Categories > Books > Harry Potter > YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

by DrT 46 Reviews

Another dimensional cross-over Harry? A Dark Grey Harry and a very innocent one combine when Voldemort tries to bend a Light Ceremony to his will. Hopefully not cliché-ridden.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Dumbledore,Harry,Hermione - Warnings: [!!] [V] - Published: 2010/04/20 - Updated: 2010/04/20 - 3517 words - Complete

Reviews

  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Meteoricshipyards 2010-04-21 09:29:58 AM

    Welcome back! Always glad to see another story by you.

    If I understand it, the 2 Harry's (Harries?) have merged, so it's the combined one that is talking to Hermione?

    The comment about Dumbles makes me wonder how good he's going to be in this story. Manipulative or borderline evil Dumbledore is fairly common these days; unfortunately, that's because of canon. So I'm interested in your take on him.

    Looking forward to more.

    Tom A.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Worry 2010-04-21 10:25:06 AM

    Heh, I was just re-reading TriWizard Redux and wondering if you were ever going to step back into HP fanfiction Good to see DrT back in the saddle!

    if you dont mind me asking, if you started on this a year ago, how much can we look forward to seeing posted? As I recall, you usually dont start posting until you are fairly far along or done. Look forward to reading it!
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) DrT 2010-04-21 11:43:09 AM

    I hope to update once a week.

    Meteoric: yes, the two Harry's are one. This one has a plan, and hopefully it will be fun to see it unfold. Dumbles isn't really Dark, although alt.Harry might not believe that, let alone act as if that were true. MOB meets ruthless MYB, not that Dumbles will realize that. . . .

    I've been trying to work on three different stories, but each got stuck. So I hijacked some material from one story into this one, and now will have to finish it! Not an epic, but like I said, hopefully fun
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) erik 2010-04-21 11:53:31 AM

    One of the best new stories I've read in recent times.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) dennisud 2010-04-21 03:18:18 PM

    First let me say its great your back to writing.
    And you have started a new saga based on a rather recent and well used plot tool of going back in time and changing things.

    I see the cautious way you’ve set up Harry & Hermione which can bode well or not so you gave yourself an out if need be with the direction of their relationship.

    If and I say 'IF' there are more added to Harries love life, make it a very small number. I’d add only one or maybe two more to Hermione here.
    Since this will be a “Dirty-Harry” Harry so to speak, I’d add Luna Lovegood to balance Hermione and (I hope this will be surprising) Marietta Edgecombe! Yes the girl blamed for snitching on the DA to Umbitch and the Baby DE’s. Make her Gray to be inbetween Luna's and Hermione's views.
    If only one, then keep Luna and have her be a go between of sorts with the ‘Powers that Be’.
    Still I’ve not been disappointed by any of your stories I’ve read.
    Kudos and I hope you update regularly!

    dennisud
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) OdinMage 2010-04-21 04:42:14 PM

    It's good to see you writing again, since you're one of my favourite HP authors (if you write other genre's elsewhere I'd love to know that too). I like this start and can't wait to see where you take it.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) BJH 2010-04-21 06:58:28 PM

    Good to see you back. This is a nice start to an interesting idea. I'm curious to see how a rationally thinking Harry will work out in a relationship with Hermione.

    BJH
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) brad 2010-04-21 07:02:06 PM

    Good to see you back!

    You've done several 'Harry travels back in time' or 'Harry merges to become powerful' stories. Maybe one day you might consider sending someone else back? The one person who has a chance of guiding Harry along the right path, one Hermione Granger? Having to learn how to direct Harry without being 'pretty bossy'? I don't think there are (m)any stories like that out there.

    Unlike your other stories this one picks up on the differences between universes (and not just timelines). I.e. the Dursleys not being as vile, slightly more intelligent, etc. I enjoyed noting those differences. Hopefully Harry will bear them in mind and not overreact (much). For example, the first time he meets Draco - the murderer of Hermione in the 'gray' plane - what's he going to do? How difficult will it be for him?

    Always nice to see Harry appreciating Hermione for what she is; something that was sadly lacking in most of the canon. Fanfics that fill that void are most satisfying.

    And I always like the fanon notion that it was Ron's interference that estranged the two for so long in PoA.

    > most Hermione Grangers inexplicable fell for Ron Weasleys.

    Ugh! We're staying in this H/Hr partial universe, right?!?!?!

    Author's response

    > most Hermione Grangers inexplicable fell for Ron Weasleys.

    Ugh! We're staying in this H/Hr partial universe, right?!?!?!

    +++

    Oh, yeah!

    As for Draco . . . Harry will not touch him (directly)in revenge. However, he does come up with a plan. . . .
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) TimeMage 2010-04-21 09:17:29 PM

    YAY! You wrote another fic! I was wondering if we had lost you :(

    Good start. Avoids most of the cliches.

    Cant wait to see whats next!
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Brightly 2010-04-21 09:36:57 PM

    Glad to see something new from you. This Harry seems interesting. I like that your Hermione is always mature and multifaceted and appreciate you poking fun at the fact that the fact that girls like her do tend to fall for guys like Ron and seem surprised when things don't work out. Looking forward to more.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 483885
  • Stories: 40148

Recent Stories