Categories > Books > Harry Potter > When Vernon Didn't Miss

When Vernon Didn't Miss

by DrT 34 Reviews

After Harry's first year, Vernon Dursley tried to hit Harry, but missed, and so Harry was locked away for the summer. What if Vernon hadn't missed?

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres: Angst,Drama - Characters: Harry,Hermione - Warnings: [!!!] [V] - Published: 2007/11/04 - Updated: 2007/11/04 - 3326 words - Complete

Reviews

  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Palt 2007-11-09 11:12:45 PM

    Thank you for sticking around. DH was a profound disappointment, so fandom is my only hope for satisfaction.
    I'm always glad when someone adult steps in to give Harry a hand in growing into his powers. I was (and still am) very fond of your stories that included the 'Old Believers'. I found the concept fascinating and would welcome more, especially with Harry taking an interest in the faith.
    As to this story, I must say it grabbed my interest and I will follow it closely. Any hope of it NOT being a Hermione-ship? I just don't like her for Harry that much. As for Ron, good riddance to bad rubbish.
    Thanks again for continuing to contribute to my fanfiction addiction.

    Author's response

    Actually, there. They are only 13 in the story so far (No, I didn't miscalculate Harry's age) so if I ship develops later in the story, it could be Hermione or Luna. Harry won't really be 'super Harry' (very powerful Harry, well trained Harry, but not super Harry), so Hermione will crush on him a little in the story (as opposed to Lockhart), but they might end up even closer friends.

    Usually on a longer story, I wait until I have at least 10 draft chapters before posting the first one, but this time I did it with only 3 1/2 (and that took a month). Hence the slower production time. I don't want to paint my self into a corner and have to drop the story later on.

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) DrT 2007-11-10 05:08:34 PM

    My, that last response was poorly written! I should have waited until after my morning coffee!
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Toto 2007-11-13 01:47:56 AM

    Much more interesting than a lot of recent stories.

    Please do go on.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Vanir 2007-11-14 01:19:10 PM

    Sometimes, when one clicks open a new fic, one can get a chill along the spine in anticipation. This is one of those.
    Update when you feel you should. I'll be here.

    Vanir
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) White_Dragon 2007-11-14 08:46:09 PM

    This is my first real AU story, T. I find it very refreshing. Is it appropriate to call O/C characters O/C in AU? I find them very interesting and I am comfortable with them already.

    What attracted me to this story is my strong feelings about how Harry has been abused in his life.

    I look forward to future chapters, and to reading other stories of yours in the future!

    --Jim

    Author's response

    Harry's abuse, and the over-all lack of guidence in his life, have always bothered me, and almost all my many fics reflect that, here and on fiction alley. I tend to supply Harry with mentors, who develop the magic potential we saw in the first 5 books. Of course all my stories, save one, are now considered AU ;-)

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) noylj 2007-11-24 12:25:10 PM

    Very good beginning. I STILL don't understand abandoning Harry in the cupboard. I don't think scotland Yard would easily accept that story and understand how he dragged himself home, bleeding and with a fractured skull and didn't leave a long blood trail. I could see them dumping him in a dumpster in Middlesex, and at the same time have Pet call about Harry running away. When Vernon and Duds get back, they were just away looking for the boy.

    Author's response

    I guess that means you're smarter than the Dursleys

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Female_DaVinci 2007-12-01 02:24:42 PM

    HE HE I Just registered so I could review this story thank you for telling me about it and please do post it on fic alley!
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) GryffindorDragon 2007-12-05 10:36:34 AM

    By the way, when did Vernon miss? In Book two it is Aunt Petunia who aims a frying pan at him. Or are you rewriting canon from the start?
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) JBern 2007-12-09 12:51:35 PM

    Intresting start to the story. Been awhile since I've had a chance to just sit and read. Nice to see you took an interesting premis and jumped on it.~Jim
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Dragen 2008-04-07 02:57:36 AM

    Great start mate - what the ass Vernon is letting Harry die and destroying his things AND killing Hedwig.

    I’m happy that that Dobby had came and saved Harry. I like that Harry agreed to the training.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 655886
  • Stories: 39947

Recent Stories