, and then I have quit it as well. Please put that in, because I know some people complained to me about that for one of my stories; that the paragraphs were too large. Spaces are crucial, especially when reading on screens like we all are.

    Sorry about that, it's just that this is brilliant, and I agree with literally all of it. And it needed to be said :D

    Author's response

    I know what you mean about paragraphs. Check the end of the post again XD
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) XEvil_AngelX 2012-06-06 04:54:13 PM

    I like this, some need to read it (me being one of them, :P) but yeah, people shouldn't EVER get angry (just pointing that out 'cause I think you need to know, just in case some ego-manical bro comes along and starts acting all cool like), but yeah, it's true, I for one like summaries too
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) BleedingValentine 2012-06-07 04:05:37 AM

    Thank you! Some people REALLY need to learn this, thank you for posting the guide. I knew all of this but some people sure as hell don't. Thank you, and I hope the people who need to learn this get it into their skulls.

    BleedingValentine xx

    Author's response

    Haha! I know, right? I'm just sick of seeing some kids who can't write trying to cause a scene because they got some bad reviews.
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) AdnarimSmada 2012-06-07 04:19:58 AM

    Hey man, you should really send this over to TiffanyRose.

    -Adnarim Smada

    Author's response

    I will be honest, I had her in my head when I wrote it :P I've actually sent an email to admin with loads of quotes to see if they'll get rid of her.
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) S-C-A-R-E-C-R-O-W 2012-06-07 04:25:28 AM

    Thanks dude. I'm thinking of posting this everywhere I have an account. :D

    Author's response

    Haha, awesome! Don't forget to credit me! Put me as @RoseDoesntDrink though... If you want, you can email me at rosefrankiie@hotmail.co.uk and I'll edit it a bit and send you a version that's less centred on FicWad and I'll add a section about disclaimers :)
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) reynoldssye 2012-06-07 05:23:03 AM

    Thanks so much for writing this ^_^ I'm glad you weren't a B with an itch about it :) A lot of people complain about stories on here and just plain insult everyone but you gave mass constructive criticism :D My older stories totally suck ass, no paragraphs, cliche story idea etc I felt like scrapping some of my newer fics as well but after reading this I feel like writing them again :D Though the summary for my fic kidnapped seems cliche to me lolz
    "(Frerard)All Frank did was go camping with his parents, so when he wakes up in an underground cell, he's more than a little confused" Eh, I'll change it at a later date :P

    Author's response

    That's fine for a summary, don't worry about it!
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) MCR_rawrr 2012-06-07 08:56:03 AM

    Thank you for getting this point across without seeming like a total bitch. I salute you.

    Author's response

    Haha, I tried my best! Thanks :)
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) Chemical_Loverox 2012-06-07 03:58:35 PM

    I know this may be a bit rude of me to ask and tell me if it is. But would you mind reading my story 'Sell Your Soul For A Chance At Love' ? Just to see if there is ANYTHING wrong, like spellings and such. I'm really bad a noticing things and even though i use spell check, sometimes wrods are still spelt wrong.

    If not, then it's all good. I don't want to come across as rude.

    I think what you've done is awesome, Adding something like this to the site to help people improve there writting.

    Much love
  • How To Write A Story

    (#) CrimsonRevenge 2012-06-10 08:42:54 PM

    This is fantastic! I hate when I try to read a story and the punctuation, grammar, and writing is just plain bad. Thank you so much for putting this up1

    Author's response

    Haha, it's so hard! Thank you :)

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 488665
  • Stories: 40147

Recent Stories