Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Freedom Of Thought

The First Challenge

by malaga 17 Reviews

Harry meets his fourth cousins, a lycanthrope, and a seer, and gets into decorating.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: G - Genres: Fantasy - Characters: Harry - Warnings: [?] - Published: 2007/05/19 - Updated: 2007/05/20 - 2282 words

Reviews

  • Freedom Of Thought

    (#) TxA_GunFighter 2007-09-01 11:03:57 PM

    Outstanding, looks like Harry is doing ok.

    gunny
  • Freedom Of Thought

    (#) atom-of-ice 2007-11-14 05:12:36 AM

    excellent story i like how you seem to be concentrating on the political an social aspects of attending a neutral school as opposed to the idealized "light" format. I look forward to more updates
  • Freedom Of Thought

    (#) dave_gerecke 2007-11-19 11:35:57 PM

    Not bad, I like the concept and think you should continue with it.
    dave
  • Freedom Of Thought

    (#) Meteoricshipyards 2007-11-28 12:30:31 PM

    Very enjoyable fic.

    The bad: No scense of time or place. Harry gets a letter, and goes the next day - when did that happen? In cannon it occurred shortly before his 11th birthday, but here? Did he spend the month of August in France? Did one spell give him the ability to speak and read french? The magical street--this was (cannon) Harry's first encounter with magic, but here he's missing the sense of wonder, everything is accepted. I don't have a good feel for the french castle, either. And I didn't get a good feel for the eating hall or the ice.

    Despite that (here comes the good:-) I am enjoying this story. The new characters seem interesting. The idea of the story is great. It puts a lot more pressure on you as an author, though, with new characters, and new plots. This is a great beginning.

    I also like the idea of Hogwarts being light (yes there are dark people there, but overall....) and Durmstrang being dark, and Beauxbatons being neutral (and having "defense against the light arts - is he going to be learning Occlumancy in first year :-)

    Also loved the snippets of Dumbledor's world.

    However, without Harry there, I expect Hermione to die the first year, and (if by chance Voldemort doesn't get the stone and come back) then Ginny to die the second year, and Sirius to die the third, and the Triwizard to be at Beauxbatons the fourth year, and Dumbledore to get Harry to compete somehow :-)

    Anyway, looking forward to your story. Thanks for creating it.

    Tom A.
  • Freedom Of Thought

    (#) lantana 2008-04-22 05:48:26 PM

    Very nice. And you're planning a rewrite, you say? Your standsards for writing must be really high then; I can't seem to find any reasons for it... Still, look forward to read more, once you're there!
  • Freedom Of Thought

    (#) Quackpotty 2009-08-05 12:36:30 PM

    Hmm, this story has the potential to be fairly interesting. I would like to see more of Fleur and perhaps a few other canon characters, but I can understand why you can't exactly have Ron and Hermione dropping out of the sky. Oh well, it'd be nice to see more from this story.
  • Freedom Of Thought

    (#) soul-of-the-phoenix 2013-08-05 01:05:26 AM

    I think this is actually a pretty amazing story. I've been looking for a decent "Harry Goes To Beauxbatons" story for a while, and this is the best I've seen. It has a nice taste of humor, good logic, an original take on magical school structure, and nicely blossoming original characters (which are astoundingly rare).

    I hope to see more of this someday, because it would be a shame to leave it unfinished.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0