Categories > Books > Harry Potter > A THOUSAND YEARS

parts 25, 26 & 27

by Alorkin 14 Reviews

Harry frees Dobby and grabs the diary. Lucy sees the inside of a courtroom, and Dumbledore gets a nasty shock

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Drama - Characters: Dobby,Dumbledore,Harry,Lucius - Warnings: [!] - Published: 2013/08/19 - Updated: 2013/08/19 - 7960 words - Complete

Reviews

  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) makarva 2013-08-19 10:41:34 PM

    I hope you recover soon
    difficult to see your boss something happens
    they always have the right, are the voice of God on earth
    at least that happens around here
    the worker never wins =C

    Author's response

    Heya makarva.

    I’m healing. My arm is in a cast, and I’ll have to so some therapy, but it was a clean break. The ribs hurt like a bitch, especially when I’m sleeping, but I’ll live. While it may not go all my way, my fall will keep that from happening to someone else, at least in this area. This guy has had so many safety violations I’m surprised he’s still in business. According to the PA, he won’t be for long. We can only hope.

    Alorkin
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) Rob 2013-08-19 11:28:46 PM

    Sorry to hear about you fall and injury. Heal well.

    A good part of the story, so nice to see the good guys win. One of the reasons I prefer fiction to real life.

    Author's response

    Heya Rob.

    Thanks for your commiseration.
    Yeah, it does seem that fiction treats people better than RL. Although when you see my upcoming fic ‘One Tin Soldier’. You might think a bit differently about my methods…and my sanity.

    Alorkin
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) mwinter 2013-08-20 01:22:23 AM

    I do hope that you heal soon. Nice chapter. As always. Awaiting more.

    Author's response

    Healing is easy. It’s getting back to work that hurts.
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) goku90504 2013-08-20 02:51:12 AM

    I don’t believe a Death Eater can be forced to take the mark under Imperius.

    i buy not being able to cast the 3 unforgivables under the imperius but can't take the mark? it depends on the nature of the mark and how it's applied which from what i recall is never clearly described in canon

    Author's response

    Hello goku.

    And there is the crux of the matter. Rowling never said what is needed to take the mark. We only know that he can summon and punish his servants, he can track them (Karkaroff), and it hurts…a lot (Wormtail and Draco). Everything else is fanon. However, barring any conflicting information, I believe my argument is still valid. If the mark is tied to the soul, or the magic, it would take something as ugly as Dumbledore’s description of creating a horcrux to form that bond. I have to believe that that requires conscious thought.

    Alorkin
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) ladysavay 2013-08-20 03:57:37 AM

    I am so sorry to hear about your accident! I hope you finish healing very soon.

    Good stuff, here. I love your courtroom bits.

    I really hope Al is having a heart attack and hasn't thought up some kind of plan to either gain sympathy for his causes (or himself) or just get out of Dodge, as it were.

    Anxiuosly awaiting more. Thanks for writing.

    Author's response

    Heya ladysavay,

    Thanks for your kind words. What will come will come. Actually as I have broken seventy three bones during my life (not counting these four), it’s not all that big a deal for me anymore. It just hurts.

    Albie really did have a heart attack. I needed him in St. Mungo’s for his last confrontation with Harry, so when several people suggested I have him face the evidence of his stupidity, I figured ‘That’ll work!’ When he saw it, he realized he’d been played like a fish, and the strain was too much for his ticker. While there might be some sympathizers, (I mean, there are people who still believe GW Bush wasn’t a moron failing the course for idiot, third class.) he’s still dealing with that nasty dark arts curse to his hand. He ain’t got long for this (sic) world.

    More is coming.

    Alorkin
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) rb8 2013-08-20 02:21:11 PM

    Great story. Agree with all your points RE: imperius. Hope your recovery is going well. Get a good lawyer, preferably not one that has to advertise on TV!

    Author's response

    Heya rb8.

    Thanks. Happy to see you.
    Imperius: I can’t really see it any other way.

    I have a representitive. Since I’m a veteran and the VA here is better than most, my medical treatment is taken care of. As for legal, I might have dropped a bug in the local union rep’s ear. Even though I’m not union any more, I feel they can do more to get this clown off the streets than a single lawyer could. According to what I was told, they’re going for him losing his company, and the distinct possibility of never getting another license, rather than any specific payments to me. I can deal with that. Too many people have been hurt by his neglegence. It’s gotta stop.

    Alorkin
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) Teresa 2013-08-21 01:31:48 AM

    Alorkin, I hope that you are recovering well from your fall. Don't worry about posting right now, the important thing is regaining your health. As always, the chapter was excellent, and I enjoyed seeing Malfoy and Dumbles receive their well earned reality checks. Pity Lucy never considered that old saying about ditching one's lawyer and representing oneself, but he is the sort of idiot who'd make that mistake. I loved the name of his lawyer's firm! Seeing Moody was also nice, he's one of my favorite characters. He and Dobby are hilarious. Snape's trial should be interesting, and will Rita's article convince people to try dear Dumbles? If he recovers from that stroke or heart attack, that is. I wonder if he could be tried for treason or something since he fostered terrorists and their organization? He shares as much responsibility for the DE's victims as Voldy, or for that matter the victims of his old friend Gellert. As always, many thanks for the chapter! Take care of yourself now, and get well soon! :)

    Author's response

    Heya Teresa.

