Categories > Books > Harry Potter > When Vernon Didn't Miss

Summer Surprises

by DrT 11 Reviews

Draco is not the only one who gets several surprises, but Harry and Voldemort are happier with theirs.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Dudley,Harry,Hermione,Narcissa,Voldemort - Published: 2008/02/02 - Updated: 2008/02/02 - 3438 words - Complete

Reviews

  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Wonderbee31 2008-02-02 12:41:16 PM

    Well, imo, little Draco is acting a lot like the spoiled brat that he comes across as , and maybe if he knows that his position as heir might be in a bit of danger, he could grow up some. Not sure if he will or not, but he has the chance. With the next horcrux found, should be interesting to see what will come of that now with Tom's next moves, and Harry's and his frineds counters.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) mathiasgranger 2008-02-02 01:02:28 PM

    Wow, who would have thought that the elder Malfoys might actually be right about something for once.

    Good chapter, and I look forward to the next one.

    Thanks for writing,
    Matt

  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Teresa 2008-02-02 02:23:08 PM

    Hmmmmm....so Draco just might be replaced as the favorite! All in all Lucius and Narcissa might improve their chances of having a decent kid with the coming birth, but if their method of parenting doesn't improve it's unlikely. Chuckle, it looks as though Draco will be spending quite a bit of time in the nursery.... I liked seeing how Harry and Hermione spent their summer, and as always Dr T I'll be waiting for your next chapter!
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) banner 2008-02-02 05:07:31 PM

    Well, if that doesn't motivate Draco to grow up a little, then he deserves to be set aside. I doubt his parents would disown him, but they can certainly arrange for his allowance and inheritance to be less than impressive. I like the way you've solved the Horcrux hunt - it's far more sensible than JKR's job.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Clell65619 2008-02-02 07:32:04 PM

    - Oh goodie, Draco Ver 2.0. Another whiny little bitch.

    - The mental image of Lucius making a cup of little Dracos is a disturbing one.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Coolone007 2008-02-02 09:00:14 PM

    Killer job. I have been reading your yarns for many years and you never disapoint.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2008-02-03 01:53:07 AM

    Very interesting update. I actually think the most intriguing part was the Malfoy's brief section. Excellent work.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) brad 2008-02-04 03:56:08 AM

    Nice idea of yours/Harry's, to invite Nick to the party. Ghosts are people too! :-)

    I could well see Hermione having a 'tinge of jealousy' over enhanced!Harry beating her, so acquainting her with his true age and training advantages would be a good step. Also glad he's shared most of his secrets with her.

    The fear of 'losing' Harry to immortality was interesting/ominous, but, practically speaking, why would it be so? If Harry was a true friend - or more - he wouldn't desert her ... he just wouldn't die before her. Of course, if they are a romantic couple then I'd expect them to be of a 'both of us or neither' frame of mind, but that's different from Hermione's concern here.

    Author's response

    I haven't explicitly said so, but I had hoped it would be clear that the Brotherhood makes many demands on newer members. And they are a semi-secret group (the immortality even more so). And after a few years, people would notice Harry wasn't aging. He would have to disappear from general society for a few hundred years.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Cateagle 2008-02-05 10:52:59 AM

    Hmm, 'twould appear that even the adult Malfoys can learn something; one would hope that Draco might start actually thinking now and clean up his act (unlikely, granted, but possible).

    I do like the way things are developing nicely between Harry & Hermione; they complement each other well. By acquainting her with his true age, Harry found a clean way of defusing any jealosy she might have, as well as giving her more reason to see him in an attractive light. That he's willing to share 'most all his secrets has to mean something to her, too.

    I love the idea that Harry finds a different approach to hunting that one horcrux; esp. since he's using a different outlook/perspective than the others. I don't think Tom's going to appreciate just how many have been removed from the "board". Nor will he appreciate the new players that are making his efforts so much more difficult.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Dragen 2008-04-07 07:20:08 AM

    Oh I love that Harry has got Dobby to work for him. :D I like Harry’s party, and what he got. I like how things are going for Harry, and can't wait to see what happens next.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 605885
  • Stories: 40293

Recent Stories