Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

Summer - Year Two

by Clell65619 33 Reviews

The Summer before second year.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres:  - Characters:  - Warnings: [?] - Published: 2008/06/03 - Updated: 2008/06/03 - 5825 words

Reviews

  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) kcourtkat 2008-06-03 06:10:57 PM

    I like your writing style. I'm also looking forward to the mess that I just know DD will make of second year. I also agree with DrT, a scene with Sirius would be epic.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) stoned-dwarf 2008-06-03 11:02:45 PM

    Leave out the extraneous aspects of the Marvel Universe (i.e. Onslaught, any sort of off the wall divergences). Harry is going to have enought crap to deal with. Besides, it's cool to see Albus "It's for the Greater Good" Dumbledor be reminded that there are powers beyond his own comprehension. BTW, is the so called Statute of Secrecy only applicable in the British Wizardry world in this fanfic? It seems that with the advent of superheroes, the idea of a magic user wouldn't be too hard to swallow. Anywhoo. keep up the good work.

    Author's response

    - Actually, since I've already dealt with the canon conflict for 3rd year (and second year won't take long either, the next two years will be light on the traditional 'drama and danger' associated with Harry Potter...

    The Statute of Secrecy is in effect where ever the ICW holds sway. (which is a very few enclaves of magic users.)
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) Cateagle 2008-06-04 12:24:54 AM

    wicked chuckle I had to laugh at Simon's comment about the "poor perp"; that was a definitely poor choice of a hostage (and, indeed, it does indeed resonate with "The Ransom of Red Chief" as you said it would). That was definitely a wicked flashback.

    It's going to be interesting to see how this year shapes up for Harry. I do hope Albus gets his head a little straighter and realizes that sometimes he can't control everything and that there are powers totally beyond him. Meanwhile, I'm sure Hermione will quickly alert Padma that Harry will indeed be returning to Hogwarts. I do wonder if Harry will confide to any of his friends just what he was told about his choices; I could see the HA (Hogwarts Avengers, of course) forming in second year; as a dueling/workout club if the DADA professor is competent or in the same form as the DA if said professor isn't. If Harry ends up at Lockhart's signing this time, methinks Lockhart's not going to be able to teach after all and likely will end up out of things for a long time to come.

    Author's response

    - Actually that wasn't what I was talking about. I wrote out a scene in which Harry was successfully kidnapped by Whiplash (chosen for his being one of Shellhead's least effective villians) wherein a six or seven year old Harry refuses to remain tied up, blind folded or gagged, bugs the crap out of poor whiplash with little kid questions, keeps turning on the tv to Barney and singing along and just generally making the poor guy's life hell. It just didn't flow the way I wanted, so I cut it and came up with Spymaster instead.

    - I may try that again and post it as an Omake...

    - Yeah, you figured out how I'm going to make Lockheart go away...
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) Elfwyn 2008-06-04 01:39:01 AM

    Wow, so late checking for an update that everyone has said everything I want to already. So just reread the above reviews because your story is truly awesome, although I had wished you'd let Thor send out a little shock of electricity to the court.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) Reckless_Youth 2008-06-04 03:07:58 AM

    I've been a fan of this fic since I first started reading it. It's already and interesting year for Harry and the first year was interesting. I love the mixture of flashbacks and current events.

    Harry has a lot of uncles and aunts in the avengers. I liked how Hank and Simon babysat him in the flashback. (and this was the infamous breaking in his father's lab that Ben teases Reed abou) and how Harry beat spymaster (something tells me he's not going to live that down) Is any more of Tony's enemies going to show up. the Colbalt man and the Titantium Man come to mind. Not to mention the Mandrian (sp) even though Volumort (sp) doesn't play well with others, it would be an interesting person to use in this story, not to mention Dr Doom.

    I like seeing how the Avengers, and a lot of marvel heroes and villains are used in this story. and through the avengers he probably knows he's made more friends through their friends. For example through Franklin Richards he probably met Power Pack (I love to see how Harry and Power Pack met and how he and Julie Power became close friends) through Julie and Katie Power he might met the X-men, and through Spider-man (who in an interesting way knows how Harry feels about being raised without parents, but he's on the opposite side of the coin as Harry) he knows Madam Webb.

    I understand why you used Madam Webb. the closest person other than her was Destiny, and she was in Freedom Force and they weren't well liked.

    I love to see what happens in Harry's second year, not to mention more flashbacks, maybe we'll see how Harry reacts to Black Knight, and Crystal since they were also in the Avengers at the time. (Harry probably visited the Inhumans at one time too). Not to mention Hawkeye, Mockingbird, I think they were part of the West Coast Avengers, if they were formed during that time.


