Categories > Books > Harry Potter > MY BUNNY HUTCH

YOU'RE ON YOUR OWN!

by Alorkin 19 Reviews

Harry has finally had enough. Rated for swearing.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Angst,Drama - Characters: Dumbledore,Harry,Professor McGonagall,Snape - Published: 2009/02/13 - Updated: 2009/02/13 - 4614 words

Reviews

  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) jabarber69 2009-03-25 03:32:36 PM

    What did he do go to voldie and commit suicide or what? hell if I knew that the old fucker had setup my love hermione as well as the weasleys I would of killed him along with snivellus! then left, wouldnt of killed myself, would of grieved and left the british wiz world probably the wiz world altogether but not give up my magic, but still...

    Author's response

    He had nothing left to live for, Dumbledore made sure everyone he loved was dead. Add to that he's both emotionally distraught and a teenager. As a former police officer, I've seen kids kill themselves with far less reason.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) Treck 2009-03-26 01:56:35 PM

    This is not the evilest Dumbledore I've written. Here, he's merely standoffish. I actually used my dad's (non drunk) personality for this, combined with Dumbledore's canon character. He's interested in Harry's welfare but doesn't want to get personally involved.

    What IS the evilest Dumbles you have?

    Author's response

    I'm working on two now, both multi-chapters, where he actually goes out of his way to ensure Harry is tortured. In one he kills Sirius at Godric's Hollow, and one where he Binds Harry's powers, hoping for an explosion...when he's ready. Most of my Evil Dumbledore stories have him more than willing to use/sacrifice Harry to his own personal gains.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) dennisud 2009-08-16 06:48:15 PM

    I don't know if you've been viewing the Yahoo boards but i suggested a HP/Bewtiched/ mary Poppins cross.

    When you mentioned how harry & his friends were treated and they were killed I wondered, How would Harry be, and for that matter hermione & their friends be IF they were somehow trained by the Witches of Bewitched who lived thousands of years and would make Voldy and Dumbles eat their own entrails!

    Just a thought to ponder!

    Oh and Mary Poppins... make her Endora's older sister!

    Author's response

    Umm...I never really watched 'Bewitched, and Mary Poppins was good the first time...when I was six.

    Still, I'm not certain how you could come up with such an idea while reviewing what is basically a tragic suicide.

    On the other hand, making Snape and Dumbledore eat their own entrails, does have some merit.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) erik 2009-08-17 09:59:19 AM

    A brilliant piece of writing, thanks.

    Author's response

    Thank you. It's time Dumbles got his comeuppance!

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) Vilkath 2009-10-08 01:52:01 PM

    I can't say I really buy this chapter, it mostly just did what every other 'bad dumbledore angry harry fic' has done before. Big long rant then 'poof end'. I just can't buy sucide or death like that, in very least he would gone out his way to hurt and kill all his enemies in a blaze of glory. Especialy if Dumbledore had killed all Harry's friends he would want vengence, he cares a lot more for those around him then his own life.. and quietly giving up like that just doesn't seem like Harry in any shape or form.

    Say he's not that smart.. yet he knew parsel magic, uncovered all those plots even strong wandless magic. This isn't canon harry and thus isn't that dumb to go 'boo hoo dead'. Honestly this harry achieved nothing, he whined like a little brat killed only Snape, and that was by acident and basicaly left for dumbledore to oblivate or kill the witness's. Killing off whole great hall by a 'sudden death eater attack' wouldn't faze him, he achieved nothing and died stupidily and I just can't buy that.

    The first half the fic wasn't to bad, but then again it wasn't anything had not heard a million times before and the end was so unsatisfying and illogical that over all this whole plot bunny seemed like a bust to me.

    Author's response

    Yeah, that was the weak part of this story. I've gotten more than a couple of reviews along those lines...mostly because of the long monologue.

    The idea I was trying to impart here, is that Harry has had far too much...not unlike his tantrum in Dumbledore's office. How much can one person be expected to absorb before he breaks?

    Here, Harry knows that Dumbledore is a worse enemy than Voldemort. He knows that in one way or another, Dumbledore is behind every misfortune in his life, and when his love is murdered, apparently at the behest of the old bastard, he simply says F**k It!