    I’m upright, and I’m breathing. I’m good.

    Believe it or not, posting gives me something to do. Also, continuing to use my fingers is good for the muscles, andthis cast allows me to do that. The ribs hurt though.

    Reality checks: That was fun writing, actually. You’ll note I used something from JEDI here. I came up with the Pureblood Exemptions to explain why the pureheads got away with murder; and I’d wanted to use that little snag before, but had nowhere to put it, so I found a spot in this story. You’ll probably find it again sometime. As for Dumbledore it was just a matter of time (and my reviewers kicking my ass until I did it.)

    ~Pity Lucy never considered that old saying about ditching one's lawyer and representing oneself, but he is the sort of idiot who'd make that mistake.~

    I think he saw it on Perry Mason.

    ~I loved the name of his lawyer's firm!~

    I have some more. Dewey, Cheatham and Howe. Conem, Grabbit and Runne. Bafflem, Snatchitt and Phlee. Fleecem, Snachitt and Dashe. Trickem, Takitt and Scamper…

    Moody is a good, if paranoid, cop, but Rowling never let him develop. A common failing in her universe. Dobby is one of my favorite characters to write.

    Snape’s trial: Will indeed be interesting.

    Remember Rita has already received some rather incriminating information on Snape, and by extension ‘dear’ Albie. There will be one more article on the MoB.

    Treason: I agree. Albie’s actions over the past thirty years are treason at best. (I’m not including Gellert in this assessment, as that opens a whole ‘nother can of worms.) He’s had the wherewithal to put an end to, or at the very least restrict Voldemort and his Death Eater movement, and has done nothing. In time of war that is, at the very least, ‘providing aid and succor to the enemy’.

    You are quite welcome and healing takes time, but it will happen.

    Alorkin
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) CootiePatootie 2013-08-21 01:49:20 AM

    Al...
    Holy carp! You have once again come up with a phenomenal idea and executed it flawlessly. Color me super duper impressed!
    I have to tell you the deez trials are really well written. I like the procedural emphasis and though the details are awful, they serve to underscore the sheer depravity and evil of those monsters!
    I will leave a more in depth review once I'm on my laptop; this tablet is not type-friendly!
    feel better and take no crap!
    Cassie aka CootiePatootie

    Author's response

    Heya CootiePatootie (That is the cutest line-name I’ve ever come across! My daughter thinks so too.)

    Holy carp? Are you sure it isn’t trout?

    Phenomenal: I like that. I’ve never been called phenomenal before.

    Deez tirals. Having been a police officer (Waaaaayyy back in the days of the dinosaurs) I’ve seen many cases thrown out through procedural negligence. The details are as repugnant to me as they are to you, but as you said, it shows what kind of scumbags the Dees really are. I feel Rowling did us a major disservice in trying to gloss over their crimes. A terrorist is a terrorist regardless his ‘cause’.

    I’ve never typed on a tablet. I built a good desktop, which I use for most things, and a laptop I picked up in a pawn shop for some things, but the tablets are outrageously expensive.

    No carp, Aye aye!

    Alorkin
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) zamia 2013-08-21 03:13:45 AM

    Wouldn't be surprised to see Dumbles take the easy way out. Liked Harry's response to Malfoy. About time the DE's got taken down. Take care & get well soon mate. Cheers.
    Z

    Author's response

    Heya Z!

    Would I do that to you? No, Dumbles is not getting away. Even if ‘Mione could synthesize a cure, Harry wouldn’t have it. The old man desperately needs to be chucked off this mortal coil.

    Malfoy: Ooh, yeah! I kinda liked the follow-up myself. Poor lucy!
    Deez: Too much for too long and people get fed up.

    I’m actually doing OK. My daughter is driving me buggy, asking me every five frickin minutes if I need something.

    OK. I’m better. Until next time…

    Alorkin
  • A THOUSAND YEARS

    (#) ralphmullins 2013-08-21 02:58:13 PM

    Awesome chapter I cant wait to see what the rest of the story brings. I wonder are you planing to bring up anything Harry did not find out about in the future. Like say Stargate or that he finds some new inherits.

    Author's response

    Heya ralphmullins.

    Thanks.

    Only two or three more chapters of this one. As to your question, I am not. I intend to end this on a happy note, with some implied mischief thrown in. As for Strgate, I saw the movie, thought it was awesome, saw the first season, thought it was OK, and then it went on one of the channels you have to buy a stupidly expensive package of three hundred channels…which my old antique Motorola won’t support anyway, which I thought sucked.

    Be that as it may be, I’m not familiar enough with Sttargate to do a credable job. The reason I was able to do the Star Wars cross, was that during my misspent youth, I’d read several of the early novels. When I was in the sandy part of the world (and whenever we weren’t on ops) there were more available, so I read them too.

    Alorkin

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 650926
  • Stories: 39931

Recent Stories