Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

Some More Retribution

by Clell65619 33 Reviews

Harry tries to rescue Daphne in front of the Wizengamot

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres:  - Characters:  - Warnings: [V] [?] - Published: 2008/07/23 - Updated: 2008/07/24 - 4993 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) DrT 2008-07-23 04:52:49 PM

    Interesting chapter. Things worked out about how I thought they would, but I must say how you worked them out was very well done.

    Author's response

    - Ha! Master of the cliche, that's me.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Albeios 2008-07-23 04:53:14 PM

    First review! Read through everything, including the Author's Comments. All in all, all in good order.

    Hopefully you'll write about the aftermath, how each family or everyone will react.

    Maybe even about the resulting kids?
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Vanir 2008-07-23 04:58:34 PM

    This rocked!
    Lying bastards are easily forgiven as long as they lie about the right things. Harry acted a bit more ruthless than i expected, but fully within reason, all things considered. I'm rather shocked by Moody's compassion. I believe Daphne might have had even more interesting ideas for her daddy dearest. Now, this has got to make horrible things happen at school. If I'm not misminded, he did return some of the contracts after the proposed wedding, stating that he wasn't looking for a wife. That sounds like the kind of moronic detail that could bite someones posterior. St. Augustine said that an unjust law is no law. Unfortunately, nothing's been said about the Moronic...

    Thanks. Oh, and kowtow

    Vanir

    Author's response

    - Harry may have fibbed a time or two, but he was honest on why he was protesting the marriage... Line theft and fraud... He committed them both.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) durvish 2008-07-23 05:12:27 PM

    thank you i have been jonesing abit for a new chapter its like a birthday present only my birthday is not for another ten days.

    If i didn't know any better i would have thought that dumbledore was behind the elder greengrass' actions you know the whole master manipulator thing. I love the fact that harry pretty much mopped the floor up with the count using a defensive spell and Alastor Moody his scene makes me shiver a bit.

    thank you so very much
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) DavidMPotter 2008-07-23 05:31:46 PM

    Great chapter. I do hope they stay married and also look forward to future chapters.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) jjracer24 2008-07-23 07:42:17 PM

    I'm glad you've updated. I always seem to be waiting around for the next update. No complaints just praise. Good update, and like its predecessors, I can't wait for the follow up. Keep them coming.

    Oh yeah, I loved the ending with Moody getting his own revenge.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) MonCappy 2008-07-23 08:04:36 PM

    This was a good chapter. I am pleased that Harry got Daphne out of her horrible situation with the Count. I am pleased that both the Count and the male contributor to her DNA (he lost the right to the term father the moment he gave Harry and the Count permission to rape her).

    My only complaint would be how they died. Their deaths were too quick and painless. I do think that Moody executed Cyrus with style (it was not murder.

    I look forward to seeing the fallout of their actions. I am sure that Dumbledore will not be happy with Harry's actions (especially because Harry came out ahead).

    You mentioned that Harry spent 5000,000 Galleons to get the Goblins to do what they did. So how is £37,500,000 (Based on your £75 to the Galleon conversion rate) only a small portion of his fortune? Just how rich is Harry?

    Author's response

    - Well in Harry's 'defense' he didn't intend to kill the Count... He just didn't know what the shield he learned to fight Tom would be quite so 'energetic' against a more feeble caster...

    - And having been bitten by a spider, I can assure you Spider venom is many things, but painless isn't one of them

    - Dumbles reaction is upcoming.

    - Yeah, I sort of wrote myself into a hole like that didn't I? The first draft had the Goblin's uh... fee a cool million. Then I realized how much money I was talking about and scaled it down to 50K, which is some serious buckage at that exchange rate. Fifty thousand however didn't have the immediate emotional response I was looking for, so I made it half a mil and hoped that no one would notice. Curses, foiled again.

    - In answer to your question though, Harry has however much money as he needs.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) grim_kos 2008-07-23 08:23:01 PM

    this chappy is kick ass keep it up and cant wait for the next installment.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) biged78 2008-07-23 09:49:55 PM

    I don't necessarily think I was blindsided, but I will say that it was a definite twist I wasn't expecting. As usual, another excellent chapter. I liked the way you solved Harry's problem and eagerly await the next chapter.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Wolfric 2008-07-23 09:51:31 PM

    Fine chapter. I am glad that Harry and Daphne are together. I am quite curious as to what will follow. I would think Daphne might have some emotional issues from the rape although the dispatch of her father and the rapist might be some comfort. I hope Harry and the goblins get up to some more mischief, maybe Harry can take Albus to the cleaners... Thanks for writing. W.

    Author's response

    - I suspect that when I get to show Daphne's reaction over the next couple of chapters I'm going to piss off more people than I did with chapter 11...

    - I am fortunate to work with a most wonderful woman. She is an immigrant from India who is actually IN a contracted marriage, she met her husband of 20 odd years on her wedding day. She has offered this semi-literate yank a view into a world that I never really believed existed.

    - She has explained to me a mind set that I never suspected... My friend had been expecting a marriage like she had from her earliest childhood. Though she had been something of a 'wild child' (her words) and was in love with another on her wedding day, she went to her bridal bed, not happily, but also without the emotional anguish that our culture expects.

    - This is how I see Daphne...

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 483758
  • Stories: 40148

Recent Stories