Categories > Books > Harry Potter > A Fist Full of Galleons

Opening Gambits

by DrT 31 Reviews

Everyone makes their first moves at Hogwarts; not all are successful.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Draco,Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione,Seamus Finnigan,Snape - Warnings: [!!] - Published: 2009/04/23 - Updated: 2009/04/23 - 3631 words - Complete

Reviews

  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) dennisud 2009-04-23 05:39:50 PM

    Now if Snape did this in canon it would have made fr such a much more entertaining story, but alas JKR seems a bit stunted in this area of writing up to a point.

    Snape is being the Porper Slytherin and I think it will save the secondary lot (Zabini, Knott, Davie, Greengrass) but the three Sttoges(Draco,Crabbe,Goyle) will meet an appropriate fate.

    Other then Hermione and to a lesser extent Ginny will Luna be a quirky sister-type or second love for Harry here?

    Finally I suggest viewing a few more classic Spagetti westerns and a few Japanese Feudal era movies to give you a bit more inspiration.

    They say The Samurai were the perfect Slytherins with words!

    ;-)

    dennisud
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) DrT 2009-04-23 06:03:10 PM

    Ryudo -- Draco's future in this fic?


    Pain
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) vl100butch 2009-04-23 06:19:03 PM

    are you going to have Harry watch some Rocky movies?

    how about some episodes of the A-Team..."I pity the fool...."
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) MonCappy 2009-04-23 08:06:54 PM

    I am annoyed with you now. By having Snape torture Draco, you made my opinion of him in this story go up a slight notch. That wasn't nice.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) red_jacobson 2009-04-23 09:27:43 PM

    Enjoyable chapter, and thanks for the speedy update. I'm liking that Snape is acting like an actual Slytherin for a change.

    red
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2009-04-23 11:50:48 PM

    It's a bit odd to see Harry trusting Snape as he is, but I suppose that no real essential information is being leaked. Worst case scenario, Voldemort becomes aware that they believe Nagini is a Horcrux.

    At any rate, I enjoyed this update thoroughly. I do wish, however, that Luna and especially Padma had played larger roles.

    Looking forward to more.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) ladysavay 2009-04-24 12:10:37 AM

    "That's a bloody great snake". Well, that's a bloody great chapter. Very well done. I like a well informed Harry and I'm very glad he is investing his trust in Hermione.

    Can't wait for more.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) BenRG 2009-04-24 03:24:48 AM

    Don't worry, Doc. I wouldn't call anyone who could deliver the Cruciatus Hex with a smile 'good'. Snape has his own agenda that involves Voldemort's defeat. Frankly, if he had lived that long, I would have expected him to attack Harry with lethal intent the moment Voldemort was down for the count. Such is the nature of a petty and vindictive man.

    I hope we will see more of what has changed Harry so much for the better.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) Clell65619 2009-04-24 07:58:38 AM

    - Great Chapter Doc.

    - You know, the way the Dark side throws Crucios around it's a wonder that they can recruit anyone at all.

    - The thought occurred to me that the Potterverse has almost no teenage rebellion. Just about the only example that comes to mind is Sirius and Andromeda rebelling against their family, other than that, people appear to toe the party line of the family they're born to...

    - Hmm. There's a story in that...
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) DrT 2009-04-24 10:43:59 AM

    Clell? Ever read the Screwtape Letters by CS Lewis? I see the DEs something like that -- your position is defined on who you can beat, hex, or bully. If someone hexes you, you find someone weaker to hex. A fun part of Jbern's 'To Fight the Coming Darkness' was watching Pettigrew 'climb' the ladder!

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 650684
  • Stories: 39930

Recent Stories