    He understands that Dumbledore created Voldemort, to defeat Grindelwald and is counting on Harry to destroy his mistake.

    ~~...and quietly giving up like that just doesn't seem like Harry in any shape or form.~~

    But that's exactly what he did in DH.

    The Parselmagic is not Parselmagic. He simply spoke the spell in Parseltongue, which he 'does' understand. The secret here, is nobody else speaks it, and so, it would be next to impossible to break without knowing what was cast. Even an approximation wouldn't be sufficient to undo the spell. It's like a one-shot notebook code.

    It wouldn't have been difficult for even a mediocre student to add what is known about all his friends dying, together to find a common thread, and in canon, while Harry is trusting, he's not overly so. He does tend to try to investigate things he doesn't understand. What better thing than the murder of your lover? All it would take is a few questions. While Dumbledore would know how to cover his tracks, I'd suspect Snape would make it known that he was involved, just to torment Harry. (That 'is' canon.)

    The wandless magic was a desperate bid for freedom. He pushed all his magic into that spell in order to escape.

    Dumbledore wouldn't dare. First, there are several hundred students to deal with. Far too many to explain away. Second he never does things by himself. He always uses proxies, so as to keep his hands looking clean. Third, there are at least a dozen angry teachers, who would prevent such an atrocity with 'extreme prejudice'.

    Harry actually did achieve something with his death. Being as both he and the 'Emergency-Reserve BWL' are both dead, the wizards will have to get together in order to eliminate Voldemort, if they want to survive.

    Basically he's saying: "You created this mad-dog, you shoot him!"

    I guess I got pretty preachy there, but then this was one of my more angsty stories.

    ~~it wasn't anything had not heard a million times before~~

    As my dad once told me, Nothing new under the sun. Everything we do is simply a refinement of something someone else did.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) VampireGirl 2010-01-10 05:17:11 PM

    Nice... I love how you made Harry so bad ass. Thanks for the laugh! :-)

    Author's response

    Thank you. I appreciate it, though I saw him more as simply tired of it all.

    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) daled73 2012-04-29 06:49:48 AM

    There are just two words (maybe) missing at the end ofthe story ... Avada Kadavera, or some other lethal curse. Unless you have a total dishwater Minerva here, the Mother of Lions, should, after Dumbelmort's confession, have taken hin down for his crimes against her cubs ... and not Harry alone. Once she knew he was not only guilty, but consiously and knowlingly guilty, the Scotswoman in Minerva should have finally kicked in and put an end to the problem, using the methodology of Brannockburn.

    Author's response

    Personally, I don’t think there’s a punishment severe enough for the old bastard. It is my belief that Voldemort is the lesser of two dark lords. Unfortunately Dumbledore still controls the courts, lawmaking process, minister and the press and pushes the idea that he’s Merlin incarnate. The problem with Minerva is, in canon, she was a doormat. Whenever Dumbledore said anything, she folded, even though she knew he was wrong. Here, he’ll try to find another lamb for roasting, and while she may not like it, she’ll go along. (I wonder if he’s using potions or somesuch on her.)
    On t’totehr ‘and, seeing Minerva with a claymore and targe, would be a fair treat!
    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) genna 2012-05-02 04:01:58 PM

    I like drama when it is not drawn out.

    My preferred ending would have had Hagrid walk forward carrying the BWL. Using the Crouch's potion trick switching the Mom for the son, Snape would stand in for the BWL while HP would be leaving Britain on a red eye.

    Author's response

    As I’ve said before, it was an experiment in what Harry would do if he were at the absolute end of his rope. As a police officer, I’ve seen teenagers kill themselves with far less reason.
    Alorkin
  • MY BUNNY HUTCH

    (#) ValentineRevenge 2012-09-21 02:39:28 PM

    This is amazing, the beginning of this rant shows just all those little plot holes that Rowling left.

    Author's response

    hello Valentine Revenge

    Yeah. That's the fun part of fanfiction. every author leaves holes for us to fill.

    Alorkin

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 489231
  • Stories: 40148

Recent Stories