Categories > Celebrities > My Chemical Romance > Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

by Otep 21 Reviews

An author here you'd NEVER expect turned out to be stealing fics all along.... I'm pretty messed up about it, considering I loved reading her shit .___.

Category: My Chemical Romance - Rating: G - Genres:  - Characters:  - Published: 2012/06/17 - Updated: 2012/06/17 - 251 words

Reviews

  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) Heartbreak_Beauty 2012-06-17 10:50:44 AM

    Those were some of my favorite stories!

    Damn it!
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) MCRfreak15 2012-06-17 10:53:19 AM

    i am SO peeved right now.
    i loved 'well you can hide a lot about yourself' sooo much!
    and i told her on reviews that it was amazing, and she took the credit for it!!
    .....i haven't read the other one...and i don't really know what 'big time rush' is.
    an american pop band so i've heard?
    well, that's besides the point. how the hell did she think she could get away with that?! >:(
    i mean, there's always the possibility that there was a big misunderstanding about this and that it wasn't stolen, cause i've been accused of stealing before when it was just me on a different site.
    but there's no conformation either way, so until further notice, i'm pissed off.
    thank you for posting this.
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) lolhai 2012-06-17 10:53:28 AM

    I don't think you should assume they've been stolen. Like someone else said, they could have had permission to repost and tweak them.

    Author's response

    sigh

    Again,


    If it was a misunderstanding/ she had permission, she wouldn't have deleted Well you can hide alot about yourself after she saw my post, and she would have either posted an explanation or wrote me a review telling me I'm a skullfuck and that she has permission...
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) StormVandal 2012-06-17 11:09:58 AM

    ^I read Demolition Lovers (it was one of my favourites, so I'm pretty ticked right now) and there are places where they'd got the names wrong and it would say Kendall or Logan instead of Gerard or Frank. I remember thinking that was weird. If you look at the fic we've been linked to here on ff.net, the names of the characters in that are Kendall and Logan... so... it looks to be stolen.

    Author's response

    This ^^
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) c-o-c-a-i-n-e 2012-06-17 11:16:35 AM

    I tweeted her to tell her that she owes us an explanation/ apology and she blocked me.

    Fucking smooth.
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) TakeMyLife 2012-06-17 11:24:57 AM

    Awww, I knew she had stolen 'Demolition lovers' but not 'Well you can hide a lot about yourself'. Thank you for posting the originals though! I loved the stories and couldn't find them anywhere. It's a shame she had to steal them, but at least you've showed us the real authors who deserve the credit - even if they're different characters.
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) lolhai 2012-06-17 11:28:17 AM

    Ok, so it's been stolen. Let it go. Nothing can be done about it.

    Author's response

    I did not imply that anything has to be done about it. What am I gonna start a fucking angry mob?

    I posted this to let people know, because they have the right to know. And she doesn't get to have credit for something she didn't write, and it isn't fair for the original authors.
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) lolhai 2012-06-17 11:36:17 AM

    I do see your point, and yes, it is unfair, but there is a possibility that a lot of people are gonna post about this and start drama. And I wasn't telling you to let it go, it was more for people who might post about it after.
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) CosmicZombie 2012-06-17 02:09:36 PM

    I am utterly disgusted.

    I wish to god this wasn't true, but it seems pretty damn certain it is seeing as she's deleted both stories and won't give us and explanation.

    Thank you for alerting us to this. There I was- along with loads of others- favouriting her work and reviewing saying how amazing her story was and after all this time she didn't even have the conscience to own up? Taking the credit for someone else's talent is dispicable.

    I need to find the real author & tell her how amazing she is.
  • Rant Against Fic Stealing (Not Fucking Cool)

    (#) PrettyOddOwl 2012-06-17 09:02:35 PM

    Well, shit. Well You Can Hide A Lot About Yourself was probably one of my favorite fics I've ever read. I've reread it twice, and was actually looking for it earlier today so I could read it again, and I couldn't figure out why it wasn't here. And then I saw this.
    Thanks for telling us about this, since the "author" doesn't seem to be planning on it. :/

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 490167
  • Stories: 40149

Recent Stories