    You can tell I'm a big comic book fan. and a crossover like this is cool. i can't wait to see what else you will do with it. Keep it up this is great

  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) jsdailey 2008-06-04 03:13:45 AM

    Ooooh Steven Strange as DADA? that would be interesting, though I think Bumbles will put Sirius in that position to try and cultivate a relationship with Harry (well-deserved, methinks... Harry won't fully bond, but I think he would appreciate some sort of guide he could trust in britain... assuming Sirius has broken rank with D due to Harry's astounding insight)... but of course, this will all be up to the scribe ;)

    I'm really enjoying this story-- such an interesting xo without the usual mary-sue baggage. Keep up the good work!
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) Rubel 2008-06-04 08:07:08 AM

    Still a good story. I don't have anything really constructive to say. Though I have to wonder if any of the magic themed villains will show up later.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) banner 2008-06-04 08:15:11 AM

    I suppose that the Seer's pressure WAS the only way to get Harry to go back to Hogwarts - Tony Stark was far more likely to enroll Harry in a Stateside school or start up a new one in the US than let his son go back there. Really, Sirius is in no shape to parent Harry right now. AD probably meant to have Sirius take a merely nominal role as parent while Dumbledore actually controlled all Black's interactions with Harry. Getting Sirius out of Azkaban was pretty much the only card Dumbledore had to play.

    Harry better beware of attempts to drug him while at Hogwarts - AD might be try to justify a love potion as "for his own good." Stark could consider giving his son some sort of guardian pet to take with him.

    (BTW, I can't see a little boy being so cheerful after having put his thumb through someone's eye socket - the ...stuff... was still all over Harry's hand when the rescuers arrived. There should have been at least a little revulsion, even if you think he wouldn't be traumatized.)

    Author's response

    - Oh I agree, but it was the best I could come up with after I wrote myself into a corner with the 'Hearing' in chapter seven.

    - The Guarantee that Dumbles is going to supply will be an Oath (crafted by Agatha Harkness) to treat Harry as a typical student, no better, no worse, no different...

    - He didn't rupture the eye, just poked it real good. I caught a thumb like that in a rugby match once, Hurt like hell for about two days, but no real damage.

    - It was a challenge between a local Scotish Rugby team and the football players on the ship I was on. American style football had started to become popular in the UK and the Ruggers were feeling a tad put out, hence the challenge.

    - We (the american squids) had all been to Rugby matches as observers and recognized what a rough game it was, this semi-pro team took us apart, much pain, much damage, little fun (on our part.)

    - The following weekend we played Football. Bearing in mind that the ships team was made up of guy not good enough to play college ball for the most part. Pre-game the Ruggers were feeling good about trouncing us the week before and were making comments about what pussies we were with all our pads.

    - So, the lesson of the day was that football is a very different game from Rugby, and that it is just as violent in a slightly different way.

    - Three of the mouthier Ruggers ended up in hospital. Shame that.

    - Not that you care about that, just one of my sea stories.

    - The point is, Harry did some serious damage to the man, but all Harry knew is that he did what Steve taught him to do and it worked. He wouldn't learn precisely what he had done to the man for a few days. Then he felt bad about it.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) hilarydilarydoc 2008-06-04 10:14:38 AM

    This story just gets better and better. I love young Harry's interactions with the Avengers. I also like how having his manipulations thwarted really brings out Albus' foolishly ruthless side. Please, please write more soon.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) BenRG 2008-06-04 11:22:56 AM

    Another great chapter to this story.

    I liked Harry's demolition of Spymaster. If he was that good at age 9, one wonders exactly how dangerous he will be when the Triwizard Contest comes around! I mean, this is the apprentice of Captain America and Agatha Harkness as well as the Heir of Stark for goodness sake! I can't imagine a more formidable combination of physical, magical and technological. The Wizarding World is going to get its chosen one, all right, but not the one it expected or necessarily wants.

    I like how you are using Hermione and Padma here. I agree that there shouldn't be any long-term relationships (this is only school, after all) but I can see Harry dating his female best friends and even being 'official' with one or the other for a while.

    I would vote against Marvel characters as DADA teachers. It would be an interesting idea but, with the exception of Agatha, none of the candidates would be acceptable as being the right sort of witch or wizard. Stupid, inbred bigots.

    However, I love Red's idea of the Hogwarts Avengers, especially in the light of Lockhart's complete inability to do the job and the sudden appearance of the Beast of Slytherin.

    The wise counsel of Steve (Captain America) was nice too. He is Marvel's equivalent of Superman when it comes to folksy small-town wisdom but he is usually right. A guy who has fought in a world war and some of the world's most dangerous beings (including ones with a massive power advantage over him) is a worthwhile guide indeed.

    What else to say? I like your Harry. He is still recognisably an adolescent - He isn't too mature or too focussed. He has tantrums and can be emotional and sulky like any boy his age. He has some unusual friends and that has led to him having certain aspects to his personalities that his peers do not but there is nothing that makes him too perfect. I think that you are generally going in the right direction.

    BenRG's Rating: 8/10

    PS: I'm still voting for a blue-and-bronze Iron Man-style technomagical armour for the Triwizard Contest.

    Author's response

    - Hey, when many of your childhood games are things taught by Captain America, you might be a little... dangerous.

    - Dating for the bulk of Harry's cohort will begin 5th year I think. Some might be sooner, a few later, but 15 is when I would think it would start.

    - No Marvels will make more than cameos (other than Tony...)

    - Lockhart is going to have problems...

    - I intend to keep using Cap as the voice of reason... The Generational gap between Cap and the other 'adult' marvels is a huge one, so his connection to a kid is easily understood.

    - I'm glad at least someone thinks I've gotten Harry right...

    - And he'll have it, but more WarMachine than Iron Man....

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 488145
  • Stories: 40147

Recent Stories