Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

The Birthday Girl

by Clell65619 23 Reviews

Luna gets a special present, Lucy has discovered the price of failure, Harri is hurt, and Harry does some hurting.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres:  - Characters:  - Warnings: [V] [X] [?] - Published: 2008/03/12 - Updated: 2008/03/12 - 4150 words

Reviews

  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) dennisud 2008-03-12 06:26:09 PM

    Took long enough for Harri to see the light the hard way, and just how will she adapt to a make Tom?

    So far this is buliding up well.
    Kinda wished hermione had come over to boost the brain trust.

    dennisud

    Author's response

    - Suddenly having a identical twin of the opposite gender would disconcert anyone.
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) Traveller 2008-03-12 07:22:11 PM

    As of now, I am hoping for some double Riddle action. A Dark Lord and Lady, training the crap out of two Potters while in the mean time finally meeting an equal with whom they can exchange evil witticisms.

    Author's response

    - that sounds some what kinky...
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) Terdwilicker 2008-03-12 09:03:35 PM

    Yay! Another chapter. I was worried you'd given this up. It remains an interesting story concept. I hope you continue.

    Author's response

    My update rate might be slow, but I'll give it up when they pry it from my cold dead keyboard... Or Tommi dies, which ever comes first.
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2008-03-12 09:09:36 PM

    Brilliant update, possibly my favorite so far. Also, it's the first one that I didn't catch any slip-ups in, so whatever you're doing, keep it up!

    Looking forward to more.

    Author's response

    - Actually, I boogered up Healer Pomfrey through out the chapter, calling him 'Madam' and using female pronouns... but I caught in when proofing what showed up on line and fixed it in the first 10 minutes it was posted...

    - This gender swap is turning out to be a lot harder than i thought it would be.
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) jjracer24 2008-03-12 09:24:40 PM

    Great addition to the story, I'm looking forward to the next installation. Keep them coming.
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) pfeil 2008-03-12 09:34:31 PM

    Can't wait to see how Harri reacts to their trainer.
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) michaeljohn 2008-03-12 09:37:35 PM

    Keep going with this. Your birthday present to Luna was the first time I have seen the Room of requirement used like this. One reason I enjoy your stories is your new takes on things, which is hard to pull off in HP fanfiction.

    Author's response

    Thanks
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) DrT 2008-03-13 04:52:37 AM

    Interesting and solid chapter. I think Harri will be shocked, even if she learns to become Harry's level

    "T"

    Author's response

    Just a little bit.
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) rijlkent 2008-03-13 07:14:40 AM

    Heya,

    Nice to see more of this one; I'm really enjoying it. One, er, request: please use less first names and more last names! There are too many aurors whose names start with 'A,' I was getting quite mixed up. I'm not saying go all last name, but using the last name one of the first times you use a name in a scene would help me keep things straight. I have actually managed to learn 'main' names like Orestes (sheesh!) and Blanch (snigger).

    The RoR training is good stuff. 'The enemy is the only teacher' makes me think of _Ender's Game_ by Card--have you read? Excellent SF book with interesting parallels to Potter.

    The entire gender swap is hard to get used to, but I suppose that's the point. Here I was thinking that YOU were dismissing Harri because she's a girl, but rather SHE was dismissing Harry. It's odd to think of everyone thinking of Harry as 'just a boy.' The accelerated magic is brought in nicely. Has Harry been doing this the whole time in the RoR?

    The more sexually aggressive girls are fun/funny. Go Luna! It's harder to imagine the 'coy' boys that must be the usual here.

    Looking forward to more of your stuff-
    -Rijl

    Author's response

    - The names are hard, I'm trying to have them carry the same meanings (at least)

    - Hey, Orestes was the betrothed of Hermione, daughter of Helen, who wasn't really of Troy... (and if some of the histories are to be believed, never set foot in the place and waited out the war in Egypt, but I digress). And Blanch, like Albus means white...

    - Yeah, I liked Ender a lot (the sequels less so) But when Harry and Harri meet Tommi, there will be no doubts in their minds that they aren't playing a sim...

    - I'd read far too many 'everything is the same except Harry's a girl, and Harry the guy is hot for her' fics I wanted to do something very different and very weird. I believe I've succeeded in weird... I'm trying to have Harry treated like a lot of women are treated in the R/W. And let him surprise people.

    - The accelerated magic is why the sessions with the Riddle of the Room seemed to drag on for ever. As Riddle pushed him, Harry picked it up unconsciously. He's still not sure what happened with Strews (and won't be until Moody tells him) Hopefully, Harriet will pick it up as easily (or at least as unconsciously) as he did.

    - Harry's about to give up his virtue to Luna... He might also be hit on by some of the Slytherins...
  • Harry Potter and the Distaff Side

    (#) melferd 2008-03-13 09:55:32 AM

    First, big huge wonderful on poor Luna's grief.
    That the room can produce a shade that stops her from replacing her dead father is fantastic! and the grief was very well portrayed, honest and not cloying. My hat's off to Harry again, even heros still have hormones, and Harry resisted his nobly, but believably. If I didn't know so many stupid women, I'd be offended by Blanch's staggering idiocy. I mean, yeah, Albus is stupid, but I had higher hopes for a woman.
    **goes to put on shades to block the glare of double standards***
    Go Harry for getting the bitca that got his sis, and go! sis for waking up and smelling the coffee!! Glad she's joining the party, hope she can take some of the burden off Harry.

    Thanks again, sir, for another look in a wonderful, new world.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 645019
  • Stories: 40675

Recent Stories