Categories > Books > Harry Potter > When Vernon Didn't Miss

The End of August

by DrT 22 Reviews

As August ends, everyone has plans.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG - Genres: Drama,Romance - Characters: Dobby,Dumbledore,Hagrid,Hermione,Lucius - Published: 2007/12/01 - Updated: 2007/12/01 - 3803 words - Complete

Reviews

  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Jimm 2007-12-01 01:51:03 PM

    Good chapter, thanks for sharing it with us.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Pointer 2007-12-01 03:32:47 PM

    "We'll announce our deaths, send him his inheritance, and be well-hidden in the Yukon."

    Yay!!

    I always wondered why someone would give up the rock that kept them alive.

    Love the story. Hated the bit about Hedwig...Which is probably enough reason to keep it in.

    Author's response

    I've wondered as well, but I usually just have them living out normal livetimes after the elixer runs out. Since Rowling now claims they're dead, I decided to do this (Yes, I know she's said they died around 1996, but she's horrible with dates)

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Cateagle 2007-12-01 07:21:24 PM

    -chuckle- I loved the response of Nicholas to Dumbles; Dumbles arrogance is going to cost him plenty in the long run. His choice, his payment; though I doubt he expected the cost to be so high.

    I see Lucius has set things in motion with the diary. I wonder if -this- Harry will recognize it as soon as he sees it and finds a way to deal with it at Hogwarts before things get so messed up.

    I loved the way Jason was explaining matters to Hermione's mother. I'm sure that'll go a long way toward helping her parents cope later.

    I keep wondering if Harry will get another owl or will get something else as a familiar and trusted message carrier? I could see him getting one that could respond to parseltongue, that'd make for some interesting scenes.

    Thanks for an interesting and enjoyable twist on things.

    Author's response

    I haven't decided about Harry getting another familiar, so will not rush it. As for Hermione, she and Harry will be close, but I haven't yet decided if they will do more than casually date for not. Again, I'm trying to leave trapdoors which will allow me to go in different directions.

    Glad you liked the chapter!

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) mathiasgranger 2007-12-02 09:07:56 AM

    Well, considering you have just started here I am enjoying this story greatly.

    You have always done a remarkable job on the plot aspects of your stories and this is just another example of this.

    The Harry and Hermione interactions are suitable in a preteens mutual like sort of way, and Harry outgrowing Ron is something I sort of expected to happen in canon...and really should have if JKR wanted to have a realistic grasp of interpersonal relationships.

    Thanks for writing,
    Matt
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) siaru 2007-12-02 10:09:58 AM

    Per chapter one, Harry's got some training in Legilimency, at least enough to sift Ron's surface and broadcast thoughts. Even if his training's insufficient for him to ferret out all the machinations, he'll soon know just how much of a setup all his contacts with Weasleys have been. That will leave a gaping hole where the third part of the Trio should be (and, with the Tuatha coming in, triads become if anything more important magically), so who do you have in mind this time to join with Harry Potter and Hermione "the power Dumbledore knows not" Granger? Not Ginny -- raised to fixation on Boy!Who!Lived tales and carrying the TMR diary, she's loose canon here. You haven't shown anyone advocating or helping Neville, so he's still broken, whether or not he's a hidden spare.

    I know you're fond of putting Luna in that position, but it would take some real power-up and imposed-focus relative to canon for a first-year Luna to be cogent enough to join the team, let alone contribute meaningfully; will she be the Tuatha's intercept/probe/avatar here, as Harry's is the Old Ones'? Can she fulfill the role from over in Ravenclaw House?
    Her memorization of the Quibbler bestiary still shows as enough of a love of abstract knowledge (or Quibbler Fundamentalism) to sort her there, unless someone interferes... or will that be Harry and Hermione, on the train?

    What 'blasphemy' had the Tuatha so upset -- Greek romantic ideals (North Aegean MBLA)? Monotheism? Another DrT teaser has me intrigued...

