Categories > Books > Harry Potter > When Vernon Didn't Miss

The End of August

by DrT 22 Reviews

As August ends, everyone has plans.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG - Genres: Drama,Romance - Characters: Dobby,Dumbledore,Hagrid,Hermione,Lucius - Published: 2007/12/01 - Updated: 2007/12/01 - 3803 words - Complete

Reviews

  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Wolfric 2007-12-03 01:38:47 AM

    I have just read your story to this point and I enjoyed it. I think it has great potential. Thanks for writing. W.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) lycus 2007-12-03 08:55:46 AM

    That was another great chapter, And thank you for having the master manipulator being manipulated that was very cool and funny. And as far as the harry and hermione interaction it was great it wasn't forced or rushed, Now I don't think that they should already be thinking I love you already but should be closer. And the fact that harry is going to be less likely to slack off in class is just giong to seperate him more from ron (witch I really don't mind) and make rons' inferiority complex and jealousy kick in. witch will make hermione think that harry was right and ron isn't a true friend.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Vanir 2007-12-03 09:31:54 AM

    Thank you.

    I just love the sense of aloofness you give the Old ones and the druids. Mrs. Granger's response to the transfiguring was such a brilliant piece of characterization that i feel quite unworthy of calling myself an author. kowtow The abundant stupidity of the purebloods is fairly obvious, as is the stagnation of the entire culture. The amusing thing is that you have even more stagnant beings pointing this out. It's things like these that raises you above the merely bloody brilliant authors. Thanks again.
    Vanir

    Author's response

    RE: Mrs Granger, well, that is the experience of a middle aged married male! ;-) Osiris will explain why he isn't as detached at the moment as many of the brothers. As for them, Harry is a breath of fresh air, and many of them awaken because of his youth and enthusiasm. I would think of the brothers as semi-hermits, self involved and involved with their magic and hobbies, and along comes Harry, who basically symbolizes their chance to really USE their skills for a good cause.

    I'd pity their opponents, if they weren't so nasty and evil

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) brad 2007-12-03 05:20:19 PM

    Harry getting plenty of 'male bonding' ... the organisation being called the 'brotherhood' ... I'm wondering why there aren't any immortal females hanging around? Reinforces my hope that, this time, Harry and Hermione will join the gang, maybe even lead them, come the end of the story.

    Nice idea of Harry being 'nearly' Hermione's intellectual equal ... JKR totally missed the mark with her prattling on about Harry and Ginny being 'equals' in canon - pfah! (on the other hand, canon!Harry didn't turn out to be much) - but I reckon Harry and Hermione would have a much better chance.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) loatroll 2007-12-05 08:50:28 AM

    Totally awesome! These chapters made my day alot brighter, a fun and interesting addition to the Potter-verse.
    The whole we're all immortal and hermits but still regular beings is fantastic.
    As others have said I love the scene between the Flamels and Dumbledore. I'm really looking forward reading what you come up with next.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) loatroll 2007-12-05 08:52:54 AM

    Oh and I nearly forgot, I'm glad you're distancing Harry from Ron (I've always seen him as a jealous git).
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Teresa 2007-12-06 02:29:21 AM

    Ah, another great chapter from you Dr T! This was an excellent suprize to find on my (crossing fingers) fixed pc! I enjoyed seeing Jason tease his friend a bit about adapting to the latest century......snicker. It makes me wonder what the Brotherhood would think of the far future a la Star Trek? Though I could see them enjoying philosophical discussions with Spock and Data. Jason might like to talk with Worf and Kirk on combat situations....... and Asclepius and Drs. Crusher, Basahir, and McCoy could have a nice getogether. Osirus could discuss command situations with Kirk, Sisko and Picard. In short, your lastest chapter has had me thinking about how these characters will interact with the Hogwarts group, but also some of my favorites from a very different reality! Thanks again, and I liked seeing how Harry and Hermione interacted. They are always good together as friends or something more.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) janeaverage 2007-12-06 02:03:16 PM

    I always enjoy your AUs, but this one particularly intrigues me. I guess it's all the background of other... hidden societies, sorta. Very interesting, especially as you seem to have put a lot of thought into their philosophies and conflicts.

    I'm thoroughly enjoying the way that everybody gets so GLEEFUL about Dumbledore being on the Old Ones' bad side! Gellert and Nicholas sharing an opinion tickled me.

    Also, LOVED THIS LINE:
    "Thank you, dear," Mrs. Granger said, in the same tone all wives use to their husbands when they manage to do an expected task to her near-satisfaction.

    (I hope, if you have a wife, she doesn't read your fic ;) )

    Author's response

    Dumbledore has a lots of fans in the Potterverse (e.g. the Order of Phoenix), but he has also stepped on or over any number of folks. so, they are happy when others get on over on AD.

    As for the other, no, my wife does not read my fanfics. And if she did, I would say I got that idea from my mother and ex-wife.

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) banner 2007-12-08 01:07:45 PM

    This is interesting. I like the characterizations, especially Ron and Hermione.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) skippy64 2009-05-13 05:45:01 PM

    Really good and well written story

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 483574
  • Stories: 40149

Recent Stories