Categories > Books > Harry Potter > When Vernon Didn't Miss

The Return to Hogwarts

by DrT 23 Reviews

The school year starts, and annoyances pop up.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Draco,Harry,Hermione,Ron,Snape - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2007/12/08 - Updated: 2007/12/08 - 3426 words - Complete

Reviews

  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Musings_of_Apathy 2007-12-08 10:01:26 PM

    Excellent chapter. When the Agrippa card came up, I got the idea that one of the old ones could have had enough exposure to the Wizarding world over the years to have a card of their own, so Harry could give Ron a signed card from a truly ancient figure.

    Thank you for writing.

    Mike (MoA)
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) jabarber69 2007-12-09 12:18:31 AM

    Hey great last two chapters, I didnt get a chance to get the last chapter until today, but anyway great story!

    Love Harry new attitude especially toward malfoy! and his growing friendship/ship with Hermione can really happen now that he's had that special training and especially since he is now what two months older than she is.

    Also like luna, and am glad you put her in gryffindor, she should do really well there with Hermione and Harry befriending her and protecting her.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Wolfric 2007-12-09 02:16:05 AM

    I continue to enjoy your story. I like it when Harry stands up for himself in an effective manner. I'm hoping that we will see how effective he can be. Thanks for writing. W.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) BenRG 2007-12-09 03:21:53 AM

    There are several nice bits in this chapter - interesting quotes and interesting characterisations.

    We never see the sorting of Ginny in canon. However, she is of sufficiently cunning a turn of mind and methodical in action that I wonder if the Hat initially intended to put her in Slytherin. Her aggressive later nature would have been the result of many years immersed in the action-bias atmosphere of Gryffindor House. Similarly, I wonder how Luna will turn out in the more familial world of Gryffindor rather than the rather rarified and academic atmosphere of Ravenclaw.

    I find it interesting that in this second year of his education, the older Slytherins consider Malfoy a bit of a loud-mouthed loose cannon and will reign him in if he becomes an embarrassment. I did love Harry's comment about "fixing" his frozen face on the express. XD

    Overall, this is an interesting story and has been somewhat different from your usual fare (it actually is somewhat more like mathiasgrangers's and chem-prof's works). I'll be looking out for further chapters.

    Author's response

    Yes, the Hat was considering Slytherin, both for Ginny's own qualities and because of Riddle's (then slight) influence.

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) PerfesserN 2007-12-09 04:12:18 AM

    Excellent chapter, T, as always. I particularly like the part where you make the Slytherins less a bunch of clueless prats and more of a bunch of cunning manipulative prats. Ambitious people tend to be clever after all.
    Pity about Ginny. She should have just been sorted into Slytherin in the first place, at least then she could have had allies for her particular brand of "Harry stalking."
    Nice plot device - having the Potter family (Harry) take the Granger family (Hermione) as a vassal. I wonder how that will play out with Hermione's parents. They are, after all, obvious targets for the death moochers.
    Write on!
    N!
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) red_jacobson 2007-12-09 05:08:18 AM

    Enjoying the story so far; and, based on your prior review comment about not telling if Ginny survives or not; I personally hope that she does survive. Not out of any particular fondness for the character, but because of the effect her death would have on Harry and the others.

    It was also nice to see some cunning from the older Slytherins, and it will be fun to see a free Padfoot.

    red
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) sparky40sw 2007-12-09 06:07:42 PM

    Very much enjoying this story - I like a strong, self aware Harry - humble in the original meaning of the word, and with people behind him who will not hesitate to put Snape OR Dumbledork right into their places.
    Is Ron ever going to have the message sink in, or is the giant foam cluebat not sufficient for his thick skull??

    thanks for sharing your talent - warm regards
    Ken

    Author's response

    I really don't think Ron ever worked all that hard to be Harry's friend, although he was usually happy to be Harry's friend.

    Harry won't try so hard in this fic.

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) noylj 2007-12-09 09:49:49 PM

    Great story and great chapter. The Harry/Herms is a little strong for 12-year-olds, but I can certainly Harry "protecting" Herms as he did. It is amazing what a little knowledge, something canon!DoubleDumb made sure never intruded into Harry's life in any meaningful way, can do.

    Author's response

    If it makes you feel better, Harry has aged an extra year, remember, and is 13, and Hermione is two weeks shy of 13

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) amysds 2007-12-10 12:56:27 PM

    Hi I really love this story but I can't always review. I always have problems with ficwad for some reason. I try to review for every chapter and 90 percent of the time its given back. This is the second time for this review attempt. Heres hoping! SO I was wondering if you are on any other websites? Or would consider posting on another? If so please put a tiny note in the next chapter if you can't write back to me

    Author's response

    The story is being mirrored on Schnoogle, if that's any help

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) brad 2007-12-10 11:04:20 PM

    Effective of you to use Hermione's prior crush on Lockhart as evidence that she had romantic inclinations even at that young age, that could be transferred to Harry. I tend to think they're too young in years 1-3 at least, so that little hint was useful.

    There seem to be a few other things that you're changing from canon, along with Vernon's "not missing". Like Luna tagging along with the Weasleys on the train. It somewhat spoils the elegance of springing off an AU from just one, single, altered fact. But now that we've met Luna, I appreciate your insight in that she may have, in her first year, been much more 'normal'. Another clever little tidbit I enjoying thinking about.

    So refreshing to have Harry actually prepared to use the potential of recourse to his new minders, rather than continue to be a timid pushover. And a HUGE 'Bravo!' for this line:

    "And I will have to protest your detention."

    YAYYYYYY!!!! AO LONG have I waited to read something like that, perusing fanfic after fanfic where Snape hands out detentions like lollypops, with no student, not even Hermione, ever thinking to appeal.

    Author's response

    IF Luna was at all like I show her, there is no reason to think she wouldn't have latched on to Ginny on Platform 9 3/4. I didn't mean to imply she had travelled to the station with the Weasleys. I tried to show, via Ron's actions, that Luna was tagging along.

    I don't know if you would know the reference, but wizarding society reminds me of the society showed throughout most of the old westerns, like 'The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance,' where most of the people want to respect the law, but where might still is in control.

    Maybe 'High Plains Drifter' would even be better -- the society is corrupt, the sherriff is a joke, and a dozen Clint Eastwoods just rode into Hogwarts. Snape doesn't like not being able to use the system against them, but has just enough sense to try and stay out of their way.

    "T"

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 667769
  • Stories: 39962

Recent Stories