Categories > Books > Harry Potter

DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

by Alorkin 29 Reviews

So many people have asked me to write a sequel to my 'A SHOCKING DISCOVERY'. Here is my attempt at a story that was even more difficult to write than the original. I hope you enjoy it.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Angst,Drama - Characters: Arthur Weasley,Ginny,Molly Weasley,Petunia Dursley,Professor McGonagall,Vernon Dursley - Warnings: [!] [V] [?] - Published: 2007/08/20 - Updated: 2007/08/21 - 11740 words - Complete

Reviews

  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) drifter 2010-09-06 05:45:43 PM

    Grin, I think both you, and your sister, are right, and I enjoyed this second story a lot.

    Your first "Discovery" was powerful, and me in tears for a number of reasons. This one helped the hurt and seddness heal.

    Thank you.

    Question: (Luna) "The boy who died? He was alive again, but all grown-up." Does that mean a resurrection, or, did he grow in the next "great adventure"? If he is in the next adventure, will he be her connection to the next level?

    Again, thank you for another great story.

    May the MUSE always be with you!!!
    ~.^

    Author's response

    Discovery was intended to grab the throat. This was meant to show some of the aftereffects. I am glad this story helped to ease the pain.

    Luna is a seer of potentialities. She sees what -could- be, not necessarily what -will- be. so she got two different views of Harry at the same time. On a s dead child and one as a grown-up.

    Alorkin
  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) NuitTombee 2010-10-13 08:54:53 AM

    I loved this just as much as Discovery.
    TLK = The Lion King?

    Author's response

    Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it. This was a bit harder to write than 'Discovery', due to it's complexity and I had to cut the sheer number of characters sharply to prevent a hundred thousand word one-shot.


    And yes. TLK is The Lion King. Unfortunately, You won't be seeing any new posts as FireLemming or as she's also known, Simbamarasa, passed away in September. Her gallery is both extensive and well executed, and I highly recommend visiting it.

    Alorkin
  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) djhardim 2011-02-25 07:35:55 PM

    Very good.

    One thought - how about a crossover with "Early Edition"?

    Gary Hobson reads about Harry's death in the newspaper (the story made international headlines). He contacts his cop friend, who in term contacts the Surrey Police Department.

    Author's response

    Hello djhardim.

    I am not at all familiar with 'Early Edition', and so, cannot comment on the idea, however, I took a look on Wiki, and it sounds like an interesting concept. If you are looking for a project, there's one for you!

    How would Dumbledore react to learn that other people...people outside hes sphere of influence, are interested in his secret weapon?

    Alorkin
  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) daled73 2011-03-10 09:18:13 PM

    I see you have been thoroughly chastised for the preceived "shortcomings" of the story everyone begged you for (lol).

    Which proves you can't please everybody, so you wite your own story, being true to your vision (as I think you were) and let the opinions fall where they may.

    I think you did an excellent job and I agree with most of your plot decisions in this story based on personal experiences that I won't bother to discuss.

    And those I don't subscribe to are at least reasonable choices, and so "Bobs your uncle".

    Well done, or, as we American Navy types would say, "Bravo Zulu".

    Author's response

    Heya daled.

    Thanks. that particular story garnered me a few less than approving reviews, (Wait until you read THREESOME!) but as i like to say, even poor reviews tell me where my writing needs work.

    I tried to keep the story as close to the first as possible, but a lot crept in. In the end, I was satisfied.

    As one who's sent far too long in both the canoe club and uncle sam's misguided children, I'll see your 'Bravo Zulu' and raise you a 'sierra hotel'.

    Alorkin
  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) Destroyerdrt 2011-11-16 09:16:38 PM

    Did you ever think of doing an Au of these two stories where the thief got there before Harry died but the Headmaster got there after Harry was taken to the Hospital where may be Vernon's bosses wife recognized him and so did some one that know about magic?

    Author's response

    Hello, again Destroyerdrt.
    Umm…I don’t know. I think that would be pushing the bounds of believability a bit far. It’s a plausible idea, but would be a lot different. On the other hand, ’30 minutes that changed everything’ by Radaslab, has a similar premise.
    In addition, I am working on two other stories in a vaguely similar vein. The first has little Harry deciding he’s had enough at age four, and leaves the Dursley home forever. It’ll be helpful Amelia, manipulative (borderline dark-lord) Dumbledore, some interesting twists and turns, and as usual, Harry/Hermione.
    In the second, Harry is sold to the army, again at age four, and raised to be a lethal assassin intended to be turned on the magical world. That one will eventually be Harry/Hermione/Luna.
    Neither is ready for posting, but when they are, I will.
    Alorkin
  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) NobleK 2013-09-04 07:19:00 PM

    POOR HARRY!! :-( #sad #DISGUSTED

    Author's response

    Unfortunately it happens all too frequently.

    Alorkin
  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) arisboch 2014-02-11 10:26:21 PM

    Alfred Eddings Newmann, as in Alfred E. Newmann? Ingenious, just like the rest of teh story.
  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) KaldynGarek 2014-05-10 12:27:47 PM

    Not much to say except "I'm crying"... Again.
  • DISCOVERY: Revisited. (The Butterfly Effect)

    (#) hpfanscs 2014-08-22 02:11:21 PM

    Since Dumbledore is into the pureblood agenda while saying the opposite, I would like to see his older brother, Aberforth to cast him from the family = Albus no-name. I would think that would be most appropriate for what he has done. Just my two cents worth. Great follow-up.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 659659
  • Stories: 39958

Recent Stories