Categories > Books > Harry Potter > When Vernon Didn't Miss

Halloween

by DrT 30 Reviews

Sir Nick's Deathday party has an unexpected ending, and Dumbledore talks with Harry

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Draco,Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione,Luna - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2007/12/18 - Updated: 2007/12/18 - 3313 words - Complete

Reviews

  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) brad 2007-12-27 01:06:09 AM

    Nice slant on Filch! It's a little thing, maybe, but it certainly shows Harry's new maturity, and the view of Filch being ... nice ... is also a novel one.

    "Brother Mo" ... why do I keep thinking of the Three Stooges?

    In your "Dumbledore's Army" you held that ghosts had a limited 'death-span', that even their ethereal bodies would eventually pass on. But here you seem to be making ghosts' deathtimes more dependent on their mental stability? Can a ghost, properly motivated, live forever in this tale?

    I hope you had a good Christmas!
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) Clell65619 2007-12-28 01:52:14 PM

    Wow, great story. Draco really needs to work on that Bladder control... Though I guess Inbreeding will tell...

    Author's response

    Yep, and so will cowardice!

    "T"
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) noylj 2008-01-27 06:35:40 PM

    I always wondered how a logic puzzle found its way into the protection of the stone, since there is no proof of the wizarding world having any idea what logic is. At least you are still showing the WW as lacking in logic and common sense as it is in canon.
    Remember, you can never be too hard or cruel to Dumbles. The man simply radiates hubris and a strong belief that the end ALWAYS justifies the means. In an ideal world, there would be no Snape, Malfoys, or Dumbles (and, probably, no Moldie) in time for Harry's third year at Hoggy.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) gruvertd 2008-12-19 07:30:50 PM

    Excellent chapter and I love this smarter and more self-assured Harry. He asked Dumbledore the perfect questions that needed asking there at the end of this chapter.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) twistyguru 2010-05-15 06:52:49 PM

    lol!
    Bravo!
    Circular logic, meet hard, cold reality.
    Bite me, Dumbles!
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) tricorvus 2011-09-10 12:31:40 AM

    Damn, was it this chapter or the last, where McGonagall made the remark about no Slytherin-Hufflepuff couples? Well, no matter. My better half & I are one, so tell her so. :P My Merlin, this is magnificent. And please keep having characters tell off the characters which need it so badly. And please have Malfoy wet himself again. :D :D :D
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) taxzombie 2014-06-19 04:35:21 PM

    Loved the last part where Harry shot Dumbles down in flames. That was just flat out perfect.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) taxzombie 2014-06-19 04:35:30 PM

    Loved the last part where Harry shot Dumbles down in flames. That was just flat out perfect.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) taxzombie 2014-06-19 04:36:07 PM

    Loved the last part where Harry shot Dumbles down in flames. That was just flat out perfect.
  • When Vernon Didn't Miss

    (#) taxzombie 2014-06-19 04:36:08 PM

    Loved the last part where Harry shot Dumbles down in flames. That was just flat out perfect.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 603203
  • Stories: 40298

Recent Stories