Categories > Books > Harry Potter

The Younger Potter Twin

by DrT 9 Reviews

The Heir of the Founders, the Heir of Merlin, needs to set the future straight -- by going back to 1971.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Drama, Romance - Characters: Bellatrix, Dobby, Dumbledore, Godric Gryffindor, Hagrid, Harry, Helga Hufflepuff, Hermione, James, Lily, Luna, Lupin, Mrs. Black, Petunia Dursley, Rowena Ravenclaw, Salazar Slytherin, Sirius, Snape, Tonks, Vernon Dursley, Voldemort - Warnings: [!!] - Chapters: 17 - Published: 2006/11/16 - Updated: 2007/08/12 - 60895 words - Complete

Reviews

  • The Younger Potter Twin

    (#) mfoolen 2006-11-21 05:36:22 AM

    hey drt
    do you perheps have a yahoo group account?

    Author's response

    I do, for notifications only:

    For update notifications:
    Subscribe: DrT_fanfiction-subscribe@yahoogroups.com
    Unsubscribe: DrT_fanfiction-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
  • The Younger Potter Twin

    (#) williamjameson 2007-11-08 08:27:46 PM

    this is a wonderful story i have read it three times and still enjoy it very much
  • The Younger Potter Twin

    (#) Soothingmadness 2007-12-12 10:46:33 AM

    I have read this story several times and greatly enjoyed it each time and will probably read it again eventually. Every time I reread the fist chapter I wonder if you ever thought of writing it with Harry possessing his aunts body instead.

    Author's response

    I have, but I never liked any scenarios. I just couldn't get into Harriet's head

    "T"
  • The Younger Potter Twin

    (#) fubar 2008-09-11 07:21:00 AM

    I have read several of your stories and have to give some hopefully helpful general critics.
    There's no doubt that you're really good in creating a logical background of the harry potter universe and are able to create a logical plot based on these developed guidelines.
    BUT your stories don't feel in any way involving because of several reasons I think.

    1) Instead of using a 3rd person view
    what somebody does a lot of times
    you should tell it through the actions of
    the person.
    It just reads like an info dump that way
    which doesn't allow the reader to immerse
    into the story.
    2) Probably related to 1)
    Your characters are mostly flat as the
    stories are too clinical and patronizing.
    There's no real emotion/drama involved
    because of 1)
    You create these through actions by the
    the characters and not by telling what
    the characters did do.
    3) Your action scenes lack any real
    depth. JBern(though mostly 1st person)
    and the Stranger Triology by
    serpent_sorcerer are probably the
    reference here.
    4) I know we're here on the smut harry potter
    portal but all these harem relationships
    don't really help these stories to immerse
    the reader. I can see that harems may
    make sense in the harry potter society
    from a logical viewpoint.
    But a good novel's main purpose
    shouldn't be to create some logical
    universe but an universe which convinces
    the reader.

    As you said you're a history professor and
    to be blunt, your stories match exactly the
    style you would expect for history books.
    But that just doesn't make a good novel which captures the attention of the reader.

    Please don't take this badly as you're really
    good in the society detail aspects of your
    stories but i feel you waste your potential
    with your current style to really write a great novel.

    Regards

  • The Younger Potter Twin

    (#) kial_forssa 2009-07-24 07:12:27 AM

    this is a wonderful story i have read it three times and still enjoy it very much
  • The Younger Potter Twin

    (#) Jisa 2010-01-20 09:03:27 PM

    Great story, though a bit dry in some places. I'm glad you didn't make Severus a bad character; he's my favorite. Anyway, loved the story.
  • The Younger Potter Twin

    (#) Lady_Lanie 2012-06-14 11:19:38 PM

    I loved this story. I've read many twin fics and even more time travel ones but I've never seen them combined. Very original!
  • The Younger Potter Twin

    (#) Coline7373 2012-12-28 04:07:53 AM

    It's very good and original (if somewhat patronising at times).

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0