Categories > Books > Harry Potter > The Return of the Boy Who Lived

Chapter Three

by red_jacobson 9 Reviews

Hermione, Malfoy and Hogwarts, Oh My!

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres:  - Characters:  - Published: 2008/04/06 - Updated: 2008/04/06 - 1827 words - Complete

Reviews

  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) DrT 2008-04-06 05:57:57 PM

    As this version of Neville shouldn't be clumsy, it will be interesting to see his interactions with Snape

    Author's response

    I hope to make them interesting; although Neville will probably be mostly under Snape's radar. That's not to say that he will be completely harmless, of course GRIN

    Thanks for the review

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Wonderbee31 2008-04-06 06:41:17 PM

    Hmm, interesting to see Harry was able to use his book smarts here, and should be fun to see how he goes on here with this version of Nev working with him. Loved the idea of Hermione looking at Harry with fresh eyes after she found out that he'd read some of the books before they started school. Going to be interesting to see how Ron is this time out, and what this will mean when Snape acts his usual self, and how bot Neville and Harry will react to his taunts.

    Author's response

    Well, H/Hr has to start somewhere GRIN

    And, this Harry, due to the friendship of Neville, as well as a greater understanding of the Wizarding World, will be a lot more self-confident than he was in canon, and, although Snape will try to get under his skin, it won't be quite as successful.

    Thanks for your review; and I'm working on Chapter 4 right now, so I'll hopefully be able to post it before I go to bed tonight.

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) melferd 2008-04-06 06:52:15 PM

    I'm really intrigued by this slant on the old favorite. I love that Neville is smart and strong and confident as he is in the later books. I'm really looking forward to more of this!
    Thanks for writing it!

    Author's response

    Thanks; I've always had a soft spot for Neville, and wanted to try something different with him. I'm actually writing chapter 4 as we speak, so I'll be posting it before I go to bed tonight.

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2008-04-06 10:16:55 PM

    Solid work with what you've got so far. I don't really like non-Harry-centric stories that much, but he seems to still be at the epicenter of things, so I can't complain.

    Looking forward to more.

    Author's response

    Thanks; I hope to get at least 2 chapters done tonight

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Cateagle 2008-04-07 12:47:35 AM

    Low, evil, laugh I love the way Neville is working the minor things: helping Harry get a better understanding of the wizarding world before getting immersed in it, helping Hermione and her family, helping bring Harry & Hermione together earlier. I suspect this is going to have interesting ripple effects, esp. if he gets Harry started early on occulemency.

    The scene with "Bad Faith" was nicely done and 'twas beautiful to see a more aware and clued-in Harry his knowledge and understanding to mock ferret-boy instead of physical force. 'Sides, that just might stick in Draco's memory longer and give him food for thought.

    Author's response

    Thanks; I wanted to show a Harry that isn't afraid to use his brains, since, with Neville's friendship; and knowing that Dudley can't run this friend off, he is starting to let himself shine a little.

    red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) sparky40sw 2008-04-07 04:28:24 PM

    I have only read one other with Neville as the BWL - this is much better, I always suspected him of being more than ordinarily kind, and you affirm it well here.

    as Cat eagle noted, the classic train confrontation is excellent.

    I am looking forward to seeing how the 4 of them are able to work together to make the years more generally pleasant.
    thanks for sharing after the long build up to your nanimo story. Was that every posted? if so where please??

    Author's response

    Thanks, glad you like it. My NaNoWriMo story hasn't been completed as of yet, I'm using this to try and break the writers block on it and several other stories. I've posted what I've written so far to the files section of my yahoo group.

    Red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) cloneserpents 2008-06-08 08:45:42 PM

    “Nick and Eliza Granger” What, not Dan and Emma or Rupert and Emma? Isn’t that against fanon law? I’m sure it’s written somewhere that Hermione’s parents must be Emma and Rupert or Dan. That’s it, I’m alerting the imaginary authorities. The Fannon Police should be knocking on your door any minute.

    I have a question: where’s Trevor? Not that I mind his absence, it was just bugging me.

    Author's response

    The Nick and Eliza thing was kind of a joke from some of my Buffy the Vampire Slayer stories; Nick Brendon and Eliza Dusku (Xander and Faith)

    And one of the major reasons why Hermione's parents weren't named Dan and Emma is very simple, it's been done to death; and I'm doing my best to avoid cliche's in this story.

    As for Trevor, would you believe I completely forgot about him?

    Red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) Heraldoftruth 2010-10-04 03:00:50 PM

    I love the story idea, it is nice to see Neville as the important and confident one, however, I am a little concerned with the maturity of the characters. They don't act 11 especially at the beginning where Harry goes from scared overwhelmed new student to confident, knowledgeable foil for Malfoy. Neville certainly has an excuse but you would think that people would notice more than they do. He knows far more than the average pureblood student would need to know. As I said it is a good idea that breaks away from tired FanFiction plot-lines only to fall back in to them immediately, though, honestly it would be hard to avoid them. One thing that came to mind as I was reading this is that if Neville and Harry's roles were switched what if there parents roles were switched as well. What if Lily and James were tortured into insanity and Harry was sent to the Dursley's. So that Harry would grow up the same as in cannon, but since Malfoy didn't make a nuisance of himself Harry had no bias against Slytherin and was sorted there. Thus Harry may not have been Neville's friend in the other timeline, he may have even joined Voldemort. Imagine Neville's reaction to learing that not only is he no longer the BWL but that the villain Harry Potter is. He would feel that the world was doomed and it would put an interesting spin on things. Anyway it is something to think about if you write the story again.

    Herald

    Author's response

    Thanks for a well thought out review to my story, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Anyway, I can't see myself going back to the story, it's completed as is.

    Red
  • The Return of the Boy Who Lived

    (#) HP-HG_fan_forever 2012-07-05 11:25:48 PM

    I have to say I was quite surprised at the way this story started and it will be interesting to see how it goes with a strong Neville from the beginning.

    Author's response

    Thanks, it was actually my goal to see if I could write a story where the characters kept their clothes on for the whole story GRIN It was a fun story, but the lack of conflict caused me to lose interest in writing it after a while, which is why I wrapped it up the way I did.

    Red

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 651802
  • Stories: 39930

Recent Stories