Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Escape and Return!

Politics

by DrT 11 Reviews

The members of the North American Confederation make decisions, and two Horcruxes are dealt with.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG - Genres: Drama - Characters: Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione,Snape - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2011/08/01 - Updated: 2011/08/01 - 5238 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Escape and Return!

    (#) Rob 2011-08-01 06:57:29 AM

    Nice. Plenty of the power he knows not in this little gathering. Wish you had kept it Harmony though. :(

    Author's response

    Haven't decided on how that aspect of the story might finish. . . .
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) grenouille 2011-08-01 09:14:32 AM

    Nice work, doc. More political than usual, but it works out nicely within the story's context. I can't wait to see Voldie and the Munchers get overrun.

    Very logical explanation for Harry's power loss in the last two books. Well, it works for me, anyway /grin/.

    grenouille
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) shiro_wolfman_K 2011-08-01 02:38:38 PM

    Interesting, the politics are at least original and make you see that even when they are more advanced in some areas, they can still be killed if Voldemort decided to, so they are taking careful measures about it.

    I wonder, will this be another Harem of your's or will you let it normal, with they finding others people for each another? It's curious, I like other's want this to be Harmony, and a big part of me want it to be Lunar Harmony. But that's imposing too much.

    Thanks for the chapter.
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) brad 2011-08-01 05:43:04 PM

    Nuts, so you're not going to have Harry and Hermione become a couple. Well, not right now, anyway. I guess that's alright ... it was the friendship between the two, the uncompromising loyalty and support of Hermione, that dragged me into this HP thing in the first place.

    So, while they might not be in love, there were still some good things brought out into the open here. Harry's unselfishness in wanting Hermione to 'live her life'. Hermione's resolve to stick with him (of course). And the big hug. :-)

    Interesting that Harry's currently got the wrong idea about Ginny, even if his chest monster has forgotten about her charms.

    Looking forward to witnessing any results of Harry's power-up from losing his connection(s) to Riddle.

    You know, that was an excelent speech by the senior Old Believer at the end. It's good that you've built those ideals into the assault group's motivation right from the start. Good show. I'm feeling hopeful about the magical world.

    Author's response

    Nope, no chest monster, no Albus Severus -- none of that in this fic! Ginny has had her mention, and Ron will have his soon enough
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) an0n07 2011-08-01 07:29:56 PM

    woot woot. Crawfish boil!!! and you spelled it right! a true southerner!!! I like the voodo Queen avenue. I also like your Old Believer sect. Were you the one that wrote about tabitha (i think) an American old believer that goes to britain to help in the first war and in the second?

    Author's response

    How else would you spell it? -g- I lived in NO 1991-2006. The theatre, btw , where the ones behind Lakeside Mall (now gone) -- I remember the announcement they always used to make about business groups being able to rent them out for meetings in the mornings.

    And yes, I wrote 'To the Rescue' -- the set up for the Old Believers and the NA Confederation come from there. Readers of that story (on this site and Schnoogle) will recognize the three unnamed Old Believer team leaders -two male, ine female - later in the story.
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) SomeGuyFawkes 2011-08-01 09:51:22 PM

    Entertaining. Of course, Phineas Nigellus's portrait must, even now, be guiding an army of DE assassins to Harry. ;)

    Thanks for the update.
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) Wolfric 2011-08-02 01:59:44 AM

    Fine chapter. Thanks for writing. W.
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) siaru 2011-08-02 04:21:36 AM

    Interesting plot-bandage there, the idea that Harry was being reduced in power throughout HBP/DH. And Snape's not-Occlumency lessons then served to smash the leak wide open to assure a mutual takedown scenario. As did the supposedly-protective blood wards in Surrey, most likely. Will we get a ward analysis in this one? Or have they crashed too long ago? The wardstones, if they survive, could tell the tale.

    Entertaining as always. Carry on, please.

    Author's response

    The wards are long gone and Harry at this point couldn't care less about the Dursleys, a closed chapter in his life as far as he's concerned.
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) Meteoricshipyards 2011-08-02 08:36:45 AM

    Enjoyable. The confederation is playing nice together; alas that our politicians don't.

    Would be interested in more inclusion of Voodoo, but it's your story, and the Old Believers always seem overwhelmingly powerful.

    Luna always seemed a candidate for being related or part of the Old Believers.

    Anyway, interesting story. Glad to see your still writing. Thanks for sharing.

    Tom A.

    Author's response

    Thanks for the review. Thinking about it, I realized that the Confederation actually has its collective head in the sand. Many of the parts which make the 'mainstream' magic users nervous -- the Voodoo Queens, the Collective/technomages, and of course most of all the Old Believers -- are the ones being proactive.
  • Escape and Return!

    (#) Cateagle 2011-08-07 07:03:11 PM

    Well, it's not Harmonious yet, but there's still that possibility out there, so I shall not lose hope. It's rather interesting to see such a diverse and colorful collection of groups working together to deal with a problem that requires unique action. I do wonder how Albus' portrait and Severus will take it when they find out what's going down, especially when they find out that Harry's horcrux was removed without killing him (I suspect the shock that they don't know everything will be a considerable blow). In the meantime, I suspect the ISR (Intelligence, Survelliance, and Reconnaissance) force already present in Britain will come across a lot of interesting information that will be of later use, in both dealing with Tom and in cleaning up the overall mess there.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 610501
  • Stories: 40308

Recent Stories