Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Triwizard Redux

Harry Explains Even More

by DrT 28 Reviews

When would be the best point in time for an over-powered Harry to return to his past? Right before the First Task! In this chapter, Harry finishes his talks with Dumbledore and Hermione, argues w...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Drama, Romance - Characters: Dumbledore, Harry, Hermione, Luna, Lupin - Warnings: [!!] - Published: 2006/10/23 - Updated: 2006/10/23 - 3581 words

Reviews

  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) jkarr 2006-10-23 10:04:13 AM

    nice chapter.
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) BenRG 2006-10-23 10:25:44 AM

    That was a good chapter! I enjoy the firm dark inevitability of Harry's point of view. This is the way things need to be done so this is the way they have to be done. I actually pity Snape if he has to deal with this without Dumbledore warning him off (or ignoring his warning, which would be even more justice at work).

    Hermione's reactions are a bit off, although Luna's are more-or-less spot on. Hermione I would expect to be just a sliver more worried about the power that has just filled her best friend. I would expect her to be a bit more defensive and trying to protect him - this means she is going to be hitting the books hard tonight.

    Overall, this is a very good story. I like the ambience and how you tell the story of the future.

    BenRG's Rating: 7/10
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) Jimm 2006-10-23 10:29:20 AM

    I knew as much as you love Luna that she'd be showing up before too long. :-)

    Good chapter, thanks for sharing it with us.
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) patronus 2006-10-23 11:22:32 AM

    The plot advance!!! I hope dumbles don’t act all foolish and that snape does. See you!
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) wolfe3 2006-10-23 03:59:40 PM

    exciting
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) Tarnum 2006-10-23 04:03:23 PM

    The story is beautiful. However I think Harry is too powerfull and that could limit the plot. For now the only problem "Superman Harry" faces is "Do I kill Voldermord now or do I wait to kill him later?". For most of us the life is not so simple : )
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) matthiasblack 2006-10-23 04:06:26 PM

    Yet another chapter straight from the doctor. That was a quick update and a rather good one too. I hope the next chapter is as good as your other works. Good luck on the next chapter.
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) jabarber69 2006-10-23 05:07:40 PM

    Well done, but the LOST was cool, but anyway I've never seen that used before
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) DragonBard 2006-10-23 05:46:55 PM

    First, I find the character bashing you performed on Molly and Ginny distasteful. If you don't want Harry to be with Ginny, than simply have them grow apart, or don't use that part of HBP!

    Second, Riddle's life was 'nothing' like Harry's pre-Hogwarts! Harry was bullied, Riddle 'was' the bully.

    Author's response

    I have no respect for either Ginny or Molly in canon, and Riddle would have been bullied before he became one himself. Harry didn't, even if he was treated as badly or worse.

    "T"
  • Triwizard Redux

    (#) brad 2006-10-24 02:10:44 AM

    Maybe it was the break between chapters, but I felt disconnected from the import of the scene at the beginning of this chapter. Remus almost sobbing, Hermione crying, over the news that Harry has to fight Tom ... that's the sort of stuff I usually live for, but I was a bit detached this time. Maybe because of the break right at the climax, maybe because Harry is so confident and powerful, knowing all the answers, so I don't believe there's any chance that he might lose.

    The bit where Harry starts to release Hermione from her promise was both noble and satisfying to read.

    You're right - in what you said to my last review - that Dumbledore has never seemed apologetic for leaving Harry with the Dursleys. I'll have to re-read his speech to the Dursleys as the left Privet Drive at the beginning of HBP, but it seemed more of a show for him, a chance to be patronising, than anything else. Mind you, I didn't think much of Dumbledore in HBP; I'm with your Harry on that score!

    Good demise of Skeeter!! And Hermione did it!? Excellent example of how she grew up hardened from the war. Have I ever seen such a 'hardened' Hermione (et al) in your stories? Mostly they're about the kids at school age. 'Amsterdam' is post-Riddle, but only Harry and Lavender.

    I liked the Luna bit at the end, although if I were her I'd be asking "JUST WHY do you trust me like that, Harry, we don't know each other at all?!!". Still, when I read of the 'shaken and thrilled' Luna, for a moment I thought that this was your harem story.

    Author's response

    Hermione held Skeeter's irresponsible reporting responsible for Ron's death, and Hermione is always vengeful when crossed. As for Luna, she could feel Harry's trustworthiness, and will expect an explanation when one is possible.

    "T"

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 610267
  • Stories: 40308

Recent Stories