Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry Potter and the Sun Source

Diagon Danger

by Clell65619 51 Reviews

In which Tonks assists Harry with some of his exercises, Harry shops in Diagon Alley, and has a bit of excitement, The trip to Hogwarts is detailed and Harry becomes the first sixteen year old the...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres:  - Characters:  - Warnings: [V] [X] [?] - Published: 2008/11/13 - Updated: 2008/11/13 - 11655 words

Reviews

  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) WootMannen 2008-11-13 01:20:04 PM

    Good chapter. I very much like Badass Hary in every way, shape and form, and this fic pulls that off quite brilliantly. As for 'Harry Stu', those who say that has quite obviously never read 'The Destroyer'.

    It's ages since I've read the series, but I remember enough to say that Harry IS a bit underpowered compared to Remo, and definetely underpowered compared to the crazy old man.

    Hell, I think the old man actually snatched up a trio of bullets once!

    Keep up the good work!!!
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) Cateagle 2008-11-13 03:06:30 PM

    Oh, yes, you've captured the spirit of the novels quite nicely. It should be interesting to see the reactions -this- Harry generates; he's not stupidly afraid, he's got confidence backed up by ability, and he's had excellent training - all of those are things the British wizarding world aren't used to, especially when turned against the Dark. There are going to be lots of folks having "interesting" reactions; I can see Susan Bones being "very" interested in him for several reasons. I did chuckle through the review with the sorting hat and its reasoning; 'twas probably a good move' Slytherin would never survive him and he likely couldn't take the "...where angels fear to tread" approach of a lot of Gryffindors while clearly not being an "all-study" type like Ravenclaw, so...
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) DrT 2008-11-13 03:12:22 PM

    V entertaining chapter. Is Malfoy Sr still a school governor? that could prove interesting. . . .
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) Katsuhito 2008-11-13 03:30:21 PM

    Great story so far, although this chapter seemed a little.. disjointed maybe? While the scenes themselves were great, the chapter as a whole just seemed to be a bunch of scenes strung together without being really tied together. Sorry I can't really describe it better, but that's why I'm a reader, not a writer. :)

    Now that that's out of the way, I really like this story so far. überHarry is well done, and his interactions with other chars is very believable. And his inability (or rather, Tonk's inability) to get past the first few of the 37 steps is quite amusing. I do wish the updates were faster, but for 11k chapters of this quality, it's worth the wait.

    So, now the questions that have come up for me: What will Draco and Snape do to regain face? How will the 'Puffs handle a Sinanju (sp?) apprentice in their house - even if they don't know what he is? How will the other professors deal with having to earn a student's respect? How will Dumbles do the same? (I've got more questions, but that's enough for now. ;) )
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) Vatic-Toxicity 2008-11-13 03:35:20 PM

    Then there's also the fact that most Wizards in the HP series are nowhere near the peak of physical capability. In fact, if anything, they are probably far below the average even when compared to the real world.

    Even not having read The Destroyer series I'm pretty sure that Harry would be nowhere near the peak of physical prowess. He seemed more like a professional athlete amongst a crowd of skinny (maybe rich) boys. Not a physical (demi-)god amongst a crowd of skinny boys.
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) garnok 2008-11-13 04:06:36 PM

    I have been waiting and I have to say I am NOT disappointed. It had me laughing, getting happy (anyone who beats Ron and/or Malfoy is good)and generally waiting for the next thing to happen.
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) BlackPhoenix5 2008-11-13 04:37:54 PM

    That was the most fantastic one-liner towards McGonagall at the end of their discussion. Loved it. This had me laughing much of the way through it and already i cannot wait until the next installment.

    Already you have provided us hatred for Malfoy and ROn and Snape. What happened to Bellatrix was also fantastic as well.

    waiting until next installment.
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) taxzombie 2008-11-13 04:45:26 PM

    I agree with your comments about you underpowering Harry with regards to the Destroyer series. Back when the series first started coming out I followed the actions of Remo and his soap opera loving master and quite enjoyed them.

    Your rendition of Harry reminds me of those tales. I appreciate that and I look forward to seeing more of this.

    IS GOOD!
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) whatareyouevensaying 2008-11-13 05:42:42 PM

    Very good update, although you managed to hit one of my strongest pet peeves (unless black jeans are REALLY common in Britain). But hey, at least you aren't obsessed with the damn things like some authors. You just think they look better than blue ones.

    At any rate, this chapter was outstanding. I loved pretty much every bit of it, though my favorite part was seeing Hermione put in her place.

    Looking forward to more.
  • Harry Potter and the Sun Source

    (#) lycus 2008-11-13 06:05:22 PM

    Sorry if this popps up, my first review screwed up.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 657343
  • Stories: 39955

Recent Stories