Categories > Books > Harry Potter > When Vernon Didn't Miss

Halloween

by DrT 30 Reviews

Sir Nick's Deathday party has an unexpected ending, and Dumbledore talks with Harry

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Draco,Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione,Luna - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2007/12/18 - Updated: 2007/12/18 - 3313 words - Complete

Reviews

  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Genericrandom5 2007-12-18 03:19:07 PM

    That ending was marvelous. The rest of the chapter was 'okay' if a bit interesting, but done enough to not really tickle anybody's fancy really, but the end... "I thought so. Now, I'm late for class, may I have a pass?". Win.

    Author's response

    True, we've all seen it, but it had to be done!
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) mathiasgranger 2007-12-18 03:41:30 PM

    Well, Brother Cobra seeing other humans aside from Harry...this could be interesting.

    I wouldn't mind Snape being eaten by the Basilisk...that mental image brings a smile to my face all by itself.

    Dumbledore and his greater good circular logic...hehe.

    Thanks for writing,
    Matt

    Author's response

    Cobra will shock the Brotherhood at how he treats Harry

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) scruffy1 2007-12-18 04:24:40 PM

    Oh my, This should prove to be very interesting. As A previous reviewer said the ending was worth the wait. It started with "Hermione was right. Wizards have no logic." and from then on it was one big put down of Dumbledore.

    There were only a few things that could have made it better. Ron defending Dumbledore and getting slapped down at the same time springs to mind.

    One of the main reasons I read fan fiction is for scenes like this.

    Thank you

    Author's response

    Well, you knew Dumbledore would try that line sooner or later. . . .
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Teresa 2007-12-18 04:25:16 PM

    Chuckle....... I loved seeing Harry hit Dumbles with that clue by four via the Brotherhood and Hermione. Dumbles really deserved that! Awwww poor Snape and Malfoy! No doubt they wish they'd never come to Osiris's attention! And Brother Cobra is coming! Will he guest lecture in DADA and show up Lockhart big time? Then again, a grandmother with a stritct attitude could outteach Lockhart.....maybe Madam Longbottom should also visit the school! I like seeing how Hermione and Harry have taken Luna under their wing. I always felt that both Hermione and Luna would have been very good friends before the DA if they'd been in contact earlier. It's also nice to see Filch getting along well with Harry, Hermione and Luna as well as the Brotherhood and company. It's also good to see Osisris and Tutmoses seriously considering what's going on via the basilisk and tying it to Harry's gift and the vampire's better hearing. Hopefully the whole "Heir of Slytherin" nonsense can be stopped quickly. Since Osiris knew Slytherin, will he consider that he might have left papers and other things in the school? After all, many of the Brotherhood have come from cultures that were big on hidden rooms and secret passages. And if the Brotherhood hears about what happened 50 years earlier they would have a clue to the mystery. As always you have written a great chapter, and I can't wait for the meetings between Brother Cobra and Dumbles, Snape, Malfoy and Lockhart! Hmmmmm....with luck Pomfrey has laid in a store of restorative potions! Fainting fits might be in the futures of those four when Brother Cobra shows up! Thanks for the story!

    Author's response

    Osiris didn't know Slytherin, in fact, he hadn't been in Europe since around the year 48. The Brotherhood had also left Western Europe before Hogwarts was founded. So far, I've kept the violence off-screen, but that should change at some point.

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Cateagle 2007-12-18 04:53:19 PM

    -snicker- That was quite the good ending to an interesting chapter. The presence of the Brotherhood has made for soem interesting twists on matters. I seriously doubt Bumbles is enjoying the way he got put down, but he's no one to blame but himself for setting things up the way he did. 'Twill be entertaining to watch the evidence mount up and see how long it takes the Brotherhood to figure out what's happening. I wonder if it's going to be too long for Ginny?

    The presence of Brother Cobar should make for fascinating times all around in the next few chapters.

    Author's response

    Things will move along a bit faster with Gin-gin

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) MrPowell 2007-12-18 08:17:38 PM

    good story so far. I'm looking forward to the next chapter and seeing Brother Cobra again...

    Author's response

    Don't mistake Cobra for Scorpion (the one Harry kicked in the balls)

    Scorpion will be there soon, though

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Vanir 2007-12-18 09:03:12 PM

    grinning widely
    That little piece of wizarding sophistry at the end was a thing of beauty.
    I'm a little concerned, though. If things go smoothly for Harry, doesn't the story pretty much die?

    Also, Ginny needs a hand. Feel free to be inspired by my fic for the placement of said hand. re-grins

    Vanir

    Author's response

    Yes, the story could. So, we have Barty with Voldie, so that should throw a spanner in things being TOO easy, and we have a faction of the Brotherhood, which had run the group for most of the last 2 centuries and whose agenda had been growing for over 1000 years on the outs with current policy.

    Hopefully I can do something with that without having CAPLOCK!Harry of book 5, wussy/Harry of book six, or passive/Harry of book 7.

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2007-12-19 12:18:08 AM

    I'm glad things are being shaken up. Brother Cobra will be an interesting addition to the castle, but the conversation with Dumbledore takes the cake for this update.

    I also enjoyed the details you provided regarding the ghosts.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) darthme1011 2007-12-19 01:35:29 AM

    me like intresting and this is Harry/Hermione right

    Author's response

    It will be at first, not sure about how it will end.

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) dexterz 2007-12-19 06:43:17 AM

    take that dumbles...ha ha ...good thing with H/Hr....keep it up

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 601071
  • Stories: 40300

Recent Stories