    I can just see Brother Scorpion in the DADA classroom, teaching an intruding Snape the meaning of real pain. Even more of a delight would be him teaching Umbridge the true meaning of might-makes-rght.

    Again, thanks for sharing this.

    Author's response

    Both groups were polytheistic. However, although we don't know the details, Druids believed in some sort of reincarnation. Osiris and his followers refusing to die so they can be properly reborn would be one sort of blasphemy. They also would have had two different concepts of the soul as well. In addition, of course, the Druids would not have thought much of men, no matter how powerful and long-lived, posing as gods.

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) FenrisWolf 2007-12-02 10:42:52 AM

    Argh! I had this almost finished and then my computer ate my review! So,her goes again:

    First of all, I loved seeing Nicholas bust Dumble's chps over the stone, especially when the Headmaster got all pompous with his crack about the 'well-ordered mind'. If he'd said that right after I'd buried my lifelong love because of actions he had forced me to follow, I'd do a lot mor than vebally berate the old codger.

    Second, I really like Harry's new teachers, and look forward to seeing the interaction between them and the rest of the faculty and student body, not to mention the Druid contingent seeking to reestablish their Faith in Great Britain.

    All in all, another great piece of work from your gifted pen. I'm looking forward to reading what happens next!
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2007-12-02 10:57:25 AM

    Pretty solid update, overall. I always like seeing Dumbledore out of his element, and this chapter's brief conversation was no exception. I'm especially glad that Harry will be going back to Hogwarts soon.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) sweetgirl 2007-12-02 03:40:03 PM

    Loved Flamel going off on Dumbles and the the old switch a roo he did with the stones. I wonder if Dumbles ever found out he was duped. I mean why would Flamel trust him with the stone when Flamel was older and possibly more knowledgeable about these things. The bit about Ron not being a true friend is acurate. Even if the letter Harry sent him was lost or destoryed before he read it, why didn't he take any action to contact Harry. I mean he had not heard from Harry all summer but yet didn'tdo anything to find out what happened to him. Was he even worried about him. Ron hasn't lifted a finger to find out what happened to Harry, and I know best friends just don't do that. At least he could have wrote Hermione and asked her if she had heard from Harry but he didn't wven do that. I personally think he has outgrown his friendship with Ron, and I hope that when they do meet up Ron gives some lame excuse and Harry just forgives him. That just gives Ron an excuse to do inconsiderate things more often, if he believes he can get away with it.

    Author's response

    Ron was worried about Harry earlier in the summer, but when Harry disappeared, he just expected Harry to get in contact with him. Remember, the Ministry was notified that Harry had new magical guardians, and Arthur would have known that. Ron will be upset that Harry did not then try and get in contact with him. Ron would see himself the hero for wanting to go get Harry (as in book 2), but since he didn't convince the twins to go early, how would Harry know that?

    Ron is 12, and doesn't see that.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Clell65619 2007-12-02 04:57:34 PM

    Good Lord Doc, reading your story makes me look at my tripe and develop quite the inferiority complex

    The Flamels faking their deaths following Nick abusing Albus is a classic scene. Fan Fiction needs its own awards show.

    Jason's explanation to Mrs. Granger of the situation Hermione is in was perhaps the clearest best explanation I've seen in any story canon or fanon...

    Once again, we're not worthy!

    Author's response

    I've used the basic explanation before, although of course added the part about stealing children's magic, making them squibs ffom DH.

    That alone made me realize that having 'Pureblood' means you're likely a moron. Is there any fairly intelligent character who claims to be a Pureblood who isn't stupid or totally lacking in sense in some way? Fred and George maybe, although they are wrapped in their own way. (I don't think we know Mcgonagall's status).

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) vasilis01 2007-12-02 07:34:49 PM

    I loved this chapter. Especially the way you handle the Flamel\Dumbles scene. Keep writing.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 481826
  • Stories: 40155

Recent Stories