Categories > Books > Harry Potter

The Acts Of Betrayal

by Clell65619 15 Reviews

The Semiclassic 'everyone has been lying to Harry about everything' plot. Very AU. Bashing of pretty much everyone. Mind Control Sex. Language. Dumbledore decides the Old Families won't tolerate th...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Drama,Romance - Characters: Harry,Hermione - Warnings: [V] [X] [R] [?] - Chapters: 20 - Published: 2007/10/20 - Updated: 2008/05/09 - 77043 words - Complete

Reviews

  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) siaru 2007-10-31 12:56:53 PM

    (ch.1-9) Well, this is fun, watching Harry twist the old geezer's tail, especially now that we know that he relly is that manipulative even in canon. The Potioner-Weasley-Women subplot which JKR worked up in hints in HBP, only to be Obliviated of it for DH, is here played through. Yet to be seen is how the bonding ritual affects their minds; but then, with APWBD prepared to reinstate chemical bondage, he probably isn't above a little under-the-table Imperius, either, so we might see how three minds work together in dealing with that.
    I'm enjoying this,

    Author's response

    I've got Harry and his ladies preped to be on the look out for potions... though an imperio or two might happen...
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) thomgriffin 2007-11-09 11:06:52 PM

    (Ch1-10)
    I was a bit put off by the issue of the love potions and rapes but I do agree that, at least for me, it makes sense with what happened in JKR's work the last two books. I thought the headmaster was pushing Hermione and Ron together from the beginning of book five and isalating Hermione's influence over Harry. What you have nails it down succinctly. I don't know how many go back this far, but even in the beginning of Prisoner of Azkaban, I think JKR had introduced love potions as how Molly Weasley snagged Arthur. She, Ginny and Hermione were all off giggling in a corner over it when Harry came down to breakfast at the Leaky Cauldron.
    I guess I'll stop prattling on and just tell you I'm enjoying your fic now that I've gotten into it.
    Keep going.
    Thom

    Author's response

    I'm not a fan of the Love Potion controlled rapes either, and as minimal as it was, it was hard to write.

    The reasoning for it is the mutual healing that Harry and Hermione bring each other as (a minor) part of their relationship.

    Truth be told, the scene you described was the point in the story I started to intensly dislike Molly.

    Thank you for your review. It's always good to hear that I'm reaching at least a part of the audience.
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) BARON1941 2007-11-14 03:09:08 PM

    Excellent story thus far i am really enjoying it. One thing i am looking forward to is for harry and his ladies getting some revenge on ron.
    One question which professor was talking to the ladies at the end of the last chapter?again excellent work.

    Author's response

    Ron's time is a coming...

    McGonagall. I should have been clearer.
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) melferd 2007-11-19 05:33:24 PM

    *Giggles Helplessly at Draco's letter** If Malfoy insists on writing fiction, he should stick to My Little Pony slash fanfic. Anything else is beyond him. BTW, you have handled the rape aspect perfectlfy. You have not glorified or 'sexed up' what happened. You have made it the act of hatred and abuse it is.
    Looking forward to how this unfolds, Thanks for writing it!

    Author's response

    My little pony slash fan fic? That's just so wrong on so many levels.

    - Thanks for the kind words.
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) Xadro 2007-11-20 08:28:16 AM

    I love your story especially the Ron/Ginny/Dumbledore bashing and the whole manipulations of Dumbledork.

    I hope you update soon!

    9/10

    - Xadro

    Author's response

    Thanks
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) skychain 2008-02-05 03:28:47 PM

    You are right, this kind of manip!dumbles fic is very common, but this is one of the best I have read.

    The characters are believable and their responses logical. The story is thought provoking and emotionally engaging. Plus this fits the tone of the last few few books making it a believable AU. I think JKR wrote the personality's of her characters so many of these events are not only possible, but could be likely in some cases.

    damn good! (two thumbs up)

    Author's response

    - Thanks
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) Terdwilicker 2008-02-05 09:59:50 PM

    Sometimes your updates don't show up on the site. I'm a bit perturbed, as this is the 3rd time this has happened.

    Author's response

    - My apologies to everyone that got an update alert. I had a grammatical error pointed out and I corrected it without realizing that doing so would sent out update alerts. Won't be doing that anymore. Sorry for the inconvenience. I'll be repeating this to everyone who asked about the update, because I don't know if these responses are emailed or not...
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) vl100butch 2008-02-06 04:55:43 AM

    What chapter is supposed to be up?

    Author's response

    - My apologies to everyone that got an update alert. I had a grammatical error pointed out and I corrected it without realizing that doing so would sent out update alerts. Won't be doing that anymore. Sorry for the inconvenience. I'll be repeating this to everyone who asked about the update, because I don't know if these responses are emailed or not...
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) huntsman345 2008-02-08 05:02:04 AM

    I've just sat and read this entire story (whilst at work no less!!) and it enthralled me, to steal your words.

    Wonderful story, great take on the manipulative-dumbledore category (and yes, it has been done enough to call it a genre now) and lovely use of what are mostly very ancillary characters in the books.

    As a very much dedicated H/Hr shipper I really appreciate your work and beg you to continue in the same fashion.

    Baked Potato

    Author's response

    - Thank you
  • The Acts Of Betrayal

    (#) daled73 2008-03-23 09:18:15 AM

    As Goblins would say "Congratulations on your Excellent Vengence".

    An excellent story and many original twists, to keep it from being "just another .... ".

    D.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 667735
  • Stories: 39962

Recent Stories