Categories > Books > Harry Potter

The Harry Potter Liberation Front

by whatareyouevensaying 7 Reviews

Hermione is determined to enlist Harry's help in improving the rights of house-elves. She decides that he might understand better if he experienced it firsthand. What's going to happen when a jealo...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Angst,Drama,Humor - Characters: Ginny,Harry,Hermione,Parvati - Warnings: [!!] - Published: 2007/07/28 - Updated: 2007/08/13 - 5998 words - Complete

Reviews

  • The Harry Potter Liberation Front

    (#) jaysonwhite 2007-07-29 05:40:19 AM

    A better warning might have been "if you like the Harry Potter books as all, you might not like this much".

    Poor story, you should have kept to the actual challenge. Then there might have been amusement to be had, at least.

    Author's response

    Maybe to the first line, but the second one makes me laugh quite a bit. Slavery amuses you? Good to know.

    I wrote this challenge for all of the die-hard Harry/Hermione shippers out there, and if the flames on ff(dot)net are any indicator, they didn't quite get the message. As you could probably tell, I like Hermione much better than Ginny. That being said, I don't think she's really quite right for Harry. She's far too controlling, which is one of Harry's least favorite qualities in a person. I don't object to the pairing itself, but I do object to how quickly most authors put her on a pedestal. If she's going to be flawless, then we, as readers, should be able to see how she shed her many flaws in the course of the story.

    So basically, I just wrote this to piss people off. I'm glad it's working so well.
  • The Harry Potter Liberation Front

    (#) annabelle58 2007-07-29 07:52:09 AM

    ROFL. Parvati and Harry? With this setting? Parvati as a fangirl just like Ginny? But he luv her sooooo muuuuch? ROFL! And Parvati is now the mega duellist? You are kidding, right? ROFL. This is pure crap!
  • The Harry Potter Liberation Front

    (#) Nautilus 2007-08-12 10:22:28 PM

    lol... regardless of what people are saying... i thought it was funny... and thats the spirit you probably wrote it in...

    congrats.
  • The Harry Potter Liberation Front

    (#) 31415 2007-08-12 11:21:36 PM

    If you really had the intentions you claim in your reply to jaysonwhite's comment, then I'm not sure you were at all successful.

    In attempting to address what you see as a flaw in many Hr/H stories, you've done exactly the same thing. Having "Hermione" enslave Harry is a very, very long bow to draw (the last two books not withstanding).

    In any case, it was well written and reasonably well executed, though a little predictable and doesn't make it's point particularly well.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Author's response

    First off, thanks for leaving a such a constructive and honest review. I really appreciate it.

    I suppose I sort of have done what those pedestal users insist on doing, I just took her down instead of up. I could attempt to justify it, but I don't think I'd be being honest. The story is very flawed, but I still had fun writing it.

    Oh, and the last two books were my other main reason for writing this. They left me with so many anti-Hermione feelings pent up that I just had to get rid of them somehow.

    Thanks again for reviewing.
  • The Harry Potter Liberation Front

    (#) silverleafhp 2007-09-30 10:35:13 AM

    I actually loved this story. I can see Hermione doing this in a misguided attempt to make Harry understand what the poor house elves are going through.

    The only problem I had with it is the fact that Harry even considered he could stay friends with her after words.

    Turning this around, if Harry would of done this to Hermione (or any girl). It would have been considered rape.......although I realize it didn't go that far.
  • The Harry Potter Liberation Front

    (#) Voldemert 2007-11-25 05:32:30 AM

    Fun story. It has an amusing twist and its a fun play on how we see the world.

    as always, thanks for sharing =)
  • The Harry Potter Liberation Front

    (#) 1529 2012-02-01 03:19:31 AM

    I will admit to not caring for this story much at all, but I am an avid fan of H/Hr and a hater of H/G... and the concept of Harry Parvati is not much different than H/G or the speed you speak of with H/Hr (at least Harry and Hermione are close friends who appreciate each other... at least until the mess that is the final two books). That being said, the story is well written and I can see Hermione possibly considering something like this for those who abuse house-elves (not Harry), I don't really see it happening.

    Overall, good story, but not really enjoyable from my point of view...

    Author's response

    I appreciate you taking the time to give me a thoughtful review, especially considering the fact that I bashed one of your favorite characters. This story doesn't reflect my attitude towards Hermione (or Ginny, for that matter), but it was a lot of fun to write. Probably the most attention house-elves will ever get in any of my stories, since I hate writing their dialog.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 488711
  • Stories: 40147

Recent Stories