Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Lions and Badgers

Prologue

by maidros 9 Reviews

Beginning in the fifth year, Harry begins to realise that the world is a lot more complex than black and white and that Dumbledore is not the grandfatherly wizard he seems. Caught between a `Dark ...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Action/Adventure, Drama - Characters: Dumbledore, Moody, Snape, Other - Published: 2007/07/03 - Updated: 2007/08/13 - 2355 words

Reviews

  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) sblackfan 2007-07-03 08:13:41 PM

    Interesting beginning. I look forward to seeing where you take the story.

    Author's response

    Thanks for the encouragement, and thanks for reading and reviewing. The next chapter is online now.
    Regards,
    Maidros
  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2007-07-03 08:42:38 PM

    I know your Dumbledore will be manipulative, but I completely agree with his decision to have Moody kill Rosier. His demands were too high to be met.

    As for the story itself...well, it's a promising beginning. I can't say more until I can see how you handle Harry's character (not to mention the interesting ship), but I'm looking forward to more.

    Author's response

    Well, there is no doubt that Rosier is a very obnoxious person. The problem is Dumbledore did it for the wrong reasons, as you will soon see.

    Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the encouragement. The next chapter is online.
    Regards,
    Maidros
  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) Cateagle 2007-07-03 09:53:55 PM

    That's an interesting intro to your story. I have to admit, it almost looks like Dumbles is playing the game just to play, not to win. Either that, or he's got an agenda of building his own power and reputation; in which case the prophecy bites him after he lets this oppportunity to get Tom slip away.

    I'll be looking forward to further chapters.

    Author's response

    Dumbledore is playing the game for a very specific purpose. I always wondered about his lackadaisical performance against the Death Eaters - judging from books 5 and 6, not a single action against the Death eaters was initiated by Dumbledore. He seemed content to leave the initiative to them.

    The prophecy is a particular peeve of mine and I will be dealing with it specifically in the fic.

    Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the encouragement. The next chapter is online.
    Regards,
    Maidros
  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) Nautilus 2007-07-04 04:38:27 AM

    nicely done, i would have liked to see a news article about moody claiming his order medal, instead of how you did end up finishing it off. i think that one liner at the end to summaries, took away from you story. and it would have been better presented as a newspaper article....

    anyway, i like what you have for now, i guess a lot of your story is goin to be about, eveyone's own self interest. that should certainly be very interesting...

    look forward to how you bring harry into this, and what challenges he will have to face, please pplease please, no timetravel or timeslowed trunks or anything, or super powers....

    but regardless, i look forward to where you take this and how you take it there...
    congrats and update soon.

    Author's response

    Thanks for your review. I did rewrite the chapter as you suggested - the newspaper article has been included; unfortunately, I am still wrangling with issues over the recent update of the board, and my own editing software. However, the newer version of the chapter will be online in a day or two.

    I can promise you there will be no time-travel, no time slowing, and no super powers for anyone including Voldemort and Dumbledore. In my fics, everyone obeys the same set of rules. No bending the rules for anyone.

    Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the encouragement. The next chapter is online now.
    Regards,
    Maidros
  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) DrT 2007-07-04 05:01:24 AM

    Interesting start and an interesting set of premises. I look forward to seeing how this develops.

    "T"

    Author's response

    Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the encouragement. The next chapter is online.
    Regards,
    Maidros
  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) JBern 2007-07-04 06:07:30 AM

    Interesting chapter providing a bit of insight into Rosier. I look forward to seeing what you do with Harry and Hannah. Hannah was one of my choices for the female lead of To Fight the Coming Darkness, but I went with Susan instead. Good luck with this.~Jim

    Author's response

    I am going to take this slow - first, Harry has got to trust any would be romance girl. He has to get to know what Hannah is really like.

    As for Rosier - well, Death Eaters are a favourite of mine to write about.

    Hope to see some more `To Fight the coming Darkness' soon.

    Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the encouragement. The next chapter is online.
    Regards,
    Maidros
  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) Bedrup 2007-07-04 02:13:12 PM

    Haven´t read any of your stories, but this first chap is interesting enough for me to bookmark this and wait for the next one.

    Author's response

    Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the encouragement. The next chapter is online.
    Regards,
    Maidros
  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) Anaknisatanas 2007-07-05 01:05:36 PM

    I'd like to know Dumbledore's reasons. Very interesting start. I can't help but wonder what Harry will think of if he learns this information. I do hope you update soon, I really want to see where you go with the Hannah/Harry ship.

    Author's response

    Dumbledore is playing his own game. Harry will learn of it, but much later on in the fic.

    Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the encouragement. The next chapter is online.
    Regards,
    Maidros
  • Lions and Badgers

    (#) NymPotter 2007-07-06 02:28:15 PM

    good so far. Dumbledore, what a bastard. I hope he gets his. He is not the know all and be all that he thinks he is.

    Author's response

    Good to see someone shares my dislike of Dumbledore.

    Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for the encouragement. The next chapter is online.
    Regards,
    Maidros

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 633436
  • Stories: 40443

Recent Stories