Categories > Books > Harry Potter

Dudley's Wedding

by DrT 43 Reviews

The title says it all; just a little plot bunny that needed to be snared.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Romance - Characters: Dudley,Harry,Luna,Petunia Dursley,Vernon Dursley - Warnings: [!] [?] - Published: 2008/12/20 - Updated: 2008/12/20 - 4572 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) DrT 2008-12-20 12:45:04 PM

    In case anyone missed it (since it has never shown up on the front page here) the epilogue to 'When Vernon Didn't Miss' is also up, completing that story.

    Happy Christmas
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) red_jacobson 2008-12-20 12:58:29 PM

    Interesting character study, and I'm glad to see that Dudley is capable of growing up; and Daisy seems like a nice sort.

    red
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) Vanir 2008-12-20 02:11:26 PM

    Even considering the absurdly high standard i hold you to, this might be one of the more brilliant pieces you've made. The characters have an in-your-face reality i haven't seen before. Of course, Petunia still had the cartoonish wicked witch thing going, but it was believable. Her confusion about the presents was brilliant and petty to perfection. Daisy was just good enough to be true, and that the two summoned witches were ones who didn't worship the ground Harry walked on was great, and quite possibly planned by a very bright Luna, to set Dudders at ease. I have a minor problem with the idea of Ripper III. People who are so obsessed with special dogs usually doesn't recycle the names. Then again, she's bonkers. Well thought out, well written, and kowtow

    Thanks.

    Vanir
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) Cateagle 2008-12-20 02:48:44 PM

    That was truly a delightful read and quite believeable. Daisy most certainly is well depicted and true to life (know a vfew like that) and 'twas good to see a grown-up and matured Dudley (I rather suspect his parents don't totally care for that aspect). I thought the pictures told a quite a story without bogging this story down. Bravo, sir.
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) Uncle_Buck 2008-12-20 03:45:06 PM

    I thaught this was a uplifting and warming story. I am going to see some of your other works. Keep it up
    thankyou Jerome aka uncle buck
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) dennisud 2008-12-20 03:48:14 PM

    I don't see this being any longer than it is...
    But I'd love to see an epilogue with Dud his family and the Potters all meeting at King's Cross to have their kids board the Hogwarts Express. You can take it from there!

    ;-)
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) brad 2008-12-20 07:09:22 PM

    Nice piece, giving us some indirect satisfaction at how Harry's life turned out. A pity that you killed Ron but, as always, I liked the idea that Harry and Luna's friendship with Hermione would hold fast and strong and that they would support her. Something else I dearly liked in your 'Dumbledore's Army'.

    I totally don't understand this bit:

    >>>>>
    "Of course, if you mean physically, I can't imagine how she could be."

    "No," Dudley admitted, "I couldn't see you allowing that." Dudly looked confused for a moment, and then realised what he just admitted.
    >>>>>>

    Okay, can anyone help out the dummy - what did Dudley just admit?

    The idea of the two witches not immediately genuflecting at Harry's feet was a good touch of realism, firmly rooting Harry's good fortune and standing as something 'real' and not too good to be true.

    Nice to have had these instalments of yours to read, Dr. T! Is it time yet to beg for a sequel to 'Amsterdam', where Harry and the others (slowly) reconcile? :-) Thanks for these!

    Author's response

    Dudley is realizing to a degree how abused Harry was, and that Harry was a much better person that Dudley could have imagined
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) erik 2008-12-20 07:16:12 PM

    This is possibly the best Dudley centric story I have ever read. Well done & thanks.
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) grookill 2008-12-20 10:51:42 PM

    Cool story! One suggestion though - leave this a stand-alone. You could go further, but why? You could write a little more about the past, but then again, why? This stands alone just fine. There is enough information for the reader to imagine the past and come up with a suitable future for all the characters.

    Hope to see more from you in the future!
  • Dudley's Wedding

    (#) hordac85 2008-12-20 11:02:29 PM

    Excellent,Keep it up.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 646107
  • Stories: 40947

Recent Stories