Categories > Books > Harry Potter > The Power

chapter 20

by DarthBill 11 Reviews

chapter 20

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Action/Adventure - Characters: Harry - Published: 2007/01/04 - Updated: 2007/01/04 - 1402 words - Complete

Reviews

  • The Power

    (#) Shaggy37 2007-01-05 04:50:54 AM

    OUTSTANDING CHAPTER!!!! I can't wait to see what happens next. I hope your holidays were good to you. please don't take so long to update next time I miss reading this story. DO keep up the outstanding work and update soon please:):):):)

    Author's response

    Thank you. I'll try to hurry it up.
  • The Power

    (#) DarkeGray 2007-01-05 11:10:41 AM

    Great chapter, though I did have to go back and read the whole story over again because I forgot a lot of what happened. Also, Harry seems a little too arogant of his powers. I understand that he doesn't care, but he really is going pretty far with not caring about anything. Almost makes it seem that he doesn't care about anyone. Maybe if you showed some emotion toward someone, like have him admit that he really likes Hermione or needs her or something, because if I had a friend like him, I would think he didn't really care and only had me around so someone could hear him talk. Also wondering if you were going to give Harry a girlfriend in this story? Anyways, good chapter, hopefully next one comes sooner.

    Author's response

    The truth of the matter is that Hermione is just about the ONLY person he cares about. And she is more than smart enough to know that without some fluff bunny hopping in and telling her. Also, she was pretty arogant in canon, and she has been spending all her time with my Harry, so it is doubtless that she has a heathy self-image as well. Thanks for the review.
  • The Power

    (#) phyrexian_overlord 2007-01-05 02:37:08 PM

    very good story so far, but having harry seem to predict upcoming events as aesily as he does seems to kill the plot. keep up the good work and i'm looking forward to the next installment.

    Author's response

    He doesn't predict stuff, so much as figure out the puzzle faster. I know that that ruins the suspense, but oh well. Thanks for the review.
  • The Power

    (#) animemonster 2007-01-05 10:52:51 PM

    Very interesting, Harry does sound like some sort of magical vampire.

    Author's response

    Aye, that he does. Thanks for the review, matey! (I'm a pirate!)
  • The Power

    (#) Anaknisatanas 2007-01-06 04:00:22 PM

    I dearly hope you update soon. I love Harry in your story, he's sarcastic and intelligent but he cares about those he calls friend. I also like Hermione, she's much more laid back.

    Author's response

    Anyone would learn to chill if they hung around someone who didn't give a damn all day. Thanks for the review.
  • The Power

    (#) Genericrandom5 2007-01-13 04:30:42 PM

    Although it's mostly inarguable that there are better stories being published right now, I don't think I have any (that aren't smutty) that I enjoy more, being a person more geared to enjoying comedy than anything else.

    I especially liked that last line in this chapter that Harry made about being a celebrity, one of your better short satirical statments. The bit about him not enjoying the time turner (last chapter) since it bored him was also pretty funny. Dragon!Harry is a much more amusing take than most different versions of Harry, but most assuredly lacks the whole 'borderline author avatar' feel that you can easily get in/get in parts of some stories. I can just see the look in his eyes going "Now tell me why I'm supposed to care" at various points throught the story. It's great.

    Naturally, I always hope for faster updates... but I'm more than happy to get any most of the time, so don't think of that as a complaint or a demand, but more idle commentary with a dash of 'hint'.

    You're doing a really good job with this story, I hope you keep it up.

    Later

    Author's response

    Thanks a bunch. My vision's not so poor that I would be able to call my story the best, or even in the running. That you enjoy it so much is flattering, though. I, personally, like comedy the best also. Thanks for the review.
  • The Power

    (#) TJG 2007-01-31 11:19:23 PM

    Noticed your comment on your bio page in fanfiction. I am not sure if he is necessarily going to get the sort of skills and jobs that would be particularily useful to him. As a magic eater, it would probably be of interest to get the skills and be in positions to be able to get access to and be able to eat with little disturbance special and powerful magics whether from artifacts or animals. One skill set would be an alchemist or other enchanter to make his own items like a cook sampling his own dishes. Another skill set would be as a curse breaker and secretly a thief that can find and break into warded areas, evade or bypass traps and guardians, steal/eat anything of value, and escape without anyone noticing what happened. Another skill set would be to search, find, and breed various rare or forgotten magical creatures and eat some powers. These would all tend to require being able to network with various other professionals who are likely to have prickly personalities and may need to be approached in a manner that is more humble and diplomatic while still appearing to be professional. Giving the impression that one is coasting on ones popularity is more likely to cause others to clam up with regard to opportunities.

    Author's response

    A lot of what you say makes sense, but I'm not sure you understand how powerful he already is. At the end of his first year, he had become as powerful as Dumbledore. That has been growing tremendously since (This will be explained later in the story). He actually doesn't need more power. Also, this is a Harry who has no problem using his fame. He would not turn Scrimingour down. In truth, he will probably go on to be a politician. Thanks for the review and comments.
  • The Power

    (#) alexmahon940 2007-02-08 10:40:13 PM

    love it keep up the good work
    can u please update soon?

    Author's response

    Soon as I can. Thanks.
  • The Power

    (#) Regress13 2007-02-15 04:22:28 AM

    Reposting from FF.net :P

    God I love your cocky but apathetic Harry's personality! He's... my hero.

    Hehe, I'm LOVING your work with this fanfiction so far, and I can't wait for more of it! I can just see Harry handing in homework assignments to McGonagall that are written in his exact same concise style, but with the font like 3-4X larger, or something equally purposeless to fill the extra space. Somehow it just smacks of something he would do, it'd techincally fulfil the literal requirements of the rule, even while stomping all over the spirit of the rule. The interactions between Harry and Ron are absolutely hilarious too, I don't think I've ever read a line that made me laugh as hard as Harry's mental comment, 'You are a maroon'.

    Anyway, enough ego stroking. Your a great writer and I'm going to be waiting anxiously for more of your work. I'm honestly trying to find a criticism for your work with this fic just to make this a more honest and well rounded review... but I'm not going to bother because I haven't the hour to spare for hunting through it to find a spelling mistake that the spell checker missed. 'Cause I think that's about the only thing wrong with this fanfic that I'd find.

    Author's response

    You are right.

    I am perfect.

    Thanks for the review.
  • The Power

    (#) Nautilus 2007-03-01 02:31:57 AM

    haah... loved the last line... anyway, have not seen an update in aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaage... any idea what we can expect in the future... congrats anyway...

    Author's response

    I'll get to it. Thanks for the review.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 489141
  • Stories: 40148

Recent Stories