Categories > Celebrities > My Chemical Romance

Dress of Bones

by CosmicZombie 9 Reviews

About the modern idea of 'beauty'. Inspired by 'Stay beautiful, keep it ugly'.

Category: My Chemical Romance - Rating: PG - Genres: Angst - Characters:  - Warnings: [V] - Published: 2012/04/04 - Updated: 2012/10/04 - 427 words

Reviews

  • Dress of Bones

    (#) dobbysock123 2012-04-04 09:28:40 AM

    Just amazing! Wow...

    Author's response

    Thanks :D
  • Dress of Bones

    (#) YouCanRunAwayWithMe 2012-04-04 09:38:46 AM

    whoa... DD: amazing and wesome and asdkldsfsdkjgbadsjf okay? i loved it! it was really... dark and twisted and awesome. you are amazing L.R. Arthur 2012. i love it. gah i should stop repeating myself!! it is too amazing! IS THERE NO END TO YOUR TALENT?!?!?!?!?
    meh if you don't mind, (pretty pretty please with a pineapple on top) could you check out my poem at http://www.ficwad.com/story/187600 if you have time? it is much appreciated (:

    lina xo

    Author's response

    Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked it- this review made me smile so much :D And seriously, I'm not that talented :L But thank you all the same- your reviews always make my day :D
    Sure, I'm checking it out now xD
    Thanks for the review!

    CosmicZombie xo
  • Dress of Bones

    (#) DisenchatedDestroya 2012-04-04 09:53:12 AM

    This is an extremely thought-provoking piece of writing and I completely understand what you're trying to say with it. I think it's saying that in society today people are willing to kill who they really are in order to fit in with "beautiful", even though their so-called "ugly" selves were truly beautiful to begin with. At least, that's what this said to me.
    Your use of italics and the bold function work really well and add effect to the over all impact of the words. I loved the metaphors and imagery, they really drove the point of the poem home.
    Fantastic job and if I'm ever able to write half as wonderfully as this I will be an extremely happy person. Great poem! :)

    Author's response

    Thank you for such a detailed review, I really appreciate it (: I'm glad you got the message- the modern idea of beauty disgusts me sometimes, because it doesn't seem to matter what's inside at all- or even what's outside, actually. It just has to conform, and it pisses me off so much...why can't it be okay just to be yourself?
    Anyway, I'm rambling; thank you so much, this review really made me smile :D
    And excuuuuse me- your poems are FAR better than mine, okay? :L
    Thanks :D

    CosmicZombie xo
  • Dress of Bones

    (#) LanaKrueger 2012-04-04 10:00:50 AM

    Breathtakingly beautiful and full of raw emotion, I love it to bits :] I wish I could show this to my sister who has a problem with accepting/being who she really is, but unfortunately she doesn't speak English :\ Anyways, you're amazing :]

    Author's response

    Wow, thank you so much! That sucks about your sister...I know so many people who seem to be the same, and I find it really upsetting.
    Thanks for such a lovely review!

    CosmicZombie xo
  • Dress of Bones

    (#) DisenchantedPatient 2012-04-05 05:59:45 AM

    I can relate to this, it's beautifully written :')

    Author's response

    Thank you :')
  • Dress of Bones

    (#) Razortotherosary 2012-04-05 02:29:29 PM

    This is so amazing, its one of the most beautiful things ive ever read. I adored it. I love the metaphores you used and how you just made it seem so effortlessly sad. And extremely serene like that was just what went on in your characters head. And the amazing underlying delusion of how to society what your writing about is beautiful.

    Author's response

    Wow, thank you! That's made me smile so much :'D Thanks for taking the time to review, it means a lot.
  • Dress of Bones

    (#) X-ToxicRainbow-X 2012-04-05 09:37:15 PM

    I loved this so much. My favorite lines were:


    A pair of zombied eyes,
    Watch me in the mirror,
    A skeleton, a ghost,
    Paper skin to wither.

    A face stitched on,
    Perfect and pristine,
    Caked dollar-sign lies,
    The truth forever unseen.


    A pair of wizened eyes,
    Watch me in the mirror,
    A corpse, a husk,
    Society’s brainwashed sinner.

    A slathering of gloss,
    Harsh, pink, obscene,
    Hiding the whispered truth,
    As if it’s black, it’s tar, it’s

    Unclean.


    So I look through the mirror,
    Past the zombied eyes,
    The pale tweaked features,
    And cheap, plastic lies.


    Jutting bones and jagged hips,
    Bulbous ribs and cracking lips.


    False.
    Scared.
    Untimely.

    Dead.

    A leathery teenage corpse,
    Gnarled and knotted and wrinkled,
    Sullied and stained from

    A society where honesty is ugly;

    A population threaded
    To demented, dark fairytales,
    Venom-surgery embedded-
    Anything to hide

    The truth.


    The breathing skeleton in the mirror
    Thinks she’s in control,
    In charge of her Frankenstein ‘beauty’.

    But,

    Where’s your soul?



    A pair of teary eyes,
    Watch me in the mirror,
    Liquid salt of a dead girl,
    Choked-up sins hither.


    Maybe she knows.

    But the limp corpses,
    Decomposing behind her eyes,
    Tell a different story;
    One of silenced cries.

    Too silenced.

    She never listened
    To what she’s killed.

    Now a pair of hollow eyes,
    Watch me in the mirror,
    But I don’t think she can see;

    Death’s claw,
    Coil round my throat,
    Until it’s red and raw,
    Talons gouging deeper and deeper.


    She’s tweezered and plucked and perfected
    Too
    Much.


    All her skeletal eyes can see now,
    Is this defaced notion of beauty,

    Forever.


    A pair of zombied eyes,
    Watch me in the mirror,
    Lost, brainwashed; dying,
    A media-poisoned zone.

    She looks at this breathing skeleton,
    And only sees
    The latest style;


    A funeral dress of splintered bones.


    It was so amazing I cant pick just a couple lines. I love all of your work. :D

    Author's response

    AWWWWW! This might be one of the sweetest reviews I've got- thank you so much, I'm smiling like a lunatic right now at my computer screen :L
    Thank you :'D
  • Dress of Bones

    (#) ValentineRevenge 2012-04-07 11:16:38 AM

    This is amazing, and fucked up. It shows just how badly people will push themselves to be the perfect pretty things they see in magazines or on the runways. They don't understand that all those scenes are just airbrushed and fake, and that there's pretty much no way for them to ever look like that and still be healthy or even alive. There's so much more I can say about this, but I won't. We need to stop killing ourselves for beauty, and we need to see our 'ugly' selves as being truly beautiful. We are all beautiful in our own ways, bt we just need to see it.

    Author's response

    Thank you so much! Yeah, that was totally the point I was trying to get across..I'm glad you got it :)
    We really do need to stop killing ourselves for 'beauty' and just be beautiful as who we are.
    Thanks for reviewing :D
  • Dress of Bones

    (#) AdnarimSmada 2012-04-27 11:30:21 AM

    Hey hon, I know it's fixed but I don't know who the hell rated this down in the first place and I feel the need to say that it wasn't right. They need to calm down man. Right now.

    Know that this is a brilliant poem, one of the best I've seen on this website. I loved the message and it really makes one wish people would just give themselves more credit as human beings.

    -Adnarim Smada

    Author's response

    Wow, thank you so much! :D I'm glad you liked it and understood the message I was trying to get across...Seriously, just thank you so much- this review just about made my day :'D

    Thanks for taking the time to review, it means a lot :)

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 644285
  • Stories: 40615

Recent Stories