Categories > Books > Harry Potter > YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

by DrT 46 Reviews

Another dimensional cross-over Harry? A Dark Grey Harry and a very innocent one combine when Voldemort tries to bend a Light Ceremony to his will. Hopefully not cliché-ridden.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione - Warnings: [!!] [V] - Published: 2010/04/20 - Updated: 2010/04/20 - 3517 words - Complete

Reviews

  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) pfeil 2010-04-20 11:04:25 AM

    Seems like a rather fair assessment of everything. I'll be interested in how the "short-term" relationship will work out; With a Harry who's more focused and less of a doormat, I suspect the problems he has with her will be much lessened.

    No complaints about any of the clichés that may or may not have been in there. Everything fitted together well enough.

    Author's response

    The H/Hr relationship will not be a major focus of the story.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) jabarber69 2010-04-20 12:40:52 PM

    ooooh I like your idea! and the relationship thing sounds so dreamy, yuck, did I just say dreamy, I'm a straight guy so where the hell did that come from....oh well great story as your stories usually are....
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Maddog 2010-04-20 01:35:24 PM

    Good solid start to your story. Keep up the good work.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) michae1ange1o 2010-04-20 01:43:48 PM

    Great story, very enjoyable. A calm apathetic no nonsense Harry, a Vernon who uses his head, no silly wealth and secret houses. I like it a lot. :)
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) loralee1 2010-04-20 03:10:02 PM

    Yay, glad to see something new from you. Great story
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) tumshie1960 2010-04-20 04:21:52 PM

    Very nicely done, I look forward to seeing how your smarter Harry deals with Ron's jealousy.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Cateagle 2010-04-20 06:24:00 PM

    A good, solid start that avoids a lot of cliches. I'm going to be right interested in seeing how -this- Harry deals with various events, especially if the older, greyer, Harry blended with him brought back enough useful information to make things more "interesting" for those who would use or attack Harry. I'm definitely looking forward to more.

    I should note that I gave a "Huzzah!" when I saw a new story by you.

    Author's response

    The problem is, I started this almost a year ago, and some things I thought new and interesting have turned up in other fics since then. Still, I think its a fun little fic
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Jimm 2010-04-20 06:27:21 PM

    Great to see that you're still writing fanfic. :-) Thanks for sharing this with us.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Bringhimup 2010-04-20 09:10:29 PM

    > The H/Hr relationship will not be a
    > major focus of the story.

    That's a shame. I think I will reread one of your older stories. One that's more interesting.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) siaru 2010-04-20 11:06:12 PM

    "That's a shame"

    Oh, grow up. I'm quite fond of H/Hr myself, particularly DrT's mature and calm take on it and HHL in tales less explicit than ReOrdered, but I'd rather see T continue to explore and grow as a fanfic writer, and thus continue to give us the benefit of his writing. Or need I remind you that he shut down, nominally for good, a year or so ago? Maybe now we see why.

    T, you've explored the spaghetti western and technowarrior in "Galleons"; will it be Ninja!Harry this time? His laidback style, as glimpsed in this one chapter, suggests that approach. Not Naruto-style blow-shit-up, but silent traceless and 'accidental' death (we saw a little of that in Chance and Twin iirc), like in Blot's Reunion and DW's HPLifeLessons.

    Or maybe I'm totally off on my guess. That's fine; just write it. Even your earliest stuff where you were finding your voice is enjoyable to read. Pray continue.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 655610
  • Stories: 39946

Recent Stories