Categories > Books > Harry Potter > A Fist Full of Galleons

Bits and Pieces

by DrT 38 Reviews

Some Slytherins change their minds about attacking Harry's friends; some don't. Dumbledore targets Hermione, so someone targets Dumbledore.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Drama - Characters: Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione,Luna,Snape - Warnings: [!!] [V] [?] - Published: 2009/05/05 - Updated: 2009/05/05 - 3582 words - Complete

Reviews

  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) MonCappy 2009-05-05 09:56:05 PM

    THis was a good chapter. It seems obvious to me that Dumbledore needs to die. He has tried to create a rift between Harry and Hermione. That is unconscionable and he needs to die for trying.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) jabarber69 2009-05-05 10:32:33 PM

    first of all I know this is all make believe...but still the brits are portrayed as so arrogant they think if it aint british then it aint nothing, they also think the rest of the world like the colonies or australia or whatever are mere children and use primitive magic...but in their arrogance and dumbing down over the millenumum by power hungry ministers and headmasters they have lost contact with all the other powerful magic users in the world to the point they either think they are myths, legends or fairy tales! so snape wondering how harry did these things, his mind just cant seem to conprehend or grasp the ideal that there are other more advanced magic wielders in the world other than what he knows in his limited way! there did I explain it well...great story as always!
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) DarQuing 2009-05-05 11:22:14 PM

    That was awesome. I think my favorite part was Harry melding into Hogwarts. :) I've always felt that Hogwarts was sentient to some degree, though in my mind the sentience is actually the heart of an elder dragon (think the dragons from the Eragon series). :P

    Please update soon! :)
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) TheClueless 2009-05-06 12:08:08 AM

    So far, this has been a very nice story. Of course, I expect great things from your stories, since - with one or two exceptions - I've liked them all.

    I particularly like this story's version of Snape. I can see this version of him as a spy, and not just a bully. He might not like Harry, but he's smart enough to figure out that his best bet to earn points with the "Fourth Faction" is through Harry.

    (One of the few things that I liked about Deathly Hollows is that the facts show that Severus Snape did what he did for himself. No matter what Dumbledore might have liked to think.)

    Likewise, I consider how Albus Dumbledore is acting in this story to be in character. He's so caught up in the ideal that people can be redeemed - after all, he turned away from "the Dark path" - that he doesn't seem to get the damage he's letting these people do. Plus, it's hard not to get the idea - from the books - that Dumbledore might have bought (at least partially) into his own press, and thus believe he knows best.

    As for the comments about how not rejecting "Muggle" culture would hurt Hermione in the British Wizarding World, I can believe it. As much as I like him, Arthur shouldn't have been head of the Misuse of Muggle Artifacts section of the Ministry of Magic. He doesn't know enough about the Muggle world. Even though I don't doubt that he got an "O" on his Muggles Studies NEWT at Hogwarts. (Which in itself is pretty damning of the British Wizarding World.)

    I'll be eagerly awaiting the next chapter!
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) DrT 2009-05-06 04:26:02 AM

    whatareyouevensaying -- no, it was a note to readers who might wonder how Harry could split a person into 70+ segments without killing them -- hands and feet alone would account for over 50!
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) DrT 2009-05-06 04:35:31 AM

    whatareyouevensaying -- the note was for the readers, to explain how Harry could split someone into 70+ pieces without killing them!

    jababarber69 -- there are only two ways to look at the canon!wizarding world -- they are a bunch of bigoted, incompetent, illogical folks, but the British are the most brilliant of the lot (as Rowling's characters seem to think), or the British are like that but they aren't the pinnacle of the wizarding world, they just think they are.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) PerfesserN 2009-05-06 07:28:01 AM

    Nice double entendre in the title, bits and pieces of information, bits and pieces of Marietta and Cho. . . Ravenclaws are supposed to be smart, I wonder if they'll learn?
    An enjoyable, informative chapter, looking forward to more.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) DrT 2009-05-06 07:45:24 AM

    PerfesserN -- Marietta has learned her lesson and may not be heard from again.

    Pansy has not.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) dansmith 2009-05-06 08:47:49 AM

    Great story. Harry is kicking ass, that's what we like.
  • A Fist Full of Galleons

    (#) Meteoricshipyards 2009-05-06 11:53:59 AM

    Loved the chapter! Loved the list of used groups. Very funny.

    Thanks.

    Tom A.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 667933
  • Stories: 39962

Recent Stories