Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

Year Two - Projects

by Clell65619 28 Reviews

Second Year begins, The Second Years are introduced to the horror that is the OWL Project

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres:  - Characters:  - Published: 2008/12/03 - Updated: 2008/12/03 - 5748 words

Reviews

  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) Elfwyn 2008-12-03 05:49:52 PM

    I believe the Who's Who should be done for only newly introduced characters. If others can't be remembered they can look into prior chapters or google them.

    Neville makes a great friend who is in a similar situation as Harry--one guardian, dead or as good as birth parents. I always like him better than Ron too.

    My teenage daughter was never as hysterical as yours or Hermione and has never cared to plot about changing boys behavior--be careful about stereotyping. Girls do grow out of that behavior rather quickly from what I've seen of her friends--they mature faster than normal boys, of course Harry here is not normal.

    I cannot wait to see the face off of Stark and Dumbledore; although I thought from the impression of previous chapters when Tony showed up at Hogwarts that Dumbledore had never met him?
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) noylj 2008-12-03 06:00:46 PM

    For some reason, Ficwad won't add any stories to my favorites.
    Great story, but I will never understand how any loving parent would send Harry (or any other student) back to that dump called Hoggy and that brain-dead bastard who keeps the place as the garbage dump of the WW. Then to have said loving parent keep returning Harry to a place where his life is threatened and the headmaster has no consideration for other's opinions, beliefs, or safety.
    Someday, someone will write a story where Harry's loving adopted parent actually takes a stand against Bumbles and pulls him out of that deathtrap of a school.
    I can accept all sorts of things being weird with magic, but not the tendency for loving parents to put up with Hoggy. Molly should have pulled her kids out after Ron's first year, not to mention Ginny's first year. She could see that her son's life was endangered due to some very poor planning on Bumble's part and her daughter was possessed by Moldie and almost killed, again due to the bastard's poor planning and inability to actually do anything to keep his school safe. He is either evil or incompetent. I vote for evil (and book 7 simply confirmed that he was an evil bastard).
    Good story, but I wish, as I said, that I could see some real believable reaction from "loving" parents to their children's lives being endangered every year.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) DemonHunterPrime 2008-12-03 06:53:05 PM

    Hey, first let me say I love this story and look forward to many more wonderful chapters. I'd especially like to see some sort of flash back with Dumbles during WW2 meeting the Capt.

    It could happen after he is introduced to Harry's physical trainer. It's not all that farfetched really. If Riddle who avoided the Muggle world like the plague (unless he was destroying part of it) encountered Union Jack, a younger Albus almost certainly was involved in some mission with the Invaders.

    Also, as a thought, for Harry's project I'm thinking something like a magical search engine. He could create something the links into the crystal stored books of the Ravenclaw Library, and spontaneously generates a full index for everybook in it. There after 'claws could locate any topic by simply entering the keyword some how (spoken or written on parchment?) just like googling, and find themselves presented with a list of not just every book the topic can be found in but a list of page numbers where it appears in each book.

    Author's response

    - Albus accompanied a the Invaders on a most specific mission, as will be revealed in 4th year

    - That's pretty much what I'm going to do.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) pnakasone 2008-12-03 07:35:44 PM

    Not counting Dumbledore’s need to have things go according to some grand plan of his. Most adult members of the magical world do not seem to understand that this version of Harry does not idolize Lily and James Potter as the perfect parents to come rescue him from the Dursleys. Harry Stark grew up in a loving family made up of the Stark household, the Avengers and the various allies of both.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) Chronos_KenS 2008-12-03 09:42:39 PM

    I love the story so far keep it up
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) Innortal 2008-12-03 10:54:10 PM

    Very nice work once again, looking forward to seeing where this leads to.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) BenRG 2008-12-04 03:32:39 AM

    An interesting chapter. Harry's muggle-raised thoughts on the nature of wizarding eductation were interesting as was his bonding with Neville (who I strongly suspect will be replacing Ron in this storyline as Harry's closest male friend).

    What I really liked was the cameradre by the lake. This Harry is so much healthier and better-balanced than canon Harry who, frankly, always struck me as being on the verge of a nervous breakdown or a psychotic episode.

    I also found Harry's interaction with Remus intersting. Canon Harry had a need to know about his parents due to his extreme emotional deprivation. This Harry has friends, an adoptive family (who count amongst their number some of the wisest and most powerful beings on Earth) and a home worthy of the name. Hearing of his biological family will be interesting and occasionally thought-provoking, especially as he grows older. However, I doubt that he will ever really have a particularly deep interest in them.

    I'll take a bet and say that the Diary's victim will still be Ginny. However, I expect that the dynamics of the whole issue will be radically altered by the fact that Harry is very different from canon and that Ginny hasn't spent any time around him in this timeline.

    Overall, this continues the good quality work on this story. The characters remain rounded and believable (better than canon sometimes) and I find myself looking forward to seeing how the CoS storyline works out in this version of the universe.

    BenRG's Rating: 8/10

    Author's response

    - In this reality Harry and Ron only have a nodding acquaintance, they aren't buds. Neville on the other hand is one of Harry's best friends in Britain.

    - I really enjoyed the series through book six. Yeah a lot of things didn't make a lot of sense, but on the whole, a 'ripping yarn' of classic proportion. One of the things that really bothered me was the descent into misery that was Harry's life. I think it really says something that he only considered Hogwarts 'home', even though someone tried to kill him every damned year. Sure life at the Dursley's sucked as shown, but at least no one was trying to kill him...

    - I believe that both Sirius and Remus stand a good chance of forming a close friendship with Harry, but only after they stop living in the past.

    - Thank you for your thoughts.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) shaz124 2008-12-04 08:57:38 AM

    A ha! Finally glad to see that you're back in the saddle again. This chapter saw a new plot device ("the project"), some character development and some foreshadowing. While these things are needed, they not necessarily the most exciting. You were able to break it up into smaller chunks and added some humor to keep it interesting. Well done!

    Hope to see more of this one soon.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) zicou 2008-12-04 10:21:02 AM

    Great!
    Continuuuue!
    Z.
  • Harry Potter and The Invincible Technomage

    (#) axelrajr 2008-12-04 09:18:46 PM

    i liked it quite a bit.

    as far as pairings go, i really dont see a need to get anythign of value done for soem time yet. as i recal from canon, nothing of real note on that happened till the tri wizard cup.

    so i think it'd be fine if you let your muse keep an eye on that oen for the future.

    another item, wheres luna? shes a ravenclaw, and a fun character in her own right.

    on your note about the character blurbs, i like them. their useful for those who are nto at all familiar with ironman comics. and other than the beginnign of the fic, there prob wont be more than a handfull at a time. and with them at the end of the chap, its not like their in the way.

    hope there is another chapter soon, your rapidly becoming one of the more interesting authors i am keepign an eye out for.

    Author's response

    - 'Dating' (I put that in quotes because very little of what is described in canon as dating qualifies IMHO) will indeed begin 4th year... Well, maybe a little the summer before...

    - Luna is settling in to Ravenclaw, and is a bit too shy to approach a random group of second years just yet... (the story is only at the end of the fist week of classes)

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 605792
  • Stories: 40293

Recent Stories