Categories > Books > Harry Potter > JEDI POTTER

Chapter 16

by Alorkin 16 Reviews

Rated for language. Rita gets to writin', Dumbledore looks stupid, Draco makes threats, Voldy is upset, Harry gets his ass kicked, Dobby gets promoted Hermione kisses some boo boos, Harry talks to...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Crossover,Drama - Characters: Arthur Weasley,Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione,Molly Weasley,Snape - Warnings: [!] - Published: 2010/07/11 - Updated: 2010/07/12 - 11244 words - Complete

Reviews

  • JEDI POTTER

    (#) Theo 2010-07-12 11:52:17 PM

    I think 1 gallon is closer to 100 pounds than the 5 JKR said and 20 you said. Makes more sense with the prices she said throughout the story.

    I wonder, if Sturnpike was a muggleborn or all of his known magical ancestors were muggleborn in origin and had no known magical relatives alive, would Rufus have been punished nearly as bad, or if at all?

    Author's response

    You're probably right, but then Harry's wand would have cost him over twelve hundred dollars. That's a sizable chunk of change!

    I based it on the first cost actually mentioned, that being the cost of the paper in PS/SS. Hagrid told Harry to pay the owl five of the little bronze ones. In 1991, the average cost of a paper in the US was 35 cents. Divide that by five and you get 7 cents (or at the average RoE in the 90's of 1.8), 3.8 pence per knut. Multiply that by 29, and you get US$2.03 or 1.12 pounds per Sickle, and times 17 is US$34.51 or 19.17 Pounds per Galleon.

    I have to see Stan as a near-squib pureblood. The bigotry in canon, is such that squibs are shunned, but most jobs go to purebloods regardless their capability. If he's a near-squib, he'd be shunted off to a position that makes little difference. What better than the conductor of the Knight Bus?

    Amelia is seen in canon as being fair, impartial and absolutely unwavering in her dedication to duty. I believe had she lived in canon, she'd have been as much a force for change as Hermione wanted to be.


    As for Stan, even if he had been muggle born, I believe she would have been appalled at Scumgouger's actions, and would have pressed as hard as she did, to punish him. The re-formed Wizengamot most likely would have agreed...in principle, but probably wouldn't have punished him as hard. At this point in time the purebloods still have a great deal of control.

    Alorkin
  • JEDI POTTER

    (#) Cateagle 2010-07-13 05:13:36 PM

    Yes, I can see what you've got planned for that attack on Amelia and it should be interesting to watch and even more amusing to witness the survivors trying to explain what happened to Tommy-boy without getting too Crucio'd or just AK'd.

    Author's response

    I kinda figured you'd get it.

    As fr the resultant pain, Ol' Lucy is gonna have a very bad day.

    Alorkin
  • JEDI POTTER

    (#) erik 2010-07-14 10:44:20 AM

    Great update with a well written mad, bad DD and a very unexpected twist with Chang, which I fully expect Tom to disbelieve.

    Author's response

    Thank you, Erik.

    I figure even Dumbley has a breaking point. Snicker!

    As for Cho, why should the Death Eaters get to have all the fun?

    While Tommy doesn't necessarily believe, he's more pissed that she'd make the threat. What matters is that Draco believes, and since he does, so does Lucius.

    Alorkin
  • JEDI POTTER

    (#) Teresa 2010-07-14 09:27:08 PM

    I agree that Ming would outclass Voldy! I once started thinking about all the fictional villains who could do that and hit 50 easily. And that was just a short list, one that stuck to human and humanoids. If it had included non human or humanoid sentients it would have doubled. I've always had a thing for science fiction and fantasy! Quite frankly Dumbles scored higher as a villian then he did; Voldy's just a schoolyard bully with pretensions. True, he's a nasty piece of work, and having the DE's to back him helps but other than that if he had met strong opposition the first time he'd have been toast. It wouldn't have been easy, but a stratagey similar to Harry's current one would have sufficed. It seems that Dumbles made sure that the people who could have done such a thing were either killed, imprisoned, or sidelined. Come to think of it, it wouldn't suprise me if Dumbles wasn't involved in what happened to Neville's parents........ Dumbles seems to prefer any competant people to be in his pocket and if they refuse and/or resist he gets them out of the way by various means! I look forward to the next chapter, and hope that Dumbles, Voldy, Snape and the Malfoys prove the efficiancy of a certain chinese curse once again! :)

    Author's response

    Yeah, Voldemort is small p'taters when it comes to being evil...in canon. However in Fanon, quite a few authors have made him a force to be reckoned with. I'm trying to keep him on the psychotic side, but not as outright horrible as a few. And you're right. Dumbledore is a far worse villain than Voldy could ever dream of being.

    I discovered long ago that the way to stop a bully was to knock him on his ass. Despite his magical power, if the rest of the WW banded together, Voldemort would have been a bad memory.

    Unfortunately Dumbledore seems to believe that appeasement is a better way.

    It don't work!

    Dumbley/Longbottom connection: It'
    s the only thing that makes sense to me. I figured he planned ahead for an emergency stand-by BWL, in case the Dursleys got too 'enthusiastic'.

    Chinese Curse: You read my mind.

    Alorkin
  • JEDI POTTER

    (#) dogbertcarroll 2010-07-15 12:41:34 AM

    Don't forget the Force also tells Jedi about important upcoming events. The assassination of Amelia would be important enough for some of them to get a vision of it unless specifically protected against.

    Author's response

    "Unless specifically protected against."

    Smirks

    Alorkin
  • JEDI POTTER

    (#) NobleK 2013-09-02 05:32:22 PM

    Your friend insulting himself cracked me up. Q. WHICH U.S.S. Constellation? I'm well aware several capital-class vessels have gone under the name, including carriers; and cruisers of various types.

    Author's response

    USS Constellation CV-64

    Alorkin

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 490162
  • Stories: 40149

Recent